Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Dickens' best
Having read quite a lot of Dickens novels, I came quite late to Oliver Twist. I had read a children's version of it and since I knew the story, I thought I might not find it very interesting. How wrong I was!. The first chapters, although they are a very good critic of the poor workhouse conditions, were a bit dragging. But once Oliver goes to London and meets Fagin's...
Published on 24 Jun 2004 by Ganime B. Akin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read
The novel provides a greater story than the stage shows and films I have previously seen. It's a great read for anynody interested in the Victorian era.
Published 8 months ago by Tobchipbob


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too hard for a child to read but perfect to enjoy for older children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Kindle Edition)
Just a great read and a page turner. One of the best books that I have ever read. Now I know why it's is called a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Kindle Edition)
First time I downloaded a book for ipad, very easy and really enjoyed new format reading. Would definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Twist, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Kindle Edition)
I have a perverse liking fro Dickens and always come back to one or other of his books from time to time. They are enjoyable although I'm not sure how well the language translates these days - a bit like Jane Austin, they are probably easier to follow in film - is that a bit like translating stories into cartoon form - which we do seem to see a bit of these days? Ooh! Meeow!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... ...., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of Dickens's best, but it is one of his first. Edition wise it was a pleasure to read, very useful notes, as always with Oxford University Press books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dickens – Oliver Twist | Review, 5 April 2014
By 
Dickens is one of the greats, and plenty of people won’t say a word against him – I’ve read a few of his novels and I’d beg to disagree. His work often falls wide of the mark and it doesn’t always age well, but Oliver Twist is a great example of Dickens at his finest, a writer who managed to capture the essence of the Victorian age in which he lived in like no other.

I won’t bother going in to detail about the plot, because it’s one of the most famous stories ever told and you should already be familiar with what happens, but I’ll avoid spoilers just in case – suffice to say that most of the adaptations that I’ve seen fail to do Dickens justice, because it’s too difficult to capture all of the intricacies of his writing in a stage play, a film or a TV series.

In fact, if you’ve enjoyed the musical or some similar adaptation then I strongly encourage you to read the novel if you haven’t already, just to see where it started – sure, Dickens’ writing is heavy going and it’s easier to read it in small chunks than in a couple of long sittings, but it’s like that with all of the greats. It took me nearly two years to finish The Lord of the Rings trilogy because Tolkien has the same problem, if you can call it that – both authors are lovers of language, and so their work can be daunting to the casual reader.

Reading Oliver Twist is like experiencing high definition video when you’re used to watching things on an iPhone – characters like Bill Sykes take on new dimensions and become even more realistic, while Jack Dawkins, better-known as the Artful Dodger, seems almost tragic. He’s certainly a much darker character in the novel than the happy-go-lucky pickpocket that we’re used to from popular culture.

Oliver Twist was Dickens’ second novel, but it reads like one of his more accomplished works – some of his other novels are tedious, time-consuming and unenjoyable to read, but Oliver Twist is a genuine pleasure and a lot of fun for a serious reader. If you’re a more casual reader, though, then you’re probably better off looking at a truncated version – you’ll be missing out, but you’ll be able to power through it a lot faster. It’s better to read a shortened version than to never get to the end of it.

The ending will leave you feeling satisfied too – there’s a stunning resolution that brings all of the characters slowly back to centre stage for the written word’s equivalent of a final bow. I don’t want to ruin things for you by going in to too much detail, but I can promise you that it’s worth sticking to your guns and reading to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing else to say but read it, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Kindle Edition)
Dickens can be a hard read for some. Reading Oliver Twist for the first time gives the reader a head start due to the various TV and Film adaptations. This enables you to fully engage with the story and I feel it is an excellent way to 'get in to Dickens'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Twist, 2 Mar 2014
By 
B. Cooper "barbara13153" (Seaton, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My last copy fell to pieces and I needed this for a literature class. It was good to have a nice 'shiny' copy of this excellently written story - so much better than any adaptation on the screen, as it includes Dickens' narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dickens, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist (Kindle Edition)
Was a very good book some thing i could read again and im glad i put it on my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The complete tale, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Chris "Miggy" (treeton, rotherham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having only known this story as told in Lionel Bart 's musical, I was very pleasantly surprised by the many further layers in this story of Oliver. And delighted by Dickens' wonderful skill and talent as a wordsmith. Top storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oliver Twist (English Library)
Oliver Twist (English Library) by Charles Dickens (Paperback - 30 July 1970)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews