Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your time is being stolen...
Momo is the only person in the world that can stand the influence of the grey men. Momo isa child with a special gift, and if you think there isn't anything special about knowing how to LISTEN, you are mightily wrong. This is a teriffic truth telling book about life in the modern world, and even if Ende uses magic to explain this, it doesn't mean there isn't truth in...
Published on 27 Jun 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting rather than captivating
The German author, Michael Ende, 1929-1995, wrote fantasy and children's literature and is best known for his epic fantasy `The Neverending Story'. He wrote `Momo' in 1973 with this translation by J. Maxwell Brownjohn being published in 1984. The author's father, Edgar Ende, was a Surrealist painter and the idea of rebelling against conformity and the accepted norms of...
Published 9 months ago by Dr R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your time is being stolen..., 27 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Momo is the only person in the world that can stand the influence of the grey men. Momo isa child with a special gift, and if you think there isn't anything special about knowing how to LISTEN, you are mightily wrong. This is a teriffic truth telling book about life in the modern world, and even if Ende uses magic to explain this, it doesn't mean there isn't truth in it. An enchanting read for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book form the author of "The Neverending Story", 21 Nov 1999
By 
Mr. Paul Hoffmann "Shathal" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Personally, I always tend to be reluctant to admit as to which of the two books is best - both are fantastic. MOMO shows in a very good way what the world has come to - how TIME itself is (mis-)used by adults and the price it comes with.
Truly, a great book for both children *AND* adults, I can recommend this tome of wisdom as sincerely without doubts as I can recommend "The Neverending Story".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever!, 14 Nov 2003
By 
VISA (Leknes, Norway Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Momo (Hardcover)
I read this book in the original language, german, and I found it amazing! It's comparable with "le petit prince", and that's really something! I hope everyone who buys it will have the same joy as I had when reading it. But you should be warned: You might not get much sleep at night... You just wanna keep on reading...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, though I should really have the time to elaborate, 9 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
The only question surrounding this book is whether or not it is as good as the Neverending Story, Michael Ende's second great fictional 'childrens' novel. As with the latter, Momo is simply astounding, encapsulating the same kind of personal, moving profundity within a work of delightful simplicity (in addition to the first of Ende's 'has to be read several times, it's that stunning' final chapters). Indeed, as to which is the better, only personal choice can decide: both are major modern - if little-known - philosophical works. I myself favour the Neverending Story, primarily because - especially with the hardback version - you really are reading the book being read by the boy in the book; it is a device which moves the object you are holding, as well as the story you are reading, into the realm of the fantastic. Momo, save the charming twist with Cassiopeia's shell in the last paragraph, is a more traditionally-formulated story - though of course that is not without its own implications, as anyone who empathises with Ende's unique philosophy would be keen to stress. Its great strength stems from its more explicit comment on the nature of 'modern' humanity: the men in grey are particularly relevant and unmistakable (as is the whole explanation of people's lack of time, a perfectly-formed allegory), next to which The Nothing can appear a rather vague concept.
Another translation of "Momo" also exists, under the title of "The Men in Grey". It would be interesting to compare the two; whilst this edition by J. Maxwell Brownjohn is near-perfect when the story's pace increases, the first few chapters were a bit too literally interpreted from the German, sometimes appearing odd and out-of-place. Emphasis on the word 'bit': this is the only tiny criticism one could hope to make of such a brilliant work, which, as with the greatest of literature, effortlessly captures important and profound observations in a compelling, seemingly-innocent and simplistic medium. I cannot recommend this book strongly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book- note that this version is in German!, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: Momo (Hardcover)
I read a copy I borrowed from a library and loved it (Michael Ende has an amazing imagination). But I was shocked to find that this version (which I ordered for my Dad's birthday) is in the original German, though it is not indicated on the website. So, unless you're fluent in German, don't make the same mistake as me and buy a version which you know is in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
A must for every child age 8 + and their parents!!! Such a wonderful book!!! Beautiful. Highly recommended! Read it myself as a child and keep passing it on to children now a days. They love it as well. And their families. Still! It's simply a classic!!
Fab literature for adults as well!!!! Makes you think about life - and what we all do with it. AN ABSOLUTE MUST HAVE! Go on, give it a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Fairy Tale, 17 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Wonderfully imaginative,simple and profound. A savage indictment of "modern assiduousness" and a voice in the dark for the endless and timeless possibilities of the imagination! Please read it!-I am looking forward to reading The Neverending Story now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought there were no more fairy tales..., 10 April 2000
By 
s437227@gettysburg.edu (United States (Gettysburg)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I had to read this book for my class in college, I thought it was only a fairy tale. Michael Ende was able to bring such important issues in our lives, through the lines of a book that applies to everyone. People are speeding and speeding their time only to realize how much are they loosing. I am only in college but this book had opened a lot of door to the world for me. It is a real thriller of present life, because everyone can see themselves in this true Master Creation of Michael Ende.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible tale about how to live., 28 Sep 2010
By 
Jason Mills "jason10801" (Accrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
This is a lovely fable. Momo is a vagrant girl who settles in a ruined amphitheatre on the edge of a city. There her almost supernatural skill as a good-natured listener and hedge-therapist endears her to the locals, children and adults both. But then the men in grey move into the city, slyly persuading people to save time at all costs, time which the grey men themselves use to sustain their soulless lives. As the grown-ups rush around, their lives and those of their children become increasingly stressful and unhappy. Eventually it falls to Momo alone to confront the men in grey, though she is aided by Professor Hora, the keeper of time, and his prophetic tortoise Cassiopeia.

Warm and gripping throughout, the book has occasional passages of surpassing beauty, such as the imaginary seafaring adventure the children enjoy early on, and Momo's visit to the place where time comes from. Momo has to cope with the disappearance of all her friends and find a way past her loneliness to save them. The great climax glues one to the page: walking home with my nose buried in the book I went straight past my own house! - an outcome that would have pleased Momo immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Lambert Kleinjans "lkleinjans" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Momo (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
One of the hidden gems of Michael Ende. And still as relevant to today.I thoroughly enjoyed this as a kid and now again. The book reminds you of the importance of simple things in life, such a friends who listen and time spend doing 'nothing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Momo (Puffin Books)
Momo (Puffin Books) by Ende Michael (Paperback - 29 Jan 2009)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews