Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous., 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful hardback and stunning collection. Bought as a wedding gift. Tiny bit too expensive but otherwise perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Lovers, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect birthday present for young lovers: an anthology which is beautifully presented, a treasure to keep for life, full of old and novel explorations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this anthology of love poems, 27 July 2014
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Penguin's Poems for Love (Paperback)
Love. A subject which has inspired thousands of artists for centuries. It is something which affects us all - with some faring better than others - and this anthology is a celebration of love in all its forms. From the first stirrings of love to love after death, this anthology is comprehensive in its scope. Dipping into this book, you will discover poems from writers that you already know - Shakespeare, Duffy and Auden, as well as others that you may not have come across before.
I love this anthology - regardless of what mood you are in, you are bound to find something to suit it within these pages. There are poems to make you laugh, cry and rejoice at the immense depth of love and all that brings to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when life gets tough !!, 30 Nov 2009
By 
Eimear O. Riordan (dublin ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
loved it from start to finish , and the beauty of a poetry book is that you dont have to do it like that. You can open the book at any page and come across real gems of wisdom.

my personal favourites are when the fella walks out on her and the biggest loss is that he s taken the cork screw ! finding yourself when you look in the mirror to be in fact your best friend ! really there are so many fab poems to appeal to all types . i simply adore it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin's Poems for Love (Paperback)
Bought this for my friends who got engaged recently and they love it.... it really is a wonderful book of wonderful poems all about that subject which is dear to our hearts... LOVE :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book about love, 15 April 2013
By 
Ms. A. M. Simmonds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin's Poems for Love (Paperback)
If you enjoy love poems about various types of people in your life, people from afar or ones you have known for a while then you'll like this book. I did purchase it thinking it would be something a little different but it is still a nice read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Valentine's Day present!, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguin's Poems for Love (Paperback)
A wide range of poems - some about the good aspects of love, some about the downside - but a good present for my boyfriend who's into poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars splendid gift for a wedding, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for a wedding gift and it perfectly suited the purpose. I was a little annoyed that it was slightly dented, though. Otherwise it is a gorgeous-to-look-at collection of poems, which comprises also a couple of less known poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars learning to love, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Penguin's Poems for Love (Paperback)
Ok I know I am a fella and we don't do love well.......... so where do you think I get my chat up line ideas from?? Hell would freeze over before I could come up with something suitable. This anthology of Love poetry covers all aspects of Love and on the spine reminds us just in case with Love, lust, life, loss and love.

There are so many poems that I can identify with that it would be embarassing, but what the heck, I am sure there are many men that could recognise the sentiments of Philip Larkin's "Talking in Bed" or even Ted Hughes' "Lovesong" There are so many different poems that can describe love and there is bound to be a few poems for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 2 July 2011
This book is lovely, I bought it as a present for someone and it makes a great gift. It is presented very nicely, a good size and attractive. A great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Penguin's Poems for Love
Penguin's Poems for Love by Laura (ed) Barber (Paperback - 30 Sep 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews