Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring On The Turbulence!!!
The author sides with the reader right away. He knows his audience. People who have no problem flying aren't likely to buy this book. Thankfully for the author, 1 out of 3, as he points out, have some form of anxiety about being 40,000 feet above ground in a steel tube.
By far the most useful section of the book deals with turbulence. This chapter is basically a...
Published on 18 Jan 2005 by Tim Perrin

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I bought this book for my Kindle, having read a number of glowing reviews but was sadly disappointed.
Firstly, it is quite out of date with details about airlines, airports etc.
Secondly, there were a number of chunks missing - unfinished sentences or words omitted, plus several spelling errors. I felt that the editing was very poor throughout.
Many of...
Published 11 months ago by una mar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring On The Turbulence!!!, 18 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
The author sides with the reader right away. He knows his audience. People who have no problem flying aren't likely to buy this book. Thankfully for the author, 1 out of 3, as he points out, have some form of anxiety about being 40,000 feet above ground in a steel tube.
By far the most useful section of the book deals with turbulence. This chapter is basically a physics lesson made simple. In short, he explains how a little movement by the plane results in the sensation of a large movement. He even explains how air pockets don't exist.
There is also plenty of information on every part of a plane flight, from pre-take off to landing. I actually read the along with the book during a recent flight. The only thing scary about that flight was how bang-on he was.
The book delves into other flight fear oriented subjects. This includes a chapter on media obsession with plane crashes.
This book has been printed in easy "carry on" size. I highly recommend white-knuckle types to take it on the plane. As soon as you hit turbulence, you'll feel like it's the smoothest flight you've ever been on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super cool flying facts!, 16 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
I bought the book out of curiosity. I love flying and often wonder whether I'll ever fulfill my pilot day dreaming adventures...

The book is filled with facts from how a plane flies to how weather affects flying; from plane food to how not to flush a plane loo whilst you're still sitting on it!

It also details a pilots resoponsibilities and covers a the short history of commercial flight.

A super book for anyone who has flown and wonders about the uniquness of flight. Its simple, gives you more than you need to know and fails to bore.

It's a shame text books don't come in this format!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best read for the airplane enthusiast or just the nervous flyer!, 15 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
For a number of years I have been plagued by two conflicting passions: a nerdy love of airplanes and everything about them and a paralysing fear of flying.

After reading this book, I feel much more informed about airplanes and flying; so much so I haven't had trouble flying ever since. I learned about the first flight in history, about pilot training and how airlines are operated, and about some of the most interesting airplanes ever constructed.

In addition, it satisfied my curiosity -and I believe every frequent flyer's curiosity- of some basic simple facts: how do airplanes take off AND stay in the air for hours on end? Why do the lights in the cabin switch off during take off and landing? The common belief that it's to direct more energy to the engines is wrong (and rather worrying); but read this book and you'll know exactly what goes on every minute of your flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my Kindle, having read a number of glowing reviews but was sadly disappointed.
Firstly, it is quite out of date with details about airlines, airports etc.
Secondly, there were a number of chunks missing - unfinished sentences or words omitted, plus several spelling errors. I felt that the editing was very poor throughout.
Many of the snippets of information which were interspersed here and there, whilst interesting in content, seemed to have been placed at random with little or no reference to the context at that point.
Yes, there were some reassuring facts; I was especially grateful for the explanations of the "pings" which one hears soon after take-off and during the flight. Was always worried that the pilot was signalling a problem!
However,several chapters were of limited interest so I felt the price was rather a lot considering these drawbacks.
Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 19 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
This book should be called "how to get rid of your fear of flying without trying to, and then go for flying lessons" This book is brilliant,I picked up a dislike for flying in the army(go figure)and since have hated it. It was not so much the idea of flying as the feeling and sound overload as you strap in.

This book has opened my eyes to the inner workings in a way that it is very easily digestible. My wife has loaned my copy to most of her friends and every time she does I fear I wont see it again.I take it with me every time I fly now for the tips and whats that sound reference.
I can recommend this to anybody that is interested about flying or anybody that is worried about flying, also if you are interest in flying and have no knowledge of it this book is for you. If you are looking for a comprehensive technical reference to flying you should consider perhaps pilots manuals but for the rest of us this book is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am loving this!, 1 May 2009
By 
Tracy Wiseman "Trace W" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
I am a frequent flyer and not at all uncomfortable about air travel so I bought this book for my partner who is a little less at ease at 35,000 feet. He hasn't got it yet because I am reading it for the second time in case I missed anything the first time round. Informative, funny.. a cracking read and not entirely sure I am willing to part with it now,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative!, 22 Mar 2008
By 
Kenneth E. Tutton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
This book is very imformative and teaches everyone from the curious passenger to someone wanting to fly as a career new facts.
It is the kind of book where after reading it you can point out things to your partner, colleague or bored fellow passenger.
All in all, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of Fear, 7 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
I love flying. But only because some years ago a very kind BA 747 pilot took the time and trouble to explain to me how planes get into the air and how they stay in the air, and how difficult it is for anything to happen to them that would cause you danger. This book goes one step further, explaining the minor details of everything that is happening around you from take off to landing. Ever wondered what the "bongs" you hear after take off as your rise in the sky are actually for? This book explains all. (They actually tell the crew what height the plane is at so they know when they can get out of their seats, but anxious passengers usually think it's the pilot signalling a problem). It's all in here. What are all the things that stick out of a plane for? How does a plane land in the dark? I've given this book to many friends who're frightened of flying to great effect. Everybody should enjoy getting into a plane, even if you are in coach! Even if you're not afraid of flying you will not be able to put this book down. Totally fascinating and a work of art. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever wondered why....., 19 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Pilots never have beards or why the co-pilots have to wear an oxygen mask whilst the pilot is in the loo?! Or why you can't use mobile phones onboard or why planes almost always take off into a headwind?!
Well, everything you wanted to know about flying is contained in this fascinating book (plus there's the whole science bit if you're interested in that!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great little book for the airport lounge., 4 Aug 2014
By 
Dr. A. B. Thomas "Alan Thomas" (Warrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines (Paperback)
Highly informative and entertaining for any air traveller who wants to know more about how it's all done, presented in an engaging way. I am still wondering, though, how it is that different authorities still cannot agree on exactly what physical processes enable heavier-than-air planes to fly. After all, it's not rocket-science (mostly)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flying Book: Everything You've Ever Wondered About Flying on Airlines
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews