Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baking demystified: how it happens, and how to do it.
The original celebrity chef, Elizabeth David caused no less than a revolution in the Fifties with her 1951 release, French Country Cooking. It's her we have to thank for the end of an era best characterised by boiled gammon and potatoes!
English Bread and Yeast Cookery is no less a benchmark in cookery writing, taking the reader right back to first principals with...
Published on 27 Jan 2002

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
After having read all the reviews I decided this was the Bread book to buy.
I am so disappointed though. In fact if I was living in the UK I would have returned it immediately.
But I didn't want to inconvenience the people who had kindly posted it out to me for free, so I have kept it.

It is so broad based that it is no real use to me, I just wanted...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by L. Bramley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baking demystified: how it happens, and how to do it., 27 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
The original celebrity chef, Elizabeth David caused no less than a revolution in the Fifties with her 1951 release, French Country Cooking. It's her we have to thank for the end of an era best characterised by boiled gammon and potatoes!
English Bread and Yeast Cookery is no less a benchmark in cookery writing, taking the reader right back to first principals with full information on the workings of yeast, a history of baking, and a slightly disturbing account of commercial bread-baking in the Seventies (the book was first published in 1977, towards the end of a dark era in bought bread, as anyone who was there will remember!).
With its absorbing historical and background content, this 592-page book is a cover-to-cover read - especially for accomplished home bakers.
It gives full 'features and benefits' accounts of different grain, flours and yeast forms, a wonderful range of recipes and techniques (including crumpets, muffins, potato and rice breads), an explanation of loaf types (very useful in the baker's!), plus full information on additives such as sugar, malt, salt and so on.
Essential reading for anyone who's serious about their baking - and equally essential if the whole subject is a mystery. At the end of this book, you will be a guaranteed solid gold expert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Book, 16 Jan 2010
By 
D. A. Morse (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
This a super book, if you want to make good tasty bread, this is the book for you. It is quite thick and there are no fancy pictures, just loads of tips and down to earth information. Eg: How to double up a recipe to batch bake - you don't need to double the amount of yeast you use. How to work out the amount fresh or dried yeast to use, etc. I had just bought another book about bread making, but found it useless. I tried 4 recipes in it and all were a disaster. I then read the reviews here and thought I would give Elizabeth David a try. I am so glad I did, I haven't had a failure yet. In fact I have just got a Rye Loaf from my oven and it looks scrummy. Oh! bye the way, this is not a book about making bread in Bread Machines, just lovely bread by hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread is the stuff of life, 7 Jun 2003
By 
Stephen Bentley (SHEPPERTON, Middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Simply the best book ever written about the making of bread, scones, chelsea buns, croissants; you name it it's in this book. Not forgetting the history of bread making from exodus onwards, the iniquities of sliced bread and the dubious practices of flour millers and bread manufacturers in the UK & elsewhere. You will also find out how to make basic brown, white, wholemeal, malted, anything you like loaves. Using fresh or dried yeast. Dear god you even get told how to make your own yeast and keep it. You want to make bread - buy this book, you will never knead another. Why else do you think it's always on the verge of selling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the dough!, 27 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
If you bake bread, or intend doing so, this book is definately worth buying. No, it isn't full of pretty pictures . . . what it is packed with though is everything you will ever need to know about bread. It is a history book, a recipe book, an advice book . . . and more. After reading the book and following the advice given I have made the best bread I have ever produced, in a simple and straightforward way. It is useful to know what WON'T work for the home baker too. If you have an oven, a baking tray and a bowl, you can make fantastic bread - and you will never want to eat that soft, doughy stuff supermarkets call bread ever again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bread-maker's Bible, 10 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
A wonderful encyclopaedic survey of bread and yeast baking. Loads of fascinating historical descriptions, good practical recipes, information about different grains and recipes. Black and white illustrations by now a little dated, but still interesting.

A magical book, and I can't recommend Elizabeth David's work too highly. One tiny warning; the book is very long, and will be constantly read and referred to. The paperback edition is thus almost certain to begin disintegrating after a while - my very old one has many loose and missing pages, so I finally felt obliged to buy a hardback version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread & Yeast Cookery from E.D., 11 April 2006
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
'In this universally acclaimed book Elizabeth David deals with all aspects of flour milling, yeast, bread ovens and the different types of bread and flour available. The recipes cover yeast cookery of all kinds, and the many lovely, old-fashioned spiced breads, buns, pancakes and muffins, among others, are all described with her typical elegance and unrivalled knowledge.'

'Here is a real book, written with authority and enthusiasm - a collection of history, investigation, comment, recipes - Jane Grigson in the Observer.'

Dedicated to Jill Norman, an accomplished cookery writer in her own right, this is an exceptionally good price for this ED tome of 592 pages, split over two parts:

* Part I - History & Background
* Part II - Recipes

Written with typical ED flair, which is so popular with her readers and full of meticulously researched information, interspersed with the usual charming black and white illustrations.

Part I

Chapters:
Milling, Bread Flours and Meals, Yeast, Salt, Liquid and Fats used in Bread-making, Eggs, Dried Fruit, Sugar, Spices and Flavourings used in Yeast Cakes and Breads, Malt Extracts, Bread Ovens, The Bread Factories, Shapes and Names of English Loaves, Moulds and Tins for bread and Yeast Cakes, Storage of Meal and Flour, Weights of Loaves and the Assize of Bread, Weights, Measures and Temperatures, Weighing and Measuring Equipment and The Cost of Baking Your Own Bread.

Part II - RECIPES

Chapters:
Bread, Baps and Rolls, Manchets and Mayn and Payndemayn, Crumpets and Muffins, Notes on French Bread, The Pizza and the Pissaladiere, Quiches with Yeast Dough, Sausage in Brioche Crust, Yeast Leavened Pancakes and Oatcakes, Dumplings and Doughnuts, Regional and Festival Yeast Cakes and Fruit Breads, Yeast Buns and Small Tea Cakes, French Yeast Cakes, Soda Breads, Bakestone Cakes or Breads, Toast, Biblio and Concise Index.

Over 300 pages packed full or all sorts of recipes that really do question 'what on earth they do to the bread in the shops........'.

'A tall, earthenware pancheon, glazed only on the inside, like a bread crock was always considered the best shape for mixing and raising yeast dough. From the 18th century until the mid 20th Century, bread pancheons were traditional products of many Welsh and English potteries.'

Page 252 starts with a recipe for 'A Basic Loaf', for a large loaf weighing 28 to 30 oz, or 800 to 850g.

'Potato Bread, usually associated with times of grain shortage or with a need for strict economy in the kitchen, is advocated by some 19th Century writers as being the best bread for toast. This is because a proportion of potato mixed with ordinary white flour makes a loaf, which retains its moisture and is also very light...........'

'Rice Bread is excellent for keeping since the rice remains moist and the texture is beautifully light and honey-combed. It is also a loaf which is very easy to mix and to bake.'

My overall favourite recipe is the variation on the secret recipe of the city of Bath originated 'SALLY LUNN BUN' (Soleilune Cake):

'My recipe for a Sally Lunn is simple, not very rich and relatively quick'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 11 Jan 2009
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Only one fault with this: a book to enjoy and use for the rest of your life does not survive too well if it is a paperback of 624 pages.

If you can buy a hardback version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 3 Mar 2012
By 
L. Bramley (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
After having read all the reviews I decided this was the Bread book to buy.
I am so disappointed though. In fact if I was living in the UK I would have returned it immediately.
But I didn't want to inconvenience the people who had kindly posted it out to me for free, so I have kept it.

It is so broad based that it is no real use to me, I just wanted to be let in on all the secrets that artisan bread makers keep to themselves with a few tricks thrown in for the home baker.

E.g. Baking bread in an aga oven. pg 301
Ingredients/Recipe.
14 LB flour !!!
14 tsp salt
4oz yeast
6 pints luke warm water4 tsp sugar
12x2lb tins

Summer bread pg 317
This is how the recipe is written out - the text is written in paragraph style with no separation of ingredients, making it extremely tedious to use.

Flour, four pounds; Salt, one teaspoon full; Brewers years (two days watered), one tablespoon full; cold milk and water, one pint: two hours. warm water, one quarter of a pint; kneaded into a firm dough. rising nearly tree quarters of an hour.

So, I am sat here wondering how I can be so wrong about this book when 15 people have reviewed it, all giving it five stars and not one other person has given it four or less.
I am not a amateur cook, in fact I can translate a good recipe to perfection and often very pleased with the results.
I hope this helps some people decide more objectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More a reference than a recipe book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Informative and easy to read, this is a smashing book on the history of English breadmaking, but if you're after pure recipes, then you may need to look for another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread for Life, 8 May 2003
By 
Stephen Bentley (SHEPPERTON, Middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
This is "faites simple" the best book you are ever going to get on the subject of baking. It contains an exhaustive collection of receipts, everything from plain Brown Wholemeal or Saffron Cake to Drop Scones and Croissants. In it you will find the history of baking; courteous, but firm, explanations about the uses for different types of flour. How to use yeast? What is Baking Powder? Enquire within on any point connected with baking and Miss David has the answer. You rail against the state of shop bought bread, well you won't find a better more thorough condemnation of the article than is written here. Any cookery writer unafraid to confess that after a while the making of croissants induces "combat fatigue" gets my vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library)
English Bread and Yeast Cookery (Cookery Library) by Elizabeth David (Paperback - 26 April 2001)
£13.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews