Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As authentic as you will get!
I lived in China for a few years and it always niggles at the back of my mind when I am in restaraunts or using Chinese cook books that the recipes are not quite like the Chinese really cook them. This is a pity as I loved Sichuan food, and Sichuan in your Chinese restaraunt is unlikely to taste any thing like the reality. The reason I give this book five stars is it...
Published on 28 May 2006 by Shun Yao

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could do with a few more pictures
lots and lots of lovely recipes but with so few pictures I'm finding it hard to choose which I want to cook. Also, I'll probably have to go online to order a number of the ingredients as my local supermarket wont stock a lot of them.
Published 12 months ago by Miss T J Hickman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Constructive obsession, 7 Feb 2010
By 
G. Kenny (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
This is the second copy of this book I have bought. It is the result of one intelligent woman's obsession with the cuisine of Sichuan and gives an account of the culture and cooking of this most chilli-infused of Chinese regions. Fuchsia Dunlop spent a long time there and was taught to cook professionally. The recipes are elaborate and authentic and always worth preparing; the results are mouth-tinglingly delicious. She has written two other books that I own, a cookery book on Hunan, and a memoir, both of which are fascinating [The Revolutionary Chinese Cookbook][ASIN:0091918308 Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A Sweet-sour Memoir of Eating in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Regional Chinese cookbook ever written!, 29 Jun 2001
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Hardcover)
For me, this book works on so many levels. Firstly, there's the subject matter, Sichuan cookery, which has rarely been written about in the West. Then there's the passion with which the title has been written. Fuchsia Dunlop's love of Sichuan food shines throughout, along with her great affection for the people she's met during frequent visits to China. Vivid stories introduce most, if not all, of the recipes, but this is not simply an accessible collection of recipes with anecdotes. "Sichuan Cookery" is also a work to be considered seriously by academics - it really is the definitive guide to Sichuan cooking and I cannot imagine it ever being surpassed. A cookbook classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 25 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
I bought this book after being taken to a Sichuan restaurant in north London by my partner (who is originally from Chengdu). Having had this book for around a year now, and having been to Sichuan in the meantime, I can honestly say this is the best damn cookery book I ever bought... With a huge range of recipies, from the mild but delicious Twice Cooked Pork to the fiery Sichuan Hotpot, to a dish they are extremely authentic, well described and easy to follow.

To be recommended to everyone, whether or not you have tried Sichuan cookery before, I promise you won't regret it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time great cook books, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
As a Mandarin Chinese speaker who has worked in China and travelled there regularly, and spent time in Chengdu and Sichuan Province, I had eaten pretty much all of the dishes in this cookbook. Since buying it, I have cooked pretty much all of the recipes too. This is a wonderful cookbook. The recipes are straightforward and when followed closely, produce dishes that taste very much like the meals you get in good Sichuan restaurants in China itself. The acid test for me was mapo doufu, which is rarely done well in the UK, and yet is one of the signature dishes of Sichuan cooking (best eaten at the three Chen Mapo Doufu restaurants in Chengdu). Fuchsia Dunlop's recipe delivers the end product, tasting the same as you would get in those restaurants. The dumplings taste like those you get in Longshaochou, a wonderful 'small eats' restaurant in the middle of Chengdu, and even the hotpot takes me back to places in that city and Chongqing (if you are travelling or living there, I recommend huangcheng laoma in southern Chengdu on the second ringroad, both for the food and the decor). Indeed, each recipe delivers real Sichuan cooking, with clear instructions. My only, very minor, gripe is that with some the quantities are on the previous page, so you flick backwards and forwards when cooking quickly with a very hot wok. For a future edition, I would recommend the whole recipe on a single opened out spread rather than across pages.

So, to sum up: recipes that produce food you would get in China as authentic Sichuan food, clearly and well written with precise guidance that delivers outstanding results each time. Buy it and cook EVERY recipe - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine Sichuan cooking, 31 Mar 2010
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
This book is amazing! There is a really good selection of recipes, and the dishes in this book are REAL dishes from Sichuan. So far I have tried the tea smoked duck, dry-fried beans, fish-fragrant aubergines and some cold dishes; the flavours and textures turned out to be exactly what I'd expect from a Sichuan restaurant in China. I love the introduction to the different cooking and cutting techniques and ingredients in the book. Also the Chinese characters of the dishes and ingredients on the side is so useful. The ingredients used in the book are really what you'd get in a standard Chinese kitchen (I am Chinese and my mother is a very good cook, and the stuff in the book is exactly what she has in her kitchen, so I think that makes recipes pretty authentic). This book is for people who are very weary of the pseudo-Chinese recipes from TV chefs and want to gain knowledge of genuine Chinese cooking in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars written like a local, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
I am from Sichuan, and knows this is the best Sichuan cook book! Detailed recipe, understand the philosophy, and great choice of dishes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
This is a truly excellent book: the writer has a thorough knowledge of Sichuan food and her recipes are clear, for the most part simple, and always absolutely delicious. She provides a lot of cultural information too, and useful suggestions on where to find these ingredients in specialized shops. I experienced this book as if it were a trip to Sichuan: hot, and very exciting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource!, 21 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
In my opinion, a good cookery book tells an interesting story, educates and, naturally, has excellent recipes. This book more than fits the bill.
Fuchsia Dunlop is an impressive writer, and this is an amazing book and a valuable resource to all of us wanting to know more about Chinese regional cooking. I have nothing but high praise for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best cookery books in any genre, 3 July 2013
By 
Samuel J. Parkinson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
This is, hands down, one of the best cookbooks I have ever used. Before using it I had barely tasted good Sichaunese food; now cooking it comes quite naturally. It is full of tasty, interesting recipes, but it also really instructs you in why and how they work. Dunlop loves food passionately, and that comes across on every page.
If you haven't tried Sichunaese food before, it's a real revelation. These dishes aren't much like the Cantonese food in most Chinese restaurants in the UK. They're colourful, varied, richly flavoured and often fiery.
Somehow this book treads a fine line between the complexity of Sichuanese food (one of the world's great cusines) and the simplicity needed in an introduction for those who aren't Chinese.
The food is really delicious, and really genuine. She does seem to have skipped a number Sichuanese recipes that are so fiery and so sour that nearly anyone in the UK would struggle to eat them (nothing on cooking goose intestines) but it's still pretty representative.
I often tone down some of the recipes - a bit less Chilli, and less of the sour flavours of tianjin preserved vegetable - but the recipes still seem to work well when they are messed around. I've never needed to be too careful about quantities - everything still comes out good! I've also managed to cook many of these successfully both with and without a wok.
The book contains a large number of recipes - lots of variety - and they range from ten-minute stir fries to duck that has been steamed, deep-fried, dried, and fried again - over several days. A few, like that, are real set-piece dishes that few will tackle. A number - e.g. twice-cooked pork - are also too complex to do regularly, but which I might tackle for a special dinner. I'd have liked a few more quick stir-fries for variety, and even more vegetable dishes, but it's a pretty well-rounded book. You could read her other books for that extra variety.
You will need to buy some specialist ingredients to make this work, and some are only easily available at Chinese grocery stores. There aren't too many of these, though, and she errs on the generous side in suggesting what you need. After stocking up initially on Sichuan peppercorns, chilli bean paste, sesame oil, and Shaoxing rice wine, you can cook a large proportion of the dishes. All of these also keep for a long time. Where fresh Chinese ingredients are needed - for example vegetable dishes - she often (not always) gives some UK alternatives.
What's remarkable is how much understanding you gain from the recipes. She is teaching you, not just giving recipes. That gives the freedom to improvise in a totally foreign cuisine.
This book was, for me, a revelation - a complete lesson in cooking an entirely new cuisine. It has had me discovering not just new flavours, but beginning to explore aspects of texture and taste that I had never thought about before. If you have any interest in Chinese food, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sichuan Cookery, 10 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sichuan Cookery (Paperback)
The book has easy to follow recipes with ingredients that we have managed to get from our local Chinese supermarket. The results taste very authentic. The book is a real find and it is great to have Chinese food that isn't sweet and full of sodium glutamate! The addresses in the book for ingredients were not particularly helpful - not everyone who likes Chinese food lives in London!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sichuan Cookery
Sichuan Cookery by Fuchsia Dunlop (Paperback - 4 Dec 2003)
£14.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews