Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very similar but not identical to "Moominpappa's Memoirs"., 8 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
This is very similar to "Moominpappa's Memoirs" (ISBN 0374453071). Both "The Exploits of Moominpappa" and "Moominpappa's Memoirs" are translated by Thomas Warburton, but from slightly different manuscripts.
It is as if Tove Jansson altered the book slightly for a reprint. Though each passage is very similar, with most sentences being identical, sometimes there are additions or subtractions. So it is not just a different translation: the original Swedish manuscript was changed.
Some people seem to prefer "The Exploits of Moominpappa" over "Moominpappa's Memoirs". "Moominpappa's Memoirs" was actually published in Swedish in 1968, long after "The Exploits of Moominpappa" (1952), so it seems that "Moominpappa's Memoirs" was the final version by Tove Jansson.
I say, buy them both. "Moominpappa's Memoirs" has a very short "Prologue" which "The Exploits of Moominpappa" (ISBN 0140303235) does not have.
But "The Exploits of Moominpappa" (ISBN 0140303235) has a "Gallery" at the end with a sentence about each character, with an illustration each.
For these very small differences, and the differences between the whole books, complete your collection and see for yourself. Since both books are quite cheap and quite short, I feel I might as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not at all the same as Moominpappa's Memoirs, 15 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I knew that The Exploits of Moominpappa was an earlier version of Moominpappa's Memoirs, but those who have not read both books will not appreciate the sheer difference in not only the text but the subtext as well.

Entire passages from Moominpappa's Memoirs are simply not present in Exploits. The incident with the broken ice and Moominpappa's depression are not even present. On the other hand, the dialogue and relationships between the characters feels much warmer, somehow, in Exploits. It's more direct and to the point than Memoirs, and Moominpappa is somehow less egocentric in his retelling in Exploits. His many recounts on, for example, the stars of his birth and the behaviours of Mymbles is not here, and his relationship with the Hemulen is much less of a focal point (that whole part of his story is much shorter in Exploits). The number of interactions between his family as he's writing the book is also much less in Exploits; the beginning chapter of Memoirs is not present here.

Even the plot points that the two books share have been revamped with different dialogue and motives. Moominpappa and Hodgkin's falling out doesn't happen in Exploits, and there is even a second island.

So you see, Exploits and Memoirs are not at all the same, and I recommend both books for fans. Both books have something to offer that the other lacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as magical as other Moomin books!, 29 Aug 2012
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
I'm 41 and long have I loved the Moomins and are perhaps my favourite of all children's stories.

Tove Jansson created lovable and quirky characters, characters that you instantly feel reflect your own personality, with a simple message that a simple way of life and a life of acceptance is best, set in a beautiful land where nature is also a leading character.

Here is the fourth in the series, The Exploits of Moominpappa, in other words Moominpappa's memoirs that he is seen writing during the previous two books. It takes him from being brought up in an orphanage and his escape, to his adventures with his first friends Hodgkins, the Joxter and the Muddler to finally how he met Moominmamma. Running alongside are interludes where Moominpappa is reading these memoirs to his son Moomintroll, Sniff and Snufkin who discover that the Muddler and the Joxter in fact are their fathers.

Unfortunately the story is not as magical as the previous two, which may have something to do with the fact that Moominpappa is rather lacking in humility, in my opinion. It is very enjoyable nonetheless and part of a life-affirming series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books), 16 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
bringing back childhood memories - a good read even for adults (how can it not be, with characters like "the Hideous Groke" ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter enjoys The Moomins., 17 Jan 2009
By 
E. Belham (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
My 8 yr old has now nearly finished all the Moomin books and has really enjoyed them "they're really good". She has gone into a magical fantasy world. There are 8 books in all, in order: Comet in Moominland, Finn Family Moomintroll, The Exploits of Moominpappa, Moominsummer Madness, Moominland Midwinter, Tales in Moominvalley, Moominvalley in November and Moominpappa at Sea. The last book was hard to get hold of but we managed to buy it 2nd hand (for under 10)through an Amazon linked seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book for Moomin fans - I loved this! Well written, beautiful illustrations, and I would highly recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift, 2 April 2013
By 
A. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
Made the perfect gift for family member, a classic read for a keen young reader. The book arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my 9 year old has read all these books now, 20 Mar 2013
By 
michaelgcasey (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books) (Paperback)
my 9 year old has read all these books now, so its great to discover a new writer, really great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Exploits of Moominpappa: Described by Himself (Puffin Books)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews