Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and moving book, 21 Nov 2008
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I remember reading this book when quite young - maybe 9 or so - and being extremely upset by the ending. I have since revisited it as an adult and was struck by what a beautiful book it really is. It is full of joy and wonder, as well as death, sadness and brutality - the latter made even worse by its almost casual nature. It's an exquisite portrait of a vanished time, seen from Tarka's viewpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Run Tarka, Run..., 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Been meaning to read this book for years. Finally got around to it after I saw a copy going cheap.

The novel tells the trials faced by an otter in the Devonshire countryside.

Taka is born 1 of 3 cubs, practically as soon as he is born he begins to recognise the dangers that will dictate and eventually end his life.

The book explores nature and the harshness encountered through both the wild and also mans interference. Nothing is left out or to the imagination. Often harrowing, the story details Tarka's constant battle with the otter hounds, and in particular their fearsome leader Deadlock.

In many ways Williamson's bleak writing of the English countryside reminded me of Cormac Macarthy, in particular the Orchard Keeper.

The only reason I gave this book 4 stars, not 5, is that the local dialect used for various landscape features got a bit tiresome and repetitive.

All in all, a very good read, but also a sad one which causes the reader to reflect on mans wrongful treatment of nature more than any other book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tarka The Otter, 16 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. B. J. S. Mitchell (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I remember reading this book when i was young about 7 - 8 years old and after my boss saying that she just recently read it, i decided to re-read it and it brought back so many memories. Its a beautiful book which your imagination can get lost in and you can picture how otters would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the River Bank, 12 Feb 2012
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
From the very start it is clear that this is a book based on hours of observation, of close attention to detail and a keen eye.

The descriptions of the Otter's eye view of the Devon countryside rings very true; the plants, the birds and other animals occur exactly where they should be and the author clearly has a feel for water.

The otters in the book, especially Tarka, seem both real and fantastical at the same time - brave, cunning, highly intelligent and remarkably resolute. Whether this is a true reflection of the biological otter is a matter for debate, but the whole the book feels more believable than mythical.

The story is told in a simple and straight forward manner, and for all that the otters become somewhat humanised the story is far from romantic. The death of the otters at the hands of otter hunters in brutal, and their casual disregard for other living things is clearly shown.

This is a sympathetic portrait of otters and an honest, but not flattering, one of humans.

`Animal stories' of this type do feel rather old fashioned, but the detail of the observation lifts this book above the ordinary.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
As a child, the film adaptation of the classic novel had a massive effect on me and ever since it has been an ambition of mine to read the source material. I certainly wasn't disappointed. The book is both stunningly beautiful and brutal, with Williamson not afraid to shy away from certain gory details that were part of life as an Otter living during the early 20th century.

Thankfully, Otters are no longer subjected to such regular persecution but Henry Williamson gives us a captivating historical insight into rural England. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragedy of Man despoiling paradise, 28 Sep 1999
By 
smflyman@aol.co.uk (Port Talbot, South Wales.) - See all my reviews
The natural history of Devon as a minutely detailed backcloth to the tragic existence of a fine animal.Feel the joy of knowing that such a world existed, experience the shame of its being squandered and wring your emotions at the meeting of Tarka with the pathetic remains of his only son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
lovely heart warming story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tarka the gift, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Bought as a stocking filler. I've read this as a child & wanted to pass it on. This book arrived in perfect condition, is well made, with easy to read, clearly defined print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting tale, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Patricia Millar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Tarka the Otter is probably the most famous of Henry Williamson's books. This edition is especially nice because of the beautiful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Very beautiful descriptions, very cute pictures. I can feel the warmth of his words and I can clearly imagine the whole scene. It makes me so happy that I want to get an otter of my own :)).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics)
Tarka the Otter (Puffin Modern Classics) by Henry Williamson (Paperback - 29 Jun 1995)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews