Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULAS
Kitty Killin is not only the worlds greateststory teller when it comes to unwanted boyfriends. That's why she is sent to the dark privacy of the lost property cupboardto talk to her about her problems. She tells the story of her mum and her mums unwanted boyfriend. She give him the worst time of his life so that he breaks up with her mum. i think was a great book and...
Published on 4 Mar. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some surprisingly mature themes for a children's book
Considering 'Goggle-Eyes' is a children's book, I found it to be a lot more adult than I was expecting. The main character/narrator, Kitty, has a very reflective attitude which I'm not sure many children of that age actually have, and her views on environmentalism and social issues seemed really mature and developed. Speaking of that, I actually learned quite a lot about...
Published 19 days ago by Lorna H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULAS, 4 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Kitty Killin is not only the worlds greateststory teller when it comes to unwanted boyfriends. That's why she is sent to the dark privacy of the lost property cupboardto talk to her about her problems. She tells the story of her mum and her mums unwanted boyfriend. She give him the worst time of his life so that he breaks up with her mum. i think was a great book and recommend it to others of the age 8-11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goggle Eyes, 14 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
The book opens with a dramatic scene. A girl charges into a classroom tears streaming down her face. She is uncharacteristically rude to her teacher and then emotionally runs out of her classroom. The main protagonist Kitty is sent after her and not knowing why she is chosen she reluctant follows the other girl to the locker room. Its from there that the scene is set for Kitty to tell her story to her upset classmate. It transpires that the other girl Helly, has a divorced mother with a new man in her life that she hates. Kitty then realizes why she was chosen and then proceeds to tell her story of " Goggle Eyes". The novel is a funny subtle exploration of the pain of adjusting to divorce and then having the new balance of mother and children upset with a new and possibly permanent man in the family. It is about the gradual maturity of the main character learning to live with and reluctantly like a man who is the exact opposite of her, temperamentally, politically and in many other ways and realizing that such a situation can work.

It is a charming, sometimes hilarious story with well developed characters and some political content as well. Can be enjoyed by adults as well as teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
A extrordinary book about Kitty who hates her mothers boyfriend. Everyone seems to like him but her. Why doesn't Kitty like him? She makes life as difficult as possible for him but he will not leave. Very funny! I liked this book as it was funny and an easy read. I have read this book before but I could read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some surprisingly mature themes for a children's book, 9 Mar. 2015
By 
Lorna H (Northants/Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Considering 'Goggle-Eyes' is a children's book, I found it to be a lot more adult than I was expecting. The main character/narrator, Kitty, has a very reflective attitude which I'm not sure many children of that age actually have, and her views on environmentalism and social issues seemed really mature and developed. Speaking of that, I actually learned quite a lot about the CND from this book.

One thing I particularly liked was the fact that Gerald isn't portrayed as the stereotypical 'evil' stepdad, as is so often the case in children's fiction. He is shown as a complex, well-rounded character, which is backed up by Kitty's changing attitude towards him throughout the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book with an excellent social issue, 26 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic book with a fanatic plot leaving you in suspence, wondering what will happen to Goggle-eyes and if kitty will ever like Gerald Falkner. The informal langage (slang) is funny as it makes you feel more in the book. The way Anne Fine describes Gerald Falkner ,and his persistance towards nuclear power lets you in to the heart of the book. I would recomend this book for 10 to 12 year old's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an easy book to relate to as it is based on social issues, 26 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I would reccomend this book to 10 year olds or above, she uses slang and uses charecters of our age(10/11)making it easy to relate to. It is based on an 11 year old girl whose parents have split up and the father is out of the picture but after numerous boyfriends her mum meets gerald faulkner , the most discusting, most annoying man she's ever met, in her opinion. he tries to bribe them with sweets and is conatantly having arguements about nuclear power( which kitty's mum is totally against, gerald is totally for.) Eventually after a long night of protesting at the nuclear power plant kitty's mum gets back in a police car in a terrible state. she's really stressed and ends up chucking him out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but I enjoyed this book as a good story, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am 45, and I have not been through a divorce in any shape or form, but I enjoyed this book as a good story. A familiar tale of not wanting to change the status quo then finding out the new can be good too. My only criticism is that I couldn't quite see why the mum enjoyed having Goggle Eyes around so much. But then the girls don't either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it looks into real life problems, 26 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
i recommend this book to 11yr olds because it is very funny and it explains the problems and worries of an 11yr old.although most other children would enjoy this for its humour implisit deatail.an enjoyable book for all girls and boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read for children aged 11-13, 14 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
This is a truely great book. It is a story about Kitty, whose mum and dad have split up and after a number of boyfriends, her mum then meets Gerald Faulkner(Gerald Faulkner), who Kitty absolutely hates. After getting to know Goggle-eyes Kitty realizes why she hates him so much and starts feeling mean. In the end Kitty begins to realize that Goggle-eyes isn't mean at all and starts to like him. The only thing wrong with it is how it is totally concerntated on Goggle-eyes. The 'slang' really makes you feel part of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book because of how Anne fine puts the book in Kittys point of view.
I was told to read this book because of a drama thing I had to do for an exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books)
Goggle-eyes (Puffin Books) by Anne Fine (Paperback - 17 Sept. 1990)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews