Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review - Ice Palace
Starjik, a child taker, always came to the village to take away the children. One night, Starjik came and took away Ivan's little brother. Ivan loved his brother and so he went on a journey to find Starjik's land. Ivan was in great danger many times on the way to Starjik's place. But he finally arrived there safely. He was not afraid of Starjik and was able to warm his...
Published on 9 Jun 2007 by Cc

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
I know that I bought a second hand book. So I didn't expect it has a very good condition. The story is good. My kid enjoyed it very much. But I can't give it full stars as it is an old book. Am I right?
Published 6 months ago by Heidan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review - Ice Palace, 9 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
Starjik, a child taker, always came to the village to take away the children. One night, Starjik came and took away Ivan's little brother. Ivan loved his brother and so he went on a journey to find Starjik's land. Ivan was in great danger many times on the way to Starjik's place. But he finally arrived there safely. He was not afraid of Starjik and was able to warm his heart and turned him into a good person again. Therefore, the frozen children, including his brother, were saved. And they all went home happily.

This book is a bit weird but has many good parts. My favorite part is when an old woman gave Ivan his tears that he cried for his brother. And Ivan later used the tears to warm Starjik's heart. Another interesting part of the story is that the old woman used miracles to change herself into different things to help Ivan. She has changed into a snowy owl, a bear and a fir tree to save Ivan from all kinds of dangers. The weirdest part of the story is the picture illustrations especially for the one on page seventeen. It was unclear to the readers whether the person in the picture was Ivan or his mother. And we don't know where the person was by looking at the picture. Another favourite part of the story is when Ivan warmed Starjik's heart and that helped Starjik to understand his problems. Finally, Starjik let all the children go back home.

At school, I gave eight stars (out of ten) to this book even though the pictures are weird. In Amazon, I'll give four stars (out of five) to the book.

Constance Chu, age 7 (almost 8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Favourite author, 2 Feb 2009
By 
J. Jenkins (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
Bought this for my 9 year old son as he has read a number of Robert Swindells books. Although he really enjoyed it, it didn't grab him in the same way as some of the others such as 'Ghost of Givenham Keep'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Palace Review, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
Excellent descriptive imagery - including some lovely similes to describe the setting and a plot that keeps children on the edge of their seats. We used it for studying stories in an imaginary setting. Children are keen to emphasize with Ivan and are willing him to succeed. It is a bit of a rollercoaster with the emotions. There is a great twist at the end. Excellent for use in schools with children in Year 3 and 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 21 Feb 2010
By 
Cod (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
I work as a teacher in year 3 and we have been reading this book as part of our adventure stories unit. It is an excellent book and the children have really loved the story so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icy world, 9 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
This is an amazing book with an amazing story! Not the most atractive cover in the world I've got to admit but this book contains the story of a life time. There are howling grey wolves and vicious bears. I think a small summary of the story is needed. In a village near the forest chilldren start disepearing. Now there are only two chilldren left. How will the townspeople protect them and get their other young ones back. Or will they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
Present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super text for modelling good writing!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Palace (Kindle Edition)
Great book for modelling figurative and descriptive language within the classroom with the added bonus of an enjoyable tale children will really engage with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Palace, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
Ice Palace was chosen as year 6 focus book. Really easy to read and able to set questions relating to ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Palace (Young Puffin) (Paperback)
I know that I bought a second hand book. So I didn't expect it has a very good condition. The story is good. My kid enjoyed it very much. But I can't give it full stars as it is an old book. Am I right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been written by a ten year old., 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Palace (Kindle Edition)
The basic story is good and the beginning does grip you but unfortunately it dies a sudden death afterwards. The story moves so fast there isn't anytime for details. Shame, had the makings of a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Palace (Young Puffin)
Ice Palace (Young Puffin) by Robert Swindells (Paperback - 26 Nov 1992)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews