Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect & Pleasing School-based Poetry
This is a gently amusing and wittily accurate collection of poems set in a primary school. Contained within are poems that are destined to be classics such as 'Please Mrs Butler','Scissors','Supply Teacher','Reading Test' and 'Blame'.
The poems reflect all the varied aspects of the school day such as projects, tests, playtime, friendships, quarrels, dinner time and...
Published on 4 Mar 2009 by Book Beaver

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poetry
Excellent collection of poems and old favourite in all classrooms and homes, some of the poems are getting a little dated but haven't lost any of their charm.
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Lou


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A childhood favorite passed on, 11 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I was trying to keep my 8yr old niece occupied and let her read my please mrs butler,i was very reluctent when she asked to keep it as i had kept it in mint condition all these years,i was over the moon to be able to buy her her own copy,it's a great way to show them poetry as it's so comedic they love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, funny book, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I loved this book as a child. It is more aimed at primary school age. Bought it for my son for xmas and he is gonna love the quirky, funny poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Mrs Butler, 8 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
What a great book of little school time verses.
I had this book when I was at school and loved it very much so I brought this book for my eight year old son.
It's easy to read and my son loves it just as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scissors is my favourite, 19 Nov 2009
By 
S. Woodward (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
A brilliant book which I read 20 years ago and it still hasn't lost it's touch. I will be buying it for all friend's kids to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 19 April 2009
By 
R. Hoe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Fabulous from a teachers point of view to use with primary school children as they can relate to the poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend this childrens book., 29 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I have a 6 year old daughter who was given this book while at the infants. My daughter enjoyed the book so much that she did not want to give the book back. This is why I am buying her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All children should read this book, 2 Aug 2008
By 
M. Davies (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I read this book over and over when I was 6 or 7 (20 years ago), and still remember several of the poems off by heart. I would recommend it to any parent trying to encourage their children to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always enjoyable at any age!, 29 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I first read this at the age of eight and at the age of nineteen it took me back to those happy carefree school days. Dog in the play ground being the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best childrens poetry in ages, 15 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Baisically, I read this when I was about 8 and it's still good. Recommendations as a gift for younger sibs, neices/nephews, kids etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
The books were as described and properly wrapped up so did not get damaged in the post. The content of this book are lovely poems as children would write them. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books)
Please Mrs Butler: Verses (Puffin Books) by Allan Ahlberg (Paperback - 30 Aug 1984)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews