Customer Reviews


31 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 7 April 2004
This review is from: Anne's House of Dreams (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
This book is so wonderful, I'm surprised I haven't worn holes through the pages of my copy, I've read it that much. Anne marries her beloved Gilbert and they settle down into a little fishing village, where she stays in a bubble of perfect happiness. She makes new friends, matronly Miss Cornelia, withdrawn, enigmatic Leslie, and the delightful, generous Captain Jim of the Lighthouse. But the sweet life she lives threatens to collapse as tragedy strikes, a tragedy that will move any reader to tears. Anne struggles on, through her grief, supported with tender sympathy by her husband and friends. Though it left an unmendable mark on her heart, "There was something in her smile that wasn't there before, and was never absent from it again," Anne discovers, once more, how to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good story with all the essential elements for success, 24 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
Anne has now moved to her house of dreams with Gilbert and started her new life as Mrs Blythe.Though this story doesn't contain as many adventures as Anne of Green Gables,Avonlea,the Island,it is still a very enticing story with love,family,birth and death.I always think we can learn a lot through Anne as her story as everything we meet in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne is Mrs. Dr. Blythe now,keeping house for the first time, 7 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Anne's House of Dreams (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
Anne and Gilbert are finally married (phew!) and Gilbert has accepted a post as doctor in Glen St. Mary. There are some pangs at leaving dearly beloved Avonlea, but Anne falls in love with the little house they are to live in -- her house of dreams, and starts to set down little roots in this new soil.
Her romantic soul finds much to thrive on in this new environment. There is the beautiful story of the house itself, there is wonderful old Captain Jim with a heart of gold and lots of stories to share, there is the wide open sea and there is the lovely but enigmatic next door neighbour, Leslie Ford. Then too, there is Gilbert.
And to smooth over the transition to housekeeping, there is Susan, who comes in to help Mrs. Dr. Dear and proceeds to mother her in rather a lovely fashion. Glen St. Mary is full of interesting people and we get to meet several of them, from Miss Cornelia who has an avowed hatred for men, to Marshall Eliott, who has refused to cut his beard for many years, due to political reasons.
But the heart of the story is closer to home.
Anne strikes up a strong friendship with Leslie and Captain Jim though at times the former baffles her. She is swept up into the drama of Leslie's life and past as an unforseen 'complication' arises in the form of a handsome author, Owen Ford. For the first time, Anne and Gilbert disagree.
Anne becomes a mother and also experiences tragedy for the first time in this book too, so it really is a passing from girlhood to womanhood. Through all this 'growing up', though it feels like she has lost it for a while, she somehow manages to regain her fundamental joy in liife, and to remain the same loveable Anne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tissues at hand, 30 Dec. 2000
By 
M. YOUNGER (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the Anne books you will not want to put down, I read it in two days and did not want it to end. You feel yourself being drawn into the joy and heartache in each chapter. A must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restful and Inspiring., 16 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne's House of Dreams (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
This book is a delightful story. What a lovely and virtuous family. I shall read it manymany times-it was wholesome,
sensitive of individual feelings and a lovely portrayal of naturally beautiful surroundings. It is like a spring of pure fresh water to read in a world which is now full of distrust, godlessness and grasping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne's House of Dreams (Puffin Classics) (Paperback)
People usually slate 'classics' as boring, but they're always full of charm you can never put them down. This book isn't an exception at all. Amazing. Even if you think old books are boring, still read it. Please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne's house of dreams, 18 Aug. 2013
This book is very good. throughout it, we share Anne's many happinesses and sorrows. we meet new friends and have many suprises and shocks. All of Anne's followers will be guaranteed to enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Anne books!, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This is one of the best of the Anne series! Anne and Gilbert both develop into a young couple that you would want to be friends with. As you witness the pain and the happiness that colours their early married life together, you become even more instinctively drawn into their world. I have read this book countless times and time I cry when "the little white lady" is lain in the ground, and at Leslie's revelation, and when wee Jem finally arrives. Captain Jim and Miss Cornelia are two of my favourite characters in the whole Anne series. This is a good book for young mothers, but it also a heartwarming tale for anyone preparing to marry their childhood sweetheart. Read this but make sure you read it in order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars anne of green gables etc etc!, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the whole series of Anne's adventures wholesome and comforting an ideal set of books for a young girl and one to be re visited as an older woman.Read the first two books as a young girl and was inspired to read the others by my son! Anne's outlook is something to be absorbed. How lovely to view nature and people through her eyes. We should all view others and creation with a more positive attitude and will definately reap rewards. Hopefully you will all meet "kindred spirits" in all aspects of life especially if you are the one making the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all the Anne of Green Gables series this is a magical story, after reading one feels as though all the characters are known personally, a real gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anne's House of Dreams (Puffin Classics)
Anne's House of Dreams (Puffin Classics) by L. Montgomery (Paperback - 29 Jun. 1995)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews