Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind over 'matter'
This is a good edition of Berkeley's most influential texts: the Principles of Human Knowledge and Three Dialogues. If you want his most widely discussed works, here they are well presented at a reasonable price.

The Principles starts by opposing John Locke's account of 'abstract ideas' and directs our attention to the nature of mental activity when we...
Published on 6 July 2011 by Stephen Cowley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book
Not the clearest book ever and although it is a good read it is not laid out in the best possible way.
Published on 18 Feb. 2013 by Christopher Waugh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind over 'matter', 6 July 2011
This review is from: Principles of Human Knowledge: AND Three Dialogues Between Hylas and Philonous (Classics) (Paperback)
This is a good edition of Berkeley's most influential texts: the Principles of Human Knowledge and Three Dialogues. If you want his most widely discussed works, here they are well presented at a reasonable price.

The Principles starts by opposing John Locke's account of 'abstract ideas' and directs our attention to the nature of mental activity when we represent situations to ourselves. It then argues that 'matter' is one such abstract idea and thus does not represent anything real as it lacks sensuous content. The reality we directly know is always our sensations of touch, sight, etc that God gives us and 'matter' is merely a convenient way of talking about them. There is an earnest, youthful mind at work here that does not shy away from taking a radical line. The Three Dialogues presents the same doctrine in more popular terms. This gave rise to humour, as in Dr Johnson's "I refute him thus" as he kicked a stone and the story of someone slamming a door in his face, saying "Be not offended Sir, if your theory be true you may walk through it!" Interestingly, both these refer to the sense of touch. The theory of sight as a divine language led on in Britain to the scepticism of Hume, contrary to Berkeley's pious but naive hopes. He then wrote the more mature Alciphron, or the Minute Philosopher, not included here.

As a critic said, the Principles is hard either to refute or to agree with. Nonetheless, it is widely used in courses on 'British empiricism' to stimulate argument. In addition, Woolhouse's new introduction discusses Berkeley in relation to earlier European and later British philosophers, including Descartes, Locke, Malebranche and John Stuart Mill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to this edition., 24 Aug. 2001
By 
Squonk (Runcorn, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Howard Robinson displays his expertise both in the field of idealism and in his concise explanitory power to cut through to the heart of Berkeley's arguments. As an undergraduate student studying Berkeley at a time just after Howard Robinson had left the dept. i was studying in, i feel cheated i never had the opportunity to hear the man himself. This edition, and other works by Robinson make up for it in some measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solution to deepest philosophical problems, 27 Aug. 2011
Goerge Berkeley's Principles of Human Knowledge is a treatise which outlines the solution to the deepest philosophical problems concerning the objectivity of reality, the existence of the human persons and the creator of all human persons. This book is philosophy as the art of seeking the truth rather than the art of academic deliberation. This is the real philosophy as opposed to its academic caricature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the clearest book ever and although it is a good read it is not laid out in the best possible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
L. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Human Knowledge: AND Three Dialogues Between Hylas and Philonous (Classics) (Paperback)
Great job, would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Human Knowledge: AND Three Dialogues Between Hylas and Philonous (Classics) (Paperback)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Human Knowledge: AND Three Dialogues Between Hylas and Philonous (Classics) (Paperback)
Just as described - perfect condition. Will be using it for my next set of lectures and it also gives an introduction with a bit of background information on Berkeley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Principles of Human Knowledge: AND Three Dialogues Between Hylas and Philonous (Classics)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews