Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Limited or absolute government?
Being a free Kindle edition there is no introduction and no notes - but you do get the full text. The only difference from the original is that there are fewer capitals and italics. Hobbes used them for emphasis very much more than a modern writer would, and their pruning in this edition makes the text easier to read.

Modern political philosophy begins with...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Derek Jones

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Not the Leviathan you may expect
I've just received this. The synopsis says:

'Part of the "Longman Library of Primary Sources in Philosophy," this edition of Hobbes's Leviathan is framed by a pedagogical structure designed to make this important work of philosophy more accessible and meaningful for undergraduates.'

I'd assumed that meant there'd be a lot of explanatory notes and...
Published on 21 May 2008 by A Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 29 Aug 2013
By 
M. Mostert (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even thought Leviathan was written in the 16 hundreds, its still very relevant to modern society and human nature. Recommend reading in conjunction with the Elements of Law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second Thoughts, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Keith Roe (KALAMAZOO, MI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is clearly the definitive edition of Hobbs. My other edition was an Everyman purchased in 1959. We have learned a lot about Thomas Hobbs since then. Malcolm's confirmation that the Latin version was written after the English and was shorter than the latter indicates that the author had had second thoughts about his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The political philosophy of Thomas Hobbes, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting that a book written in 1651 still can be inspiring in the present situation of economic crisis especially in Europe where we have to choose between chaos or longsighted global stability through the joint endeavours of many countries. Hobbes tries to give solutions on the background of a civil war in England. The book is written in a very precise and clear language and has been a source of inspiration to many scholars through the following centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leviathan (Kindle Edition)
A classic. Well set out and executed for a modern audience. Awesome to read anywhere- kindle, ipod or on pc. I can take it anywhere and it really helped with my studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 Dec 2011
It would be pointless to attempt any critique of Leviathan, given its status and the attention it has received in the last three and a half centuries, so I will merely concentrate on this Norton Edition.

For me, any Norton edition of a classic work is the one to have. They are all beautifully produced, devoid of Typos and with excerpts; from commentaries and background material. This edition, of Leviathan excludes a few of the more theological chapters so if completeness is important to you this would not be the edition to buy, however, I do not see that as a weakness; and its very modest price is a further incentment to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 21 Sep 2004
By 
Bob (Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Don't be fooled by frivellous attacks on this book as boring and outdated. You aren't meant to read all of it for goodness sake.
The chapters on human drives, the laws of nature and the social contract, for example, are as relevant as ever, not to mention Hobbes polemic on Religion.
I found that this book contained far more excellent philosophy than I had expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Work, 26 May 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thomas Hobbes' Leviathan is recognised as a literary work of the first magnitude in this country. It is after all the greatest work of political philosophy that an Englishman has produced, and has gone on to inspire and become a cornerstone of Western politics today, with regards to 'social contract theory'. Anyone getting this copy should be warned though that this has quite small print. This edition is based on the original first text and so is based on the first edition.

This book has been applauded as well as denigrated through the ages, but in either case it has always been read. Always open to new interpretation this is a book that will stay around for centuries to come. To fully explain all the intricacies of this book would take a book in itself, so I won't even try. Hobbes was a phlosopher but nowadays it is only really for his politcal philosophy that he is now remembered, mainly due to this book. To describe this book in a nutshell, Hobbes argues that we are all selfish and that to live in peaceful cooperation we need to have a sovereign body that we give up some of our powers to to help achieve this aim. After all man has to live with others to gain the maximum advantages.

With biblical references that may sit uncomfortably with some (I am an atheist), Hobbes sets out his arguments. At times a bit long winded, and in certain cases a little difficult to grasp this book is essentially something to be read by those who wnat to know more about political ideas, as well as those who are entering a politcal career. Hobbes has a lot to say, and like 'The Prince', his ideas can be adapted for more modern periods. With a good introduction and notes at the rear there is enough here to whet anyones appetite on this important book in our canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic work, but by no means meant for many to read, 31 July 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A few lucid and interesting paragraphs sporadically light up what is otherwise a very dry and antique volume which reads like a modern legal text, but with a lot more 'doths', 'withals', 'giveths', etc in it. Unless you are of some considerable years of age, have great patience, or are specifically interested in this volume, you ought to avoid it - on the other hand, I can hardly think of any other book which is more likely to help cure insomnia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leviathan (English Library) (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important texts., 29 May 2006
By 
I. P. Gearing (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The context of this book, the time of its authorship, should not constrain the modern reader. So you might have to work at it a little. Oh, dear. How sad. Never mind. These are very very important ideas if you want to understand much of the reasoning behind what the west, the Transatlantic Anglo-Saxon alliance in particular, is doing, especially in the Middle East, NOW. You don't have to agree with Hobbes to see what he is getting at and yes the debate has shifted a lot (a wider, if more effete, literacy being a huge difference)but in order to be able to frame the right questions about soverignty in a democracy you have to have the basics. Read in tandem with Rousseau, the Wordsworth edition is far more palitable than this to the modern reader, you get some very interesting perspectives and a great start to framing those important questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leviathan (English Library)
Leviathan (English Library) by C.B. Mac Pherson (Paperback - 1 July 2002)
7.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews