Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
119
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2015
Rather more that other Trollopes I have read, this takes some getting into and verged onto the booring for the first few chapters. Glad however that I persisted. A love story with Dickension characterisations and Trollope's trademark focus on moral dilemmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
A very unpredictable plot. Interesting, certainly. the characters are interesting, the plot good, and the world created absorbing. Some very serious points and moving scenes as well - such as those concerning the evil of alcohol abuse.
SPOILER ALERT: Don't read the rest of this review if you don't want spoilers!
In terms of criticisms: Although Trollope sympathises with Frank and Mary and Miss Dunstable, and criticises Frank's mother and the other characters who want him to marry for money, I found it difficult to sympathise with the right people. It seemed very foolish for Frank and Mary to marry and have nothing to live on! Nor did I really think Dr Thorne sensible in causing needless worry and confusion to all by withholding the information that Mary would inherit Sir Louis Scatcherd's property - it surely only caused his niece (and everyone else!) unnecessary pain, as the Gresham family would surely have been much more amenable to the match and `persecuted' (not that it really seemed like persecution) Mary far less if they had known. I mean, he was counting on dead men's shoes (or whatever the expression), anyway in that he knew and considered in his own mind the difference it would make!
Doctor Thorne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
The third Barchester novel sees Trollope drop some of the 'political' intrigue of the previous novels, and focuses instead on the politics of romance and the right kind of marriages. I.E. not marrying outside of your class. Trollope's characterisations are yet again fantastic. You may not like some of these characters but the compassion he shows them, means you understand them. The hero and heroine are a little wet but their resolve to live their lives as they want to gives them a lot of strength. There is also great pleasure in the incidental details, the election campaign, the struggles of the local gentry to find suitable marriages. Best of all is Trollope's voice. He apologises for a boring beginning, for contriving events to turn out the way he wants because he is the writer. Yet, the book still feels 'real'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Read this book as it was being televised on I.T.V. wanted to read the original. It's a good story with a lot of dialogue and description. I did feel it dragged a bit in places. The T.V adaption was very good; it did get through the story much quicker, but obviously left quite a lot out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
I was forced to ready Anthony Trollope at school, not always a good thing. Years later and I am rediscovering the wit and insight of this renowned author. The notes inside this new edition are helpful [if sometimes a bit annoying!] I am now working my way through the series, at long last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Anthony Trollope has the most amazing sense of humour. For example the other doctor is named Dr. Fillgrave. You have to look iut for a lot of names that are given in order to take the Mickey out of that character. the whole book is a send-up of the society at he time. Very amusingly done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
The plot is very gentle and undemanding, it's the acute observation of the characters that make this such an enjoyable read. While the story stands alone perfectly well I like the way it is linked in to the other Barchester novels by references to characters you meet in them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I was given this as a gift, and i'm so glad. I loved it, and then bought all the other books in this little series. They are all wonderful and Trollope writes of a very vivid, charming little world. If you love Jane Austen, you will love Anthony Trollope!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
But I have seen the BBC Barchester Chronicles and read the books afterwards. This was an easy read and the ending was a foregone conclusion and flagged up well in advance. If you want a book you can just go with this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
The TV series was a travesty of the book. The scriptwriter made changes to the plot for dramatic effect . It is impossible to replicate the intricate subtlety and nuances of Trollope's original. I recommend that anyone who watched the TV series should read the book to find what they missed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse