Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Beautiful Book
I had to read Paradise Lost for my University degree and I began reading a Penguin copy. I was bored stiff; although the text itself was as wonderful as one would expect of the epic to rule all epics, the font was small and it made difficult reading for my rather short-sighted eyes.

So I asked for the illustrated edition for Christmas, and this version is what...
Published on 16 Feb 2008 by Ms. R. Grant

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Lost" for Kindle readers - mobi edition
This is not an exact or complete replica of the current Penguin Classics edition [ISBN 0-140-42439-3] Paradise Lost (Penguin Classics). Apart from the different cover and absent back cover, this Kindle mobi edition leaves out the following sections from the Penguin Classics edition: Introduction; Table of Dates; Further Reading; Note on the Text; Marvell 'On Paradise...
Published on 6 Sep 2010 by J. R. Tempest


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Beautiful Book, 16 Feb 2008
By 
Ms. R. Grant (Exeter U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had to read Paradise Lost for my University degree and I began reading a Penguin copy. I was bored stiff; although the text itself was as wonderful as one would expect of the epic to rule all epics, the font was small and it made difficult reading for my rather short-sighted eyes.

So I asked for the illustrated edition for Christmas, and this version is what I got and I am eternally grateful to my parent's for purchasing it for me, it's a thing of beauty.

The merits of Paradise Lost itself are well known - it's magnificently written, powerful and breathtaking throughout - so I will not repeat what has been said many times before and instead I will focus on the particulars of this particular edition.

The text itself is printed clearly and it is very easy to read, also, unlike the other edition I owned, there are speech marks indicating when characters are talking, a feature missing from my other copy. However, as another reviewer has mentioned, there are no notes and the lines are not numbered, except for a reference at the top of each page.

However, the best feature of this particular edition of Paradise Lost is the illustrations; they really bring every word to life. Milton describes events that are set on an incredible scale; he describes heaven, earth hell and what lies in between them. The illustrations by Gustave Doré - all fifty of them are here - visualize the imagery to perfection. The print quality of the illustrations is excellent, and the large size of the book ensures that they are exhibited as they deserve to be.

Paradise Lost deserves its status as one of the greatest pieces of literature ever written, and Gustave Doré deserves to be known as one of the most talented illustrators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, beautifully presented., 25 Aug 2011
By 
R. A. Monk "monklane" (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Lost (Hardcover)
I have to confess that I'd twice started reading "Paradise Lost" and not got very far with it because of the density of the language (think Shakespeare, you'll not be far off). But the themes were so much of interest to me that I wanted to give it another go and thought that an edition with Dore's always amazing illustrations might do the trick.

And, lo, it came to pass. This time around I really got into it and the language didn't seem to be any problem at all. It's hard to think of much in English literature that can compete with the incredible war in Heaven and fall into Hell. The only thing I could compare it to would be "The Ramayana".

It's a fascinating piece of writing, it's chief interest to me being the way Satan's fall from grace is paralleled with the fall of Adam and Eve. Milton gives the good guys, God, his son, hosts of angels, all the magnificence and exaltation that one would expect, but Satan is a remarkable character and there's no doubt that he gets all the good lines. I'm sure that Milton regarded himself as a good Christian, but it's easy to see that the time of unquestioning loyalty to God was coming to an end.

So, it turns out to be the masterpiece that it's always held to be. And I echo my fellow reviewer in saying that this is a lovely edition, very well produced. Dore's engravings, fifty of them, are a thing of beauty.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Lost" for Kindle readers - mobi edition, 6 Sep 2010
By 
J. R. Tempest (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not an exact or complete replica of the current Penguin Classics edition [ISBN 0-140-42439-3] Paradise Lost (Penguin Classics). Apart from the different cover and absent back cover, this Kindle mobi edition leaves out the following sections from the Penguin Classics edition: Introduction; Table of Dates; Further Reading; Note on the Text; Marvell 'On Paradise Lost'; and the detailed Notes section provided at the end of the Penguin Classics edition. The text of this edition also leaves out Milton's 'Argument's which precede each Book of Paradise Lost. Line numbers are omitted in the presentation of the text (compared with Penguin's which provides line numbers at intervals of 5 lines) - though one common fault of Kindle editions is that line numbers are usually jammed into the body of the text disruptively instead of being placed on hanging indents to the left of the column of verse. In the Penguin Classics printed edition the text has been partially modernized - spelling has been modernized, most capitals reduced [a word in all capitals is reduced to a capital for the first letter only, words whose first letters are capitalized are all in lower case], and most italics removed. This Kindle edition appears to retain the spelling and typographical stylistics of 17th century printed editions, though without any italicisation. My review evaluation of three stars represents the loss of the additional material present in the printed Penguin Classics edition, rather than value for money, which at 49p seems reasonable enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Edition, 19 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. J. Featherstone "jonthegreat72" (Tonbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paradise Lost (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
A work almost without parallel in terms of length and epic nature, the blind Milton beautifully captures what he believes in relation to the creation story. Using a blend of Greek myth from his extensive knowledge of classical literature, polemic verse which is at times intoxicating (particularly in the presentation of the quasi-hero Satan), and his own religious convictions, Milton presents at once a complex and enthralling tale. It also seems to reveal his inner difficulties with the subject matter, as the many fascinating contradictions regarding pre destination and Adam and Eve¡¦s position as free beings suggest. William Blake pointed out that the ease which Milton found talking about Satan instead of God suggested that he was like many other poets, ¡¥of the devils party without knowing it.¡¦ To read it is a pleasure devotedly to be wished (the best version is probably the Penguin Classics), but expect to be challenged and provoked in equal measure. This edition is without a doubt the best you can buy, with an outstanding introduction, ¡¥Table of Dates,¡¦ ¡¥Further Reading¡¦ section, and a ¡¥Note on the text.¡¦ The Notes at the back of the book are nearly always insightful and useful, and try as much as possible to be accurate about the possibly source for each of Milton¡¦s numerous literary references, most of them to the Classical authors and to Greek mythology. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A helpful edition of an important landmark in literature, 12 Sep 2002
By A Customer
Paradise Lost is undoubtedly one of the most influential literary masterpiece ever written. Love it or hate it, you cannot deny its importance. For most students of English literature, it is a must-read. The grandeur of Milton's style (which one may find baffling) and the seriousness of his moral message (which can often read like a sermon) have immortalised this epic poem about the fall of mankind.
However, for those who would read it, I would recommend the Norton Critical edition as *THE* edition to buy. Writing in the 17th century Augustan age, Milton is almost over fond of cramming his writing with classical and biblical references and allusions, which, if overlooked, may be substantially detrimental to one's appreciation of the text. This edition has comprehensive footnotes at the bottom of the page (excellent for those of you, who, like me, *HATE* having to turn to the back of the book to look up notes and references) as well as a good collection of supplementary essays by renowned critics.
All in all, a must-read for all those interested in serious literary pursuits (although you may come away with a headache). The difficulty of this work is partly overcome by this wonderfully propitious edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abasht the Reader stood..., 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: Paradise Lost (Hardcover)
This edition of John Milton's 1667 epic poem Paradise Lost, reprinted by Arcturus in 2010, features the fantastic, arguably unrivalled artwork by Gustave Doré. Without the plethora of tiresome footnotes found in so many other editions, it's definitely more enjoyable to read as a poem in its own right rather than as a piece of classic literature so insufferably heavy that one needs to have innumerable annotations at hand to even attempt reading it. Save for the brief introduction by an anonymous author, the book features nothing but the illustrated story.

The sturdy, bound edition features a dustjacket with beautiful, reflective gold lettering on the front cover. The yellowish, cheap-looking pages aren't quite in keeping with the otherwise commendable quality of the book. Doré's 50 engravings are printed as big, approximately 7.5" x 9" pictures, which are of excellent quality and a real pleasure to look at. The font is quite big and easy on the eyes.

The book boasts being "Complete and Unabridged", but what it fails to mention is that the spelling has been thoroughly modernised. This, I felt, should have been advertised more pronouncedly, because in word art, the spelling of individual words does matter. This isn't recited poetry: we are supposed to look at the words, not listen to them, in which case it of course wouldn't make a difference. Even if the spelling was modernised only to make it easier for the modern reader to understand, it's effectively not the same text as the original.

Apart from the modernised spelling and the disappointing quality of the paper - which is still sufficiently thick and strong, just not as pleasant on the eyes and fingertips as it could be - it's still a book worth having because of the stunning quality of the artwork. I rate it as "Good", but only barely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Milton was of the devil's party but didn't know it", 9 Aug 2009
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Lost (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
As Blake so rightly says, Milton's Satan is the true hero of PL - however unwittingly and however horrified Milton might have been to think it. Rebellious, over-reaching, full of pride and arrogance, he yet leaps off the page at us with his intelligence and his rhetoric and his plots.

In a way it's not that surprising: taking classical epic as his model, Milton creates an anti-hero in the mould of Achilles, also driven by pride and the urge to impose himself on his world. One of the many pleasures of Milton's great narrative poem is precisely the identifications of classical epic conventions and the innovative uses to which he puts them.

It seems it's not fashionable to read poetry these days, especially not narrative poetry (as opposed to `personal' lyric) but it's a huge shame to miss out on writing as thrilling as Milton's. With his great rolling sentences and complex diction it might take a little while to get into his rhythm but the effort is well worth it. From the opening scene where Satan and his minions are thrown out of heaven, to the quiet ending as Adam and Eve walk hand in hand away from Eden, Paradise Lost truly is a reading experience to savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jan 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful book. This version is very good value, has nice big print, and has some interesting pictures. It is much less work to read with the larger print.
The drawbacks are that it is not very portable and that there are no footnotes, unlike the Oxford University Press edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The devil's in the detail......, 23 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Lost (Hardcover)
This is fine gift edition of Milton's biblical soap opera. Pullman's introductions to each of the books of the poem are infectiously enthusiastic and he largely succeeds in persuading us to put aside our struggles with the technical difficulties of Milton's language - suggesting instead that we embrace its phonological drama. The sense does largely follow the sound.

That said, the marked lack of scholarly notes makes this a bad choice for a newbie. Yes, it's nice to read the poem without constantly flicking back and forth looking for glosses on Milton's archaicisms and allusions, but realistically, any student is going to have to fork out on notes to plumb the text's true depths.

The book itself is beautifully presented and chock-full of glorious illustrations (I'd have liked to have seen Gustav Dore's though...) - so it will make a great gift for any lit-head. Older children coming here through 'His Dark Materials' may get the literature bug through this initial encounter, though an illustrated edition of Blake's 'Songs of Innocence and Experience' might be a safer bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because everyone loves a good anti-hero., 27 Jun 2010
I'm sure the reviewers of other editions of this book have already said (more elegantly than I) how influential this work is. An epic poem that tells of the plight of the fallen angel Lucifer, the creation of Adam and Eve and the Fall of Man, Paradise Lost is drama on a grand scale; biblical, in all senses of the word. Lucifer is presented here as a true anti-hero, a noble rebel, a seductive character whom you find yourself cheering on as he fights to overthrow God himself. It is ambitious. It is a little blasphemous. And above all, it is beautifully written.

As a literature student, I owe a lot to the Norton Critical Edition folk. Their exhaustive compilation of essays, footnotes and references makes understanding the text easy and enjoyable. For instance, this copy of Paradise Lost contains not only a wealth of footnotes but a Glossary explaining every location mentioned by Milton, relevant sections from the Bible, a rich "Criticism" section that contains essays by the likes of Voltaire, Blake, Samuel Johnson, and T.S. Eliot as well as a short biography of Milton himself. It's all any student, scholar or book-lover needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradise Lost (Penguin Classics)
Paradise Lost (Penguin Classics) by John Milton (Paperback - 27 Feb 2003)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews