Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical without the saccharine
The Moomin series is sophisticated and anarchic, with enough depth for adults to enjoy reading, and wild invention for the children, all laid on a very deep appreciation of the good things in life.
In this book, Moomintroll wakes up in winter - the first Moomin to do so. He faces up to loneliness, and dealing with strange new people on his own - and then with...
Published on 26 Nov. 1998

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Advertisement Practice
In spite of the luring 1p price for a used item it turns out a 2.80 GBP purchase. The issue is to pay for the delivery which is of course fine, but if you order several books you'll have to pay for the delivery of each one, no matter if you opted for 'as fewer deliveries as possible' or not. The company says it's the policy of the Amazon to gain some fee. And that's fine...
Published 16 months ago by Alisa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical without the saccharine, 26 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
The Moomin series is sophisticated and anarchic, with enough depth for adults to enjoy reading, and wild invention for the children, all laid on a very deep appreciation of the good things in life.
In this book, Moomintroll wakes up in winter - the first Moomin to do so. He faces up to loneliness, and dealing with strange new people on his own - and then with Little My, which can be even harder. Winder includes death, and rebirth and partying, as the seasons move round.
the book has two wonderful Moominmamma moments - even sound asleep with the rest of the family, she manages to sort out one of his problems. And then when she wakes up, to find him ill and the house ransacked, she takes it in her stride.
Great for reading aloud - Moomins have become part of my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moominland Midwinter, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
This book is really great. I read it when I was a child and had forgotten about it then suddenly remembered and bought it for my 7 year old twins. They are perhaps a little young for it, they would have struggled to read it on their own and no doubt would have given up. However, they have enjoyed me reading it to them. There are many different characters in the book, some of them a little menacing and some just odd but the main character, the childlike but resouceful Moomintroll, is adorable, you just want to cuddle him. He is an invented creature as are some of the other characters. The book is illustrated by the author and the pictures are fantastic and in fact the pictures are part of the reason I liked it so much when I was young. They are simply drawn but really capture what's going on in the story and the feelings of those involved. The story can be quite surreal, a horse made of snow comes to life and gallops off - that kind of thing, and not everything is explained, how is it that the horse came to life, we are not told. It is basically the story of Moomintroll who should be hibernating but has woken up, how he discovers winter, the people he meets and how he spends his time until his family wake up. The book is extremely imaginative, very funny in places and a great tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superlative, 20 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Tove Jansson was the mistress of the whimsical, dark and mysterious. Her fantasy sequence about the strange and beautiful creatures that inhabit Moomin Valley never disappoint, and I have been reading them for over thirty years. In this volume, Moomintroll, who usually hibernates through the winter with the rest of his family, wakes up and spends the winter season with new friends and acquaintances. He meets an early ancestor, who decides to live in his stove, Too Ticky who inhabits the summer bathing hut with a family of musical instrument playing, invisible shrews, and many other strange and truly wonderful creatures. Funny and surreal, dark and melancholy, this book is shot through with layers of ideas and meanings which ensure its lasting appeal to adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book to grow up with, 10 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
The moomins live in Moominvalley and hibernate through the cold Finnish winters. But just this once, Moomintroll wakes up and he can't get back to sleep again. Alone with his sleeping family he is afraid and indignant at the activities in the mysterious Winter world. It is a world as magical as his own but totally different. Who has taken the sun away? Who lives in the Bathing hut? And what about the 'dweller under the sink'? A charming book, that can be enjoyed at many levels. If you have read it as a child, read it again as an adult and it becomes a tender tale about real characters with all the anxieties and sensitivities we have experienced ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unconditional love a son and mother have for each other!, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Hardcover)
I'm 41 and long have I loved the Moomins and are perhaps my favourite of all children's stories.

Tove Jansson created lovable and quirky characters, characters that you instantly feel reflect your own personality, with a simple message that a simple way of life and a life of acceptance is best, set in a beautiful land where nature is also a leading character.

Here is the sixth novel in the series, Moominland Midwinter, where Moomintroll wakes during the Moomin's winter hibernation and can't get back to sleep. It's again an adventure story, with Moomintroll and Little My meeting plenty of previously unknown characters that stay awake during the winter, mainly Too-ticky who now lives in the bathing-house. The difference is that you delve deeper into Moomintroll's character. It's set in a rather dark, lonely and introspective environment but because of this, shows us Moomintroll's and Moominmamma's unconditional love for each other. The final chapter, when Moominmamma awakes, is very moving. Again acceptance is the theme running throughout the book.

While it doesn't quite compare with most people's favourite Finn Family Moomintroll it does have it's magical moments and deserves five stars from me purely for the final chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and atmospheric - a lovely book for all ages, 2 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Most of the familiar characters are sleeping their winter sleep, but the fabulous pageant of winter creatures which Moomintroll meets for the first time is mysterious and amazing. Set against a background of midnight sun and northern lights, Moomintroll's initial distrust of the strangers of this new world contrasts with his determination to remember his manners (how will he feed all the new visitors?) and his childish delight in their tales and their lifestyles. Some are just great fun, some are tragic and some truly terrifying- who is The Lady of the Cold? Everyone hides in the beach house when she comes apart from the foolish squirrel who pays with his life. And the snow horse with mirrors for eyes, which gallops away. What's that all about?? So glad The Groke made an appearance - my fave character, who is so tragic. She craves warmth and companionship but only succeeds in putting out the fire with her coldness. Shunned by everyone, she retreats into the dark and cold from which she came. I love her.

The coming of spring is a relief for Moomintroll - however, we feel he has learned something about the ways of the world and the cycle of the seasons. Moominmamma, as engaging as ever, takes the chaos of the untidy house and the decimation of the jam store in her stride. A lovely book, definitely as much for adults as for children. I certainly thought so, anyway,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More wonderful Moomins., 12 Oct. 2001
By 
Andy Dingley "andy_dingley" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Moomins. Possibly the finest stories for small children every written.
And for adults, it's worth reading it just for the "inflatable rubber Hemulen" they find in the bathing hut. Hemulen have always been a little ridiculous and slapstick, but I giggled for ages when I read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enchanting tale about discovering winter's secrets, suitable for adults and children alike. Ideal hibernation reading * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unadulterated quality, 23 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Moomintroll wakes up mid-hibernation to find everybody else still asleep, and an unfamiliar world to survive in, full of unfamiliar faces (and Little My!).

This was my favourite Moomin book as a child, for some reason, and it was as enjoyable now reading it to our daughter, as it was then. The winter land is full of new characters, some more familiar thane others. So a very loud Hemulen makes an appearance and I am sure we will all know somebody just like them. How the rest of the animals deal with the hemulen is very well presented and far better than the treacly nonsense that passes for entertainment these days.

My only quibble is that Moominmamma is just a bit too perfect. If I had emptied the winter larder for a load of uninvited guests, my mum would have given me a right rollicking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - captivating - impossible to put down, 3 Nov. 2000
By 
Joe Woods (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
After being told all about The Moomins I bought this book to see what it was all about. I enjoyed reading this book so much, I ordered the other 5 in a single transaction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books)
Moominland Midwinter (Puffin Books) by Tove Jansson (Paperback - 26 July 1973)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews