Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lessons from Moomin Valley?
Unlike the other books that contribute to the Moomin series proper, "Tales from Moomin Valley" is a collection of nine short stories, perhaps equal in length to a chapter in the other texts. This book, along with "Moominland Midwinter" mark the turning point in the series when Tove Jansson shifts to deeper introspection, often termed her move towards adult writing, but...
Published on 26 April 2009 by moinAlex

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book - dissappointing audio
I didn't start reading the Moomintroll stories until way into adulthood and was surprised at how satisfying they are for an adult reader. The books do work on a number of levels and the later ones (of which this is the first) are definitely darker, more philosophical and satirical than the early stuff. Unfortunately the audiobooks are very definitely aimed at children...
Published 4 months ago by P. R. Rustage


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lessons from Moomin Valley?, 26 April 2009
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Unlike the other books that contribute to the Moomin series proper, "Tales from Moomin Valley" is a collection of nine short stories, perhaps equal in length to a chapter in the other texts. This book, along with "Moominland Midwinter" mark the turning point in the series when Tove Jansson shifts to deeper introspection, often termed her move towards adult writing, but the book presents a series of neat cameos, fairly readily interpretable for children, drawing on principle and not so familiar characters from the established Moomin series. This comparative absence of the Moomin family leads to a greater emphasis on the ideas presented withing the book. As can be expected on the basis of the other Moomin books, emotional ties to person and place, and by contrast isolation and loneliness (and the implication of these extremes for the individual) are central themes to the book.

The book is like a series of passing acquaintances, in that each story has its meaning, and many parallels can be found between their themes, but each remains a separate passing encounter. The potential for the depth of the book's themes to leave the reader unsettled is somehow not realised, in that each story reaches a resolution, in which a fragile but workable peace with a changed set of circumstances is established, and differences of opinion are let be in favour of appreciating the ability of particularly individual individuals to nevertheless still manage to accommodate enough to maintain ties to each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting tales and captivating characters!, 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
This is a collection of beautiful tales which will captivate a new reader and introduce them to a wonderful world.This delightful book is also essential reading for anyone whose heart already lies in Moominvalley with Moomintroll, his friends and family! Find out who the strange Hattifattiners are and where they are heading, why the fillyjonk was afraid of disasters, the name of Snufkins new friend and how a dragon broke moomintrolls heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nine, Thoughtful Glimpses into the Soul of Moomin Valley, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Tales from Moominvalley is, as its title suggests, not a cohesive novel but a collection of nine short stories, each centering on a different character. Dedicated to Tove Janssons's niece, these stories are wonderfully universal, in that they are imaginative and wistful, but often filled with some extraordinarily deep dilemmas and themes. Jansson's clear, unsentimental writing style gives space to all of the diverse stories very well.

One of the stories is about a Filijonk who lives in a house by the sea, and cannot shake off the horrible fear that some catastrophe will soon befall her. Another, one of my favourites, is about a quiet hemulen who settles down in his aunt's abandoned park, longing for peace but not getting it when the children of Moomin Valley befriend him. Perhaps the two most well-known stories are The Invisible Child and the Christmas Tree, both stories where we follow the Moomin family as a whole, as opposed to the other stories which are far more individual-character based.

My favourite story is "The Secret of the Hattifatteners," which follows Moominpappa and is, in fact, a vital character development for him. We follow him in his longing to get away from the ordinary family life and joining the eerie, silent Hattifatteners on their cruises over the oceans. Moominpappa, always a fascinating character in my book, goes through a big change that feels very natural thanks to the masterful writing. It remains one of my favourite Moomin stories of all time.

In addition to all this, Jansson's illustrations accompany us through the pages as well. This time, however, Jansson's style was very loose and seemed to have been mostly done with thick markers. It fits the rough, warm attitude of the book very well. Tales of Moominvalley continues the road that Moominland in Midwinter set in that it's deeper and more soul-searching than the first four Moomin novels, a process that's followed through in the final two Moomin novels, where the soul-searching makes way for soul-finding. A most satisfying read, young or old at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comfort reading, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Tove Jansson's Moomin family have all the usual ups and downs of any family life, but what really shines through is their loyalty and total trust in each other and their friends. As with all the books in the series, there are funny things, sad things and interesting things happening and while it is ostensibly a children's book, I would recommend it to children of all ages (i.e. adults as well). For a comforting read that also helps you remember the blessings you don't always count - go to your bookshelf and reach for a Moomin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Stories, 8 Dec 2009
By 
A Noyes "Alison" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Tove Jansson is a wonderful, humane, sympathetic, sensible, non-cloying, delightful writer. These stories are among my favourite pieces of literature. In my view they are for anyone of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great book - dissappointing audio, 12 Jun 2014
By 
P. R. Rustage - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't start reading the Moomintroll stories until way into adulthood and was surprised at how satisfying they are for an adult reader. The books do work on a number of levels and the later ones (of which this is the first) are definitely darker, more philosophical and satirical than the early stuff. Unfortunately the audiobooks are very definitely aimed at children with children's voices, funny music and a delivery by Hugh Dennis in that "play school" voice. If you are buying this to play to young children in the car or before bedtime then the CDs are fine but adults will find the production irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition arrived in time, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Great book for adults becoming parents and reminded me of my own childhood experiences in the great outdoors- good stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moomins, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Bought for small child as I absolutely love the Moomins and I am hoping that she will love them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Killers. No Fillers., 3 Dec 2013
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Tove Jansson's famous Moomin series of children's books runs the whole range of human emotions, from brilliantly joyous happiness ("Finn Family Moomintroll") to aching, beautiful melancholy ("Moominvalley in November".) Not bad for a collection of stories about a set of silly furry fantasy creatures.

I suppose this book, "Tales From Moominvalley", is pitched about half way between the two extremes of joy and despair but they are probably a bit closer to the serious, brittle "...November" than the sunny "Finn Family..". The nine stories feature many of the established Moomin characters in a variety of situations. They all have one thing in common, they are absolutely perfect.

Not a word is out of place in the wise, funny and engaging tales. All are brilliant. My favourites are "Cedric", featuring philosopher-tramp Snufkin trying to teach the self centred Sniff how possessions don't bring happiness and "The Hemulen Who Loved Silence" where, at last , we see a sympathetic Hemulen-usually these are representations of crass soul-less materialists.

Just in case writing perfection isn't enough for you, Tove Jansson throws in a large number of top notch pen and ink illustrations. Again, difficult to single any of these out but the Fillyjonk watching the twisting tornado (p59)and Moominpappa sailing through an angry sea (p141) are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible at any age, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from Moominvalley (Paperback)
Absolutely lovely book. Shorter stories and longer ones, suffused with melancholy: sweet without being sickly. I enjoyed it just as much as an adult as I did twenty years ago when I read it the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales from Moominvalley
Tales from Moominvalley by Tove Jansson (Paperback - 27 Feb 1973)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews