Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Limited or absolute government?
Being a free Kindle edition there is no introduction and no notes - but you do get the full text. The only difference from the original is that there are fewer capitals and italics. Hobbes used them for emphasis very much more than a modern writer would, and their pruning in this edition makes the text easier to read.

Modern political philosophy begins with...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Derek Jones

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Not the Leviathan you may expect
I've just received this. The synopsis says:

'Part of the "Longman Library of Primary Sources in Philosophy," this edition of Hobbes's Leviathan is framed by a pedagogical structure designed to make this important work of philosophy more accessible and meaningful for undergraduates.'

I'd assumed that meant there'd be a lot of explanatory notes and...
Published on 21 May 2008 by A Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hobbes: Leviathan, 3 Nov 2010
10 out of 10. fast delivery and a prompt service. book in great condition as described before buying it. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enlightening Read, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Rowland Nelken (Nottingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leviathan (English Library) (Paperback)
Like the Koran, 'The Wealth of Nations' and 'Das Kapital,' Leviathan is a book that I had heard about for many years before actually reading it. As with the other three my expectations were confounded. I had known only of the 'nasty, brutish and short' quote.

All grand, world shaping notions are influenced by the personal life and political times of their authors. Hobbes was writing during one of England's most violent periods. A bloody Civil War had been fought, was still simmering and the King had just been beheaded. Peace and order seemed difficult to attain when authority was everywhere disputed. There were religious visionaries abroad who were declaiming a range of divergent ideas about God's purpose and how divine authority should be exercised.

Hobbes' solution seems simple. Whether divine authority is exercised through a King or an Assembly was of little account. Whichever was in control needed armed force to secure its authority. This authority is traced through copious Biblical references to the Law of Moses being transmitted first to the Priests, and later, the Kings of Israel and Judah.

The unquestioned authority of the Bible sits curiously in this book which proclaims reason as the best driver of sound decisions. It is never clear whether Hobbes believes in the literal dispensation of Divine authority, first via Moses, and later through St. Peter and St. Paul. He seems absolutely certain though that the Pope was not the bearer of this authority in the 17th century.

Essential Christian doctrine for the harmony of the King's (or assembly's) subjects, Hobbes insisted, should be simple; an acknowledgement that Jesus Christ was our Saviour. Doctrinal niceties were not to be the concern of government. Latterday visionaries and ecstatics, who abounded in the mid 17th century, were a menace and should be ignored.

It is so long since this country was subjected to the chaos which Hobbes experienced when men chose to dispute their government. We have since evolved a system, however imperfect, which allows a diversity of views to be expressed and for compromise to be reached. Only rarely does this lead to violence. Any political leader who proclaimed himself the successor to Moses and St. Paul would today be the object of derision. As a voice from a distant age Hobbes gives us much to be thankful for about our own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 31 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book and I recommend it to anyone studying, psychology or any of the social sciences!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best philosophical works I` ve read, 12 Nov 1998
By A Customer
I assert that this work of Thomas Hobbes is amazing. His hypotheses on the Human desires that are curbed through society is notoriously known. I truely appreciate his philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard To Focus on for long periods, 18 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leviathan (English Library) (Paperback)
I have been slowly reading this book and I very much admore Hobbes' attempt to define as much as possible everything in the whole world. Nonetheless, it will be a hard book to get through, and I very much hope to do so but will only benefot from it if I absorb his thoughts. I read Plato's republic last year and loved it, but still feel like I dont remember much so must read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 104 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 12 Sep 2003
By 
Boring, not what I was looking for at all. Time has gone by and caused the book a terrible harm in its style. It has made some of its parts naive
Not worthy unless you have a special interest in Hobbes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leviathan (English Library)
Leviathan (English Library) by C.B. Mac Pherson (Paperback - 1 July 2002)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews