Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the classics
This is one of the classic works of western philosophy. I would do this treatise no justice by trying to summarise Hume's work, much better to read it for yourself. But I may add that it is well written, fairly understandable and at points almost witty. For the readers making their first inroads into philosophy, this may not be a bad place to start.
Published 21 months ago by Jan Patrik SahlstrÝm

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced
As a student on a budget, I thought it was pretty cruel of my university to insist on this edition. The editor's introduction is informative but not exactly inspiring, and the other 'extras' (annotations, glossary, references, index) I would have thought of as par for the course with a text like this.
The annotation system is a nightmare to navigate as it doesn't...
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by cat91


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the classics, 12 Dec 2012
By 
Jan Patrik SahlstrÝm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Treatise of Human Nature: Being an Attempt to Introduce the Experimental Method of Reasoning into Moral Subjects (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is one of the classic works of western philosophy. I would do this treatise no justice by trying to summarise Hume's work, much better to read it for yourself. But I may add that it is well written, fairly understandable and at points almost witty. For the readers making their first inroads into philosophy, this may not be a bad place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, 11 Mar 2011
As a student on a budget, I thought it was pretty cruel of my university to insist on this edition. The editor's introduction is informative but not exactly inspiring, and the other 'extras' (annotations, glossary, references, index) I would have thought of as par for the course with a text like this.
The annotation system is a nightmare to navigate as it doesn't work with numbers or page references, only superscript daggers - you have to skip to the back of the book, find the relevant section and then skim until you find the right word reference. It's particularly annoying when the only enlightenment you get is 'Hume discussed this in the last section' or something along those lines.
Finally, because this is a relatively recent edition (or at least more so when I bought it in September 2010) it was difficult to come by any second hand copies. My verdict? Don't fork out for this if you can get a different edition cheaper; the supposed perks in this really aren't worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The fuse of a great revolution in Philosophy., 25 Sep 2000
By A Customer
The german philosopher Kant used to say that was David Hume who had waked him up from the sleep of the dogmatic metaphysics. Nowhere but in this book we can feel such a force, increased by the vigour of the youth. In the peak of a english tradition in empirism, with origins in William of Ockham, Hume attacks in his Treatise each one of the fundamentals thesis of the traditional metaphysiscs: he denies the immortality of the soul, the certainty of a external world, the reality of the space, the existence of substances and (that's his most famous insight) the necessity of the law of causality. All these remarks will prepare the soil to the great revolution of Kant as well as the epistemology of Sir Karl Popper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described - avoid!, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product page for this book mentions an excellent index, notes, abstract, and glossary. Mention is made of Hume scholar Ernest Campbell Mossner's contribution. The product received is just the text of the Treatise. There is no index, notes, abstract, glossary, commentary or indeed even page numbers (except where someone has scribbled them in pencil on the first couple of pages; helpfully, they've also used the same pencil to underline what they consider key phrases from the first section. This is essentially freely available text, bound, and with none of the claimed information included. To add insult to injury, it's also obviously a second hand copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Being a fuss-pot, 24 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: A Treatise of Human Nature: Being an Attempt to Introduce the Experimental Method of Reasoning into Moral Subjects (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Having only ordered this work, I cannot contribute an opinion of quality or content. Sad as I am, this will comprise part of my holiday reading. My contention is that the work is described as a major contribution to the tome of English philosophy. Most will be aware of it as the major work of the nascent Scottish Enlightenment.

Sorry to be so pernickety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews