Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Wobble the waitress
Mrs Wobble the waitress is a fantastic book especially great for little children. It is written by allan ahlberg and is illustrated by janet ahlberg. It is a very funny book which explains about a family who set up a restaurent. The pictures are all very detailed and some of them have speech bubbles with people saying things. One of the pictures even shows their menu. The...
Published on 1 Jun 2004 by tomlove21

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mrs wobble the waitress by allan ahlberg
Ok but not extremely exciting. My 4 yr old grandson quite liked it but not enough to ask for repeated readings
Published 22 months ago by patricia ann dunderdale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Wobble the waitress, 1 Jun 2004
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
Mrs Wobble the waitress is a fantastic book especially great for little children. It is written by allan ahlberg and is illustrated by janet ahlberg. It is a very funny book which explains about a family who set up a restaurent. The pictures are all very detailed and some of them have speech bubbles with people saying things. One of the pictures even shows their menu. The actual story is very well written and uses easy, understandle language. It is a perfect book to read to your children because it is reasonably short and every page has a picture on it. The book is also good for children learning to read because it uses basic words. Mrs Wobble the waitress is just one of a wide range of happy families books, all written by allan alhberg. In my opinion this is the best and most brilliantly illustrated one of them all. I would definately say that anyone with kids up to the ages of 7 should have this book. A gret buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 Mar 2003
By 
This is one of those books that reminds how brilliant childrens wrtiters can be. You can have your JK rowling and your Enid Blytons, Alan And Janet Ahlberg are the most whimsical and magical writers out there. with superb illustrations and a superb storyline for children, the HAppy Family series will definately entice and surprise your kids( and possibly you as well).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars childrens book, 23 Jun 2013
By 
J. Campbell "lunchbuggy" (paisley scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
this book is a real scream . my 2 year old loves it. I have read it many times and she bursts out in laughter every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just wonderful!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
this is a great book for small children. i remember reading it as a child -it is funny and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for reading to my five year old - and her three year old sister loves them too, 10 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
This series of stories is simple enough for little ones to 'get' as they revolve around families - something which is often at the centre of their own games - and quirky enough to surprise and delight. Even as an adult reader you are amused .. and stay that way on repeated reading. The pictures are good too, there's plenty to comment on and be interested by for little minds.

As the books are simply written they are also near-accessible to new readers, my five-year-old can sound out most of the speech bubbles or signage in the pictures to me, which gives her the sense of being a reader herself. I can see her reading them to herself at some point in Year One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
Myself and my three year old have just purchased Mrs Wobble and read it for the first time this evening. We love it! Along with great illustrations, the book is filled with the sort of gentle humour that I have grown to expect from the Ahlbergs (we have a mounting collection of their books - difficult to pick out a favourite; they are mostly all bonkers, but Burglar Bill might just have it). As a result, have just ordered a few more from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, the fun still enjoyed by little ones., 17 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
I rember reading this to my own six yearold boys, now their children laugh in just the same way. It has the added adventage that I do not have to learn a new book. The illustrations are supportive of the text, a great help for new readers, each picture is an art work in itself and sets a high standard for children to aspire to when they are making their own books.Any child that has ever had a wobble and spilled something when carrying it to the table will totally empathise with Mrs.Wobble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny ridiculous, easy to read with superb illustrations, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
Good fun for my four and six-year-old grandchildren, they love having it read to them, and love reading it themselves. They also get absorbed in the detailed and humorous illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mrs wobble the waitress by allan ahlberg, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
Ok but not extremely exciting. My 4 yr old grandson quite liked it but not enough to ask for repeated readings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much smaller than I expected!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] (Paperback)
arrived on time, in good order and was worth the price. A very entertaining, but simple and humourously told story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series]
Mrs Wobble the Waitress [Happy Families Series] by Allan Ahlberg (Paperback - 6 Mar 1980)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews