Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly brilliant introduction to poetry for kids
my mate bought this for my children two years ago, when they were four and two. it's become a mainstay of bed-time reading in our house. beautifully illustrated, laid out, and with an accessible choice of 'rhythms', it's a regular part of the night-time routine. i used to read the poems to my kids: now they read them to me. when my daughter wants to cheer me up, she reads...
Published on 25 Sep 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good poetry introduction
This is a good book to get you started on poetry - good examples from various authors - you may well want to extend children's interests with specific authors - but it is a good all round introduction to different styles of poetry.
Published on 9 July 2009 by S. Gardner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best collection of children's poetry I have ever read, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
My five boys and myself have laughed and giggled at this collection of fantastic and funny poetry. I highly recommend it to anyone with children with a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
Great book! My class loved it and my own children read from it too. Complement any home or school collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good classroom resource, 5 April 2014
By 
D. E. Dawson "Deb D" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
As a Ket Stage 2 teacher, I have found this book a valuable addition to my planning materials, with a variety of poetry to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for an 8 year old girl, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
This book is a joy - something for everyone, and encourages children to see poetry as fun, and accessible. What's not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
A huge hit with my eight year old granddaughter who can hardly tear herself away from this lovingly compiled and humorous book stuffed with appealing verse and delightfully apt illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Lynn (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
i recently bought this for my daughter who has just turned 3. The poems are very good in it and it has many pages including written interviews with each of the poets. It would definitely be a better read for her once she gets older than it is suited for toddlers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
I expected more of the poems to have a funny/witty content.
It failed to excite my 9 year old grandson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
Brilliant Book
We're currently processing your review.
We're currently processing your review.
We're currently processing your review.
We're currently processing your review.
We're currently processing your review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pick n Mix, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
This is a delightful mixed bag of poems for every child and every occasion. It haas the Milliagan and Zephaniah stuff that youd expect and some lesser known treats. Good fun and a great dipper-into book. From the discerning 10 year olds we hang out with at the weekends, it gets thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry of my Childhood, 21 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry (Paperback)
My Aunt (head of English at a grammar school) bought this for me when I was about 6, and it immediately became one of my number one books. I adored it, and still do. It's definitely accessible for bright younger children. Some of the sections are tricky, but the pictures sometimes make things easier. I personally never had the poems read to me, but really enjoyed learning to read them to myself - I have brilliant memories of reading the Charles Causley section (which is, as they all are, beautifully illustrated) to myself in a den made of blankets in the garden. If you want your child to get into literature early I recommend this. I'm now doing and English Lit degree with an honours in Creative Writing, and can honestly say that this book lit a spark in me back then - I look back on it with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry
The Puffin Book of Utterly Brilliant Poetry by Brian Patten (Paperback - 26 Aug 1999)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews