Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of wistful memory
My wife died on the 5th July 2011. At the crematorium, the celebrant's first reading was the passage where the Skin Horse explains to the Rabbit how toys become "real".

What would have been a painful occasion was lifted into happiness, as he went on to prove how Daphne had been "real", and through her love of family and children, especially handicapped...
Published on 4 Sept. 2011 by John Knees

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What?! Where's the ending gone?!
I loved this story as a child. The toy rabbit who comforts a child during illness and is then thrown away afterwards, with all the sick room things, to be made into a real rabbit by the fairy. Sweet, heartfelt.

So I was horrified when I got to the end of this version. Admittedly, it's abridged. I wanted a shorter picture book edition for my preschooler. And it...
Published 7 months ago by K. J. Noyes


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of wistful memory, 4 Sept. 2011
My wife died on the 5th July 2011. At the crematorium, the celebrant's first reading was the passage where the Skin Horse explains to the Rabbit how toys become "real".

What would have been a painful occasion was lifted into happiness, as he went on to prove how Daphne had been "real", and through her love of family and children, especially handicapped children, she had made others around her "real". Both my daughter and I have bought the book - without prior discussion.

As one who has been made Real (at age 78, all my hair has been loved off, I have become shabby and my joints loose, but my eyes haven't dropped out - yet) I commend this book.

Read it when you are feeling low, and find a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to hand down, 3 Jan. 2005
By 
L. J. Giddings "giddings31" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The velveteen rabbit is a book my daughter aged 5 and myself love equally; the story of a toy rabbit becoming real through the love of a little boy, transcending his tatty fur and worn out appearance to become a 'real' rabbit; it appeals to children who may imagine this scenario with their own beloved toys and it is a favourite for me because of its well written classic style, shameless use of good english and 'grown up' language and the corresponding illustrations. Buy this, inscribe the front inside cover and watch it become a family treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most beautiful book., 12 Aug. 2004
By 
Margaret7 (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Velveteen Rabbit (Paperback)
I am amazed that this classic book, which is such a lovely story for small (and big) people, has never been reviewed for Amazon. It has such a depth of understanding of human nature and the story is told with such love and sensitivity... And the part where the Velveteen Rabbit and the Skin Horse have their conversation about what it is to be Real is, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful pieces of writing in the English language. Buy it for your children and grandchildren - and buy it for yourself as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'real' children's story, 15 Sept. 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Velveteen Rabbit (Paperback)
The rabbit, feeling a bit out of place and a bit unworthy, nonetheless yearned to be loved, not for what he could be or should have been, but rather for what he truly was. What child (or adult, for that matter) can't find meaning here? Children yearn for love and acceptance, and unfortunately we live in a world in which that acceptance and approval usually consists of things being bigger, stronger, better, prettier, faster, newer.
The rabbit is not the 'best' toy in the boy's collection; he's not the most expensive, the best constructed, or the most interesting. But as the wise old Skin Horse knows, it isn't in the flashy paint and moving parts that true love grows. True love makes one real, and it takes a special being and a deliberate process to become real. 'It doesn't happen to people who break easily, or have sharp edges or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby.'
Being real can hurt, but the rabbit in the process of becoming real barely notices that his velveteen fur is rubbing off, his tail is coming undone, his pink nose is worn and his whiskers are gone. He knows he is loved, especially during the boy's serious illness (the story was written shortly after the great flu pandemic that claimed countless lives in the early part of the twentieth century, and other childhood illnesses were still commonplace killers even in the most technologically advanced countries, perhaps another aspect of how technology can fail to address the 'real').
The ending is poignant and significant - reality means something different for the rabbit than he anticipated, but it is a joyous happening nonetheless. The Skin Horse, the rabbit and the boy are all real, and serves as an extended parable on how right relationships can overcome much adversity.
This is one of my favourite stories of all time, and the drawings accompanying this edition are very apt and special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Book, 12 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Velveteen Rabbit (Paperback)
This book has always been one that my mum and i have shared, now at 14 i am going to boarding school and this book is a going away present for her. It always used to make her cry when she read it to me, it has been years since we have sat on my bed and read the book together, i miss it and i hope by giving her this, she will always know! I love it and encourage everybody to do the same, read it! - if you have young children read it to them... it is a timeless classic and one that should never be forgotton. Its means something to me, and i hope it will to whoever reads it where ever they are in the world. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic made accessible for little children, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Velveteen Rabbit (Paperback)
You may well know the original Velveteen Rabbit story - and if you don't, go and read it now. This is a much shortened version for very young children (my children enjoyed it from 2 1/2 onwards). It has been beautifully abridged, retaining the style and some of the beautiful phrases from the original, and the illustrations are gorgeous and really add something to the story. I hope that eventually my children will read the full-length original, but for now they are still too young for it, and they have read and loved this version for years. One of the few books that I would gladly read to them again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does it hurt to be real? Sometimes., 1 Nov. 2002
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Velveteen Rabbit (Paperback)
Margery Williams' timeless classic about love is my favorite children's book. I didn't discover it until I became a teacher, and now I look forward to Christmas each year so I can read it to my students. It is a simple, tender, and innocent tale about a toy rabbit that is given to a little boy one Christmas. He isn't a very remarkable rabbit, and the boy easily forgets him. In the nursury the rabbit is befriended by the Skin Horse, who knows all about how toys become real: When someone loves you very, very much, you become real to that person. The rabbit wants to be real more than anything, and one day, the boy plays with the rabbit, and they become inseparable. That is, until the boy gets very ill, and all of the toys he played with must be burned! What is to become of our dear little rabbit now?
You'll have to read the story for yourself to find out, and the ending will bring tears to your eyes. The author chose her words so well that the simple text conveys deep feelings of longing, despair, and ultimate joy. I recommend this book for children and adults. It is a book you will never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic story, wonderful for any generation, kid or adult., 17 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Velveteen Rabbit (Hardcover)
This is a classic tale of bunny who wishes to become real. With a little nursery magic and love, wonderful things can happen. This particular copy (Illustrated by Tien Ho) is my favorite because it is the copy that I grew up with. It is a great story to read to your child to show them the values that really matter in life. It is my favorite story and I will continue to read it to my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'real' children's story, 10 Jan. 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Velveteen Rabbit (Hardcover)
The rabbit, feeling a bit out of place and a bit unworthy, nonetheless yearned to be loved, not for what he could be or should have been, but rather for what he truly was. What child (or adult, for that matter) can't find meaning here? Children yearn for love and acceptance, and unfortunately we live in a world in which that acceptance and approval usually consists of things being bigger, stronger, better, prettier, faster, newer.
The rabbit is not the 'best' toy in the boy's collection; he's not the most expensive, the best constructed, or the most interesting. But as the wise old Skin Horse knows, it isn't in the flashy paint and moving parts that true love grows. True love makes one real, and it takes a special being and a deliberate process to become real. 'It doesn't happen to people who break easily, or have sharp edges or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby.'
Being real can hurt, but the rabbit in the process of becoming real barely notices that his velveteen fur is rubbing off, his tail is coming undone, his pink nose is worn and his whiskers are gone. He knows he is loved, especially during the boy's serious illness (the story was written shortly after the great flu pandemic that claimed countless lives in the early part of the twentieth century, and other childhood illnesses were still commonplace killers even in the most technologically advanced countries, perhaps another aspect of how technology can fail to address the 'real').
The ending is poignant and significant - reality means something different for the rabbit than he anticipated, but it is a joyous happening nonetheless. The Skin Horse, the rabbit and the boy are all real, and serves as an extended parable on how right relationships can overcome much adversity.
This is one of my favourite stories of all time, and the drawings accompanying this edition are very apt and special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'real' children's story, 5 Jan. 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Velveteen Rabbit (Hardcover)
The rabbit, feeling a bit out of place and a bit unworthy, nonetheless yearned to be loved, not for what he could be or should have been, but rather for what he truly was. What child (or adult, for that matter) can't find meaning here? Children yearn for love and acceptance, and unfortunately we live in a world in which that acceptance and approval usually consists of things being bigger, stronger, better, prettier, faster, newer.
The rabbit is not the 'best' toy in the boy's collection; he's not the most expensive, the best constructed, or the most interesting. But as the wise old Skin Horse knows, it isn't in the flashy paint and moving parts that true love grows. True love makes one real, and it takes a special being and a deliberate process to become real. 'It doesn't happen to people who break easily, or have sharp edges or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby.'
Being real can hurt, but the rabbit in the process of becoming real barely notices that his velveteen fur is rubbing off, his tail is coming undone, his pink nose is worn and his whiskers are gone. He knows he is loved, especially during the boy's serious illness (the story was written shortly after the great flu pandemic that claimed countless lives in the early part of the twentieth century, and other childhood illnesses were still commonplace killers even in the most technologically advanced countries, perhaps another aspect of how technology can fail to address the 'real').
The ending is poignant and significant - reality means something different for the rabbit than he anticipated, but it is a joyous happening nonetheless. The Skin Horse, the rabbit and the boy are all real, and serves as an extended parable on how right relationships can overcome much adversity.
This is one of my favourite stories of all time, and the drawings accompanying this edition are very apt and special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Velveteen Rabbit: Or How Toys Became Real: Or How Toys Become Real (Young Puffin Read Aloud)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews