Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource for children's drama
A lovely play version of the book. Easy to understand, helpful staging tips at the back and good font size for younger readers.
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Hannah McLauchlan

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only suitable for young performers
Although this script tells a shortened version of Dahl's great classic it has become too simple. I bought this script with the intentions of using it for a Secondary School production using pupils aged 11-16. After reading it through I realised the script was far more suited to younger children. Its clear though that it has been adapted to suit a cast of about 20+...
Published on 23 April 2010 by L. Grist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only suitable for young performers, 23 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Although this script tells a shortened version of Dahl's great classic it has become too simple. I bought this script with the intentions of using it for a Secondary School production using pupils aged 11-16. After reading it through I realised the script was far more suited to younger children. Its clear though that it has been adapted to suit a cast of about 20+ (Including Oompa Loompas) by allowing extra parents to accompany the ticket holders into the factory.

Personally I'm going to use small sections of the script alongside some sections of the film. (The first version, as I preferred it and it is available online if you google it) I'll also probably adapt some sections from the book.

I would however commend the writer for providing scenery, prop and costume advice in a section at the back of this book.

If you want an easy production with young children then go ahead and buy this script. I would especially reccomend this option to anyone who would need the extra advice in the back about staging and scenery. If you want something a little closer to the book you might be better off adapting your own. A lot of extra work I know, but far more worth it... cheaper.. and you wouldn't have to worry so much about paying for the rights etc to put it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource for children's drama, 18 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
A lovely play version of the book. Easy to understand, helpful staging tips at the back and good font size for younger readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple play good for use with lower school students, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived quickly and was a good choice - Year 7 loved working on this text. Almost identical to the actual book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great play but not allowed to perform it anymore!, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
We bought this play hoping to perform it for a youth workshop, but on contacting the publishers as listed in the script it seems
you can no longer obtain performance rights for this script, not sure why! So don't waste you money look at something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was the best book I have ever read!, 9 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
The book I read by Roald Dahl was called Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. This book is about a poor boy named Charlie and his loving family. They lived in a little house and were very squished. There was candy bars called Wonka Bars, and only five contain a golden wrapper. The bars are named after Mr. Wonka. Mr. Wonka owns the greatest candy factory in the world! If you happen to be the lucky one to find a golden wrapper inside of your candy wrapper then you won a tour to through Mr. Wonka's factory. Then one lucky day Charlie's loving grandfather gave him some money and he got his last wonka bar and he won! He went to the factory and it was crazy in there! I'm talking pure madness! Everyone in that won did something bad, except for Charlie. Mr. Wonka rewarded him with something, get this book and find out what happens. This book is funny, and exciting I recommend this book for any reader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read along to take a trip through a chocolate factory!, 9 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I read the book Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. This was a great book to read. Though this was fictional, it was also realistic because you could picture the story going on in your head. I also found myself feeling like I was going through the experiences along with the story. Enough with the rating, let's get to the story so you can read it and rate it yourself! A young, poor child, Charlie, lived with a very poor family. Once a year, on his birthday, his grandparents along with his parents (to chip in with money) would give him one measly little Willie Wonka's chocolate candy bar. His clothes were in rags, he was all dirty and very sad that he was this way. One day he saw that there was a contest that had to do with Willie Wonka's chocolate factory. Mr. Wonka would put 5 golden tickets in his Willie Wonka chocolate bars. Charlie wanted to win the contest so bad, but he only got candy bars once a year, so he didn't have a good chance of winning one of the golden tickets. His grandfather decided that since the contest was so important to Charlie, he would get him a candy bar. The next day, his grandfather got him a chocolate candy bar. Everyone was so eager for him to open and win because you wouldn't just get a golden ticket, but a tour through the factory and a 1 year supply of candy bars! When Charlie opened the wrapper, so eager to win, there was no golden ticket. Charlie was so upset because he really thought that he had a chance. Until.... The next day, to his surprise, he found money in the sewer to buy a candy bar at the candy shop. He was kind of scared and eager to win because he wouldn't have anymore money to take a second chance. He opened the door to the candy shop and stepped in the shop, hoping that he would win a golden ticket, for there was only one more left. He selected a bar and carefully peeled open the wrapper. In amazement, he found the golden ticket! Yes, it was the last golden ticket and he had won it! Everyone crowded around Charlie in hope that maybe they could grab it from him. He was very excited, but also scared that maybe some adult or kid would grab the golden ticket for themselves. Finally the storekeeper said to go home and show his family what he had won in his candy bar. When Charlie went home and screamed that he had won the golden ticket everyone cheered. It was now ready to go to the front gate of the factory. I'm sure that you know how little Charlie must have felt winning the prize. You'll have to read the book to find out what happens along the tour with Mr. Wonka himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars children's treasure, 26 April 2009
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Dahl's classic.
Hilarious story of poor little Charlie Bucket's magical adventure.
Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think it was a chocolate, funfilled adventure!, 13 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I like the characters and their realistic accents. Willy Wonka is very funny in the book. He is full of excitement. This book was sort of a lesson to children. It showed that greediness doesn't get you anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good book if you like chocolate., 14 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Chairle is very poor and something very cool happens to him. He finds the last golden ticket and gets to go to the chocolate factory. He had a nice time at the chocolate factory. In the end he became the owner of the chocolate factory. I think it would be neat to own the chocolate factory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books)
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: A Play (Puffin Books) by Roald Dahl (Paperback - 27 Sep 1979)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews