Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 1998
An amazing true story covering the extraordinary life of a orphan growing up in the Austrailian outback. This is a story of courage, hardship, humour and the strength of the human sprit. Unschooled Facey wrote his life story in touchingly modest way. A book everyone should read.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
As others have said, this IS a fascinating book, and really stands as the tale of the emerging nation of Australia told through one man's (early) life story. Bert Facey emerges from poverty stricken-childhood in western Australia, through loss and separation from his parents, to having to fend for himself from a very young age against cruel employers, wild animals, fate, and Australia's harsh environment. But Bert holds his nerve at every turn, spurred on by a strong personal sense of right and wrong, and an instinct to stay just the right side of danger. These raw materials are then invaluable to Bert when he finds himself dodging bullets on the beaches of Gallipoli, in a war that costs him the lives of two of his brothers. Injury and instinct combine again to throw him into the arms of his bride to be back home in Oz. The disappointment for the reader, though, is that having been entranced by Bert's story upto his marriage, he then skips over the next sixty-plus years in a few paragraphs, hopping through the emergence of his own family and further tribulations through the Depression, the Second World War, and the ongoing health legacies of his First World War experiences. As I said, it's a real shame that Facey does the opposite of what most autobiographers do, in speeding time up through his later life story, rather than slowing it down and spinning us a longer yarn. Despite this, Bert's message is clear - we all need good fortune in our lives, but we're all capable of shaping that good fortune ourselves.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2002
This is the biography of the life of an ordinary Australian man who, by grasping appropriate opportunities, was able to achieve extraordinary things.
It gives the reader a compelling insight into life in Australia as experienced by so many of our pioneering families.
Facey draws a fascinating picture of growth from hardship in remote Australia at that time - 'experienced but not endured' - to a more fortunate way of life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
This simply written narrative gives the reader a feeling for early 20th century life in Western Australia.
Although the writer always presents himself in a very favourable light and seems a little self righteous at times, the reader cannot but admire the tenacity of spirit that enabled him to overcome great adversity.
From being sent to work at the age of eight years, to being wounded in the first world war, losing his farm during the great depression and losing a son in the second world war, the writer remained cheerful and resolute and grateful for his lot.
A great contrast with the attitudes of so many in our time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
After suffering some extremely pretentious writing in recent times, it was a great pleasure to read this simply-written, but gripping story of a young Australian boy, cast out into the world well before his time. The book was recommended to me by a very old playmate, who emigrated to Western Australia many years ago. It seems that Albert Facey is a National Icon "down under"; I can now see exactly why. What a man!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Many years ago I chanced upon an Australian film depicting this incredible story. It made a big impact such that since then I have remembered Albert Facey and from time to time I have googled his name. I was delighted to find the story republished on Kindle and that the book can be obtained via Amazon. Once again was inspired and in remain awe of this man. It was a book I didn't want to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
A tremendous story of optimism and courage. The detail of hard life in the outback is astounding and very moving butthesimplicityand the humanity of the author is truely haeartwarming. A great read for any time. Especially good at Christmas. Could not recommend it more highly. Best thing I've read in years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This book was advised by my daughter to read and I hardly ever put it down. The early years in the bush and people met along the road made it a very unputdounable read. Got bogged down with war details but find enjoy the overall story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this autobiography. He is a man that uses simple language and delightful details to weave a profound and inspiring story. What tenacity and gumption he showed all through his life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
One of the very best books I have read for a long time and have read it now about 3 times, always finding new things in it, lovely. Such an experience. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.