Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best childrens story ever
Oscar Wilde tells the most beautiful heart warming childrens story ever told. this is a magical and compassionate story that will touch the heart of not only children, but parents as well. warning; last page will draw tears, guaranteed
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by sonj zoref

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful
Gave it to my 10 year old to listen to at night

It gave her nightmares, have now asked around,

its a very sweet story, but also very sad
Published 23 months ago by Thea


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best childrens story ever, 18 Feb 2011
Oscar Wilde tells the most beautiful heart warming childrens story ever told. this is a magical and compassionate story that will touch the heart of not only children, but parents as well. warning; last page will draw tears, guaranteed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting morality tales by Oscar Wilde, 6 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happy Prince (Paperback)
These nine short stories by Oscar Wilde are most wonderful. I have read them several times, at long intervals, and they never pale or lose their magic. I feel that the trgic life of the author is, in a way, reflected in these morality tales in that he obviously put a great deal of himself into his fiction. "The Birthday of the Infanta" is quite heartbreaking. Oscar originally told these tales to his own two young sons, Vyvyan and Cyril, but in my opinion they are not suitable for very young children as much of the point of the stories is rather advanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The happy prince was a moving tale., 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Happy Prince & Other Stories (Puffin Classics Relaunch) (Paperback)
The happy prince was my favourite book when I was little and still is now. It is about a statue of a prince that died and he is always happy, one day a sparrow fell in love so didn't set off to Egypt with his fellow friends, when he set off later than the rest, he got tired and stayed under the statue for shelter. he notices the prince is crying and the prince tells him because he sees the poor and poorly people, so the sparrow helps the prince to try and make these people happy. I enjoyed the book and find it a moving tale.I recommended this book to all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Prince, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As soon as I saw this edition on a friend's bookshelf I wanted a copy for myself. Loved the cover colour and the repros of the picures inside. Liked the slightly offset type as well. Fantastic edition which for some strange reason was not available at Blackwells in Oxford. Woman there looked at me as if I was mad when I asked about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Happy Prince and other stories, 11 Dec 2011
This is an enchanting anthology of stories that appeal to young and old alike .I bought this as a gift for a 53 year old friend !Very moving, sometimes dark - always thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book, 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Oscar Wilde shows his skill in writing these simple, yet funny, moving and clever stories. Guaranteed to soften even the hardest heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the happy prince is recommended, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent stories, you will never be disappointed and a good addition to any collection, very moving and funny in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Wilde, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these stories by a great story teller, bought copies for my daughters to read because I enjoyed them so much. This is a cheap but well produced edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gave it to my 10 year old to listen to at night

It gave her nightmares, have now asked around,

its a very sweet story, but also very sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for the grumpy giant story which is beautiful, the bonus is the other stories and this version is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Happy Prince & Other Stories (Puffin Classics Relaunch)
The Happy Prince & Other Stories (Puffin Classics Relaunch) by Oscar Wilde (Paperback - 30 Oct 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews