Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book for use across the curriculum.
Whilst doing a topic on the Vikings, this book was a superb literacy resource. It was really useful for shared reading, superb for shared writing, great in guided work, and just a graet way of filling ten minutes. The format of short chapters that are all individual stories was particularly useful. My Yr 3 class loved it.
Published on 11 July 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Abit disappointing
Probably too loyal to the Norse saga style ironically. Felt a bit repetitive and didn't particularly hold my son. Unfairly perhaps I had expected some humour given the author. Ok but not un put downable
Published 18 months ago by Alisonmi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book for use across the curriculum., 11 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Whilst doing a topic on the Vikings, this book was a superb literacy resource. It was really useful for shared reading, superb for shared writing, great in guided work, and just a graet way of filling ten minutes. The format of short chapters that are all individual stories was particularly useful. My Yr 3 class loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourtie books, 7 Aug. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
This story is set in Scandinavian Viking times. The main character is Erik who is a brave and bold Viking. After listening to his father's stories, Erik decides to go on a journey to find the island where the sun goes at night. He has told his wife that if he doesn't find the island, he'll never sleep in his own bed again. Erik starts his journey in Scandinavia. During his saga, he has many adventures, e.g. fighting dog fighters, arriving at Talking Valley where everything talks and helping a giant.

My favourite character is Sven the Strong because he helps Erik a lot. He has very good tactics in fighting and listens to people's ideas.

The story had no weak bits. I read it at a steady pace but it was one of my favourite books. Thank you mum for buying it for me!

I think that this book is suitable for ages 8 and upwards.

(Gopal - Aged 8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic Tale, 26 Sept. 2004
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Eric the viking reads like a traditional icelandic or Norse saga, if you want heroes, strange beasts, wierd goings on and falling off the edge of the world; then this story is for you. Young readers would need to be competant or enjoy the challenge of reading quite a difficult text. This is an absorbing story for those who are prepared to suspend their disbelief and enter the land of legends. File next to Jason and the Argonauts or Kevin Crossley-Hollands' Norse Myths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and fun, 17 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Lots of tales of adventure on the high seas, with monsters, demons and baddies galore. The chapters are fairly self-contained and can be read as stories in their own right. My son liked the adventure and the monsters, and I appreciated the insights into human nature. My only criticism is that it got a little repetetive by the end, but children won't mind at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Bedtime Reading, 31 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
If you're a parent who likes to read to your children this is an ideal book. You can tell Jones has children of his own because he has written a book perfectly suited for reading aloud. The chapters are all quite short and each one is an individual tale within itself, which makes it an excellent book to read to your children at bedtime. It is also quite an entertaining book. My son loves history and is interested in Vikings so this book was a big hit with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, Humor, Courage in a Stirring Tale for Young Readers, 30 April 2015
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Despite Terry Jones' famous association with Monty Python, this is not a Monty Python treatment of the Viking Sagas. It also is not intended to be a recapitulation or reworking of the Viking stories for the adult reader, although it is informed by Jones' scholarly interest in the source material.

What Mr. Jones makes clear at the outset is that this work is intended to acquaint young readers with the excitement, adventure and majesty of the tales of Iceland. In this, it seems to me that the author has succeeded admirably. The stories are told in a crisp and clear style, with just a touch of the ambiguity and mystery that informs so many myth cycles. There is physical adventure, battle and bravery, but also human frailty and doubt as Erik and his men embark on their perilous sail into the unknown. As is fitting, there are plenty of enchantments, monsters, dragons, and magics of all sorts.

This is ripping stuff, and the balance between straight adventure and human emotion introduces the young reader to both the obvious attractions and entertainments of mythical stories and the more subtle rewards of reading and thinking about great odysseys.

Because the book is constructed as an interrelated series of short chapters it can be read through as a single episodic tale or broken up for bedtime reading or to suit the convenience or skill level of a younger reader. However you approach it, I can't think of many other books that approach mythological material in as entertaining and accessible fashion as does this book. It quite deserves the accolades it has received over the years.

Please note that I received a free advance ecopy of this book in exchange for a candid review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for little boys (and big ones and girls!), 13 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
We are on the second reading of this book now with my 4 year old son. He absolutely loves it, can remember what happened in the chapters first time round and tells me before we read them. It's brilliantly written, the language not too hard but not too easy either. The length of the chapters is perfect 'bedtime story' material, especially as he likes quite a few books before bed. I would definitely recommend this, an excellent 'non-twaddle' children's history/fiction book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for 10 year olds, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this as a 10 year old. Just bought it for my kids (10 and 8) - they are loving it.
Mainly a narrative with limited descriptions. Illustrations are "scary" according to the 10 year old.
The simple story telling and original adventures are really engaging.
Happy to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best children's book I've ever read, 11 April 2007
This review is from: The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I rediscovered this gem only recently when hunting in my parent's loft and it brought back a flood of happy memories. When I ordered this book as a tyke through a school bookclub, aged just 6, I was unbelievably excited to receive it and I must have read it dozens of times. It's still just as good and has everything a child's book should - scary moments, heroic deeds, characters you care about, a wicked central baddie and some really terrifying creatures. I had the hardbook version of old, which featured tremendously atmospheric illustrations. I hope this version has maintained them, because they really add to the book.

If there is a criticism, it has to be that there's very little humour in the book, but I guess it's unashamedly one for the boys. When I've got tykes of my own, this will be essential bed-time reading for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this in school and the children loved it. A lot of them got their parents to buy them a copy. It really appeals to children in the age group 8 -11 and adults too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books)
The Saga of Erik the Viking (Puffin Books) by Terry Jones (Paperback - 29 Sept. 1988)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews