Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2005
I read this book largely because I wanted more insight. Yet I found myselfmoved to tears. it is a cleverly constructed, beautiful colection which certainly fulfills its pupuse of celebrating Anne's life way before the war or any other horror touched her.
It is hard to reflect on Anne Frank without contemplating the impact of the Nazis and yet this book manages to touch on her life pre-war and during her hiding that she becomes a person who exists seperately - as she deserves.
It moved me to tears as did the diary yet also filled me with hope .
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
Anne Frank : Beyond The Diary is the perfect companion to The Diary Of A Young Girl (Anne Frank) and Anne Frank Remembered (Miep Gies).
Although the text is clearly aimed at the younger reader, it would be a great shame if the book was overlooked by adults. It provides additional information about the lives of the Frank family before they emigrated to the Netherlands and also what happened after their arrest.
Where the book really excels, however, is in the plethora of photographs, illustrations and maps, and this really helps to bring the whole story to life.
There are numerous photographs from the Frank family album, and I thought it was particularly poignant to see Anne and Margot playing with their friends in Germany before they emigrated. Although the rooms in the secret annex are now empty, the book does contain photographs taken when they were temporarily furnished under the direction of Otto Frank and Miep Gies to resemble their appearance at the time they were in hiding.
There are photographs of several pages from the original diary and also one of the menu that Anne typed out on 18th July 1942.
There is an excellent colour illustration presenting a cutaway view of the secret annex showing the location of the different rooms together with a multitude of other fascinating images.
The thing that particularly impresses about this book is in the extremely appealing design and layout.
Whether a serious scholar, someone with a passing interest, or a younger person relatively new to the story, the book is a treasure trove that will contain something for everyone.
Highly recommended.
P.S. Please do not be put off by the "look inside" facility. It really doesn't do the book justice, especicially considering the photographs have all been removed for copyright reasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
If you are not able to visit The Anne Frank House in Amsterdam, then this book is the next best thing. It is beautifully illustrated, and from the photos in the book you can begin to get the idea of the intensely claustrophobic atmosphere in which these eight people lived. But also included are the photos of what came after, of Westerbork, of Auschwitz and subsequently of Bergan-Belsan. There are lovely photos of Anne and her sister Margo, and of course of the rest of the Frank family and good biographies of the Van Pelts and Fritz Pfeffer.

I first bought a copy of this book at the Anne Frank House, but have since bought it from Amazon for a fourteen year old girl who is a fan of the Diary and finding a growing interest in the Holocaust. This book is a good start, it is deeply interesting and touching, but not too horrific. I recommend it as a relevant and important part of history and understanding for all young people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
A brilliant book to tell the story of a remarkable girl in such horrific circumstances.I have now been to the attic in Amsterdam where it all came to life for me. Any book about Anne Frank is a must to all readers who love to learn about her
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 1999
This book has pictures of Anne Frank and her family. She also writes in her diary about how she feels going in to hiding and wearing a yellow star to show she is Jewish. This is a really fabulous book because it talks about how she feels and what it is like when her and her family go into hiding. They went into hiding because Adolf Hitler started preparing Germany for war. They were sending all Jewish people to camps so that they'd starve and freeze to death. I like this book because sometimes I imagine I'm in hiding and that I get lonely and am not able to have boyfriends or have any friends that I could tell secrets or talk to or trust. When Anne Frank talks about how it feels when you are in hiding you could actually feel how she feels.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2006
I thought that this was a v. original and creative way of looking at Anne Frank's life. It was well set out and was always interesting.

Basically, it is pictures of Anne Frank and things to do with her. It was very good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
a brilliant book for any person intrested in anne frank or th holocaust
contains excellent photographs
am v.cross due to the fact i have lost my copy of the book
i recomend ypu buy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
I am delighted with my purchase,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Not pleased with condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.