Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential guide to Manhattan, 22 April 2003
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
As first time visitors to New York (the boroughs of Manhattan and Brooklyn only), this map guide was indispensable, we took it everywhere. The level of detail it included was not matched by any other map we had in any guidebook. It clearly listed all major places to visit from obvious ones such as the Empire State Building to the less obvious such as Katz's Deli (it also listed some major hotels). It was invaluable for using public transport, showing all subway and bus routes. Its design and size meant it could be used in all weathers and did not need to be folded like conventional maps - and could just about fit into a large coat pocket. If you are planning to see New York on foot (and not on the top deck of a bright red sightseeing bus) then buy this book - and a good pair of walking shoes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Necessary!, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Karon Hackney-bourne (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
This little book was invaluable to our family. Saved us loads of time, enabling us to make the most of our trip to New York. Its small size was a bonus too - don't think we could have coped with a large 'fold out thing' on the city streets - it would soon have ended up in a bin! Cannot recommend this book highly enough - 'go buy it'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best brief mapguide of NY?, 15 Mar 2009
By 
My Spence (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
I bought this guide before heading to NY last year for apartment hunting, and think it is so good that I have now bought 3 more copies!! That way I can lend one to anyone visiting, & still keep my own copy. Based in the UK, with family in NY, means I need to find my way around, grasp the subway system etc, but I don't want a bulky book to cart around - this is the perfect one! Zagat tells me what I want, the map guide how to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New York Mapguide: The essential guide to manhattan, 13 Sep 2008
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
This map guide was by far the best purchase I made prior to my trip to NYC. The maps were concise, accurate and contained detail not found within any other guide book I had purchased - ie. bus routes and stores a little off the main tourist routes. It was also very useful for getting your bearings and finding your way around without looking too much like a tourist. Excellent value for money and a 'must have' for any traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Packing, 17 July 2008
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
As someone who has recently led a large party of teenagers around Manhattan, I cannot speak too highly of this guide. It is very practical and infromative and makes it easy to find your way around. Sites of interest are marked clearly and a short section at the front identifies points of interest. If you only take one guide to New York, I would recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 24 Jun 2009
By 
Tink "Tink" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
Excellent book with accurate maps and good, helpful general information including a formula to work out where a house number is located on a long street. Fantastic for the first time visitor but useful for every trip as so small and easy to carry around unlike the normal heavy guidebooks with their awkward fold out maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAP YOU NEED, 6 Oct 2011
By 
dexter (KENT,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
I HAD BOUGHT A NUMBER OF NEW YORK MAPS FROM AMAZON AFTER BOOKING A BREAK IN THE BIG APPLE .
THIS MAP WAS BY FAR THE BEST OF THE BUNCH.THE ONE THING YOU NEED WHEN YOUR ON THE MOVE
IN A BUSY CITY IS A MAP THATS SCALE IS EASY TO READ AND PLACES OF INTEREST AND MONUMENTS
ETC ARE EASILY IDENTIFIED,NAMED,AND PREFERABLY HIGHLIGHTED IN A DIFFERENT COLOUR.
THIS MAP DOES ALL THAT.BY THE WAY ,NEW YORK, ONE WORD, AWESOME!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map- new edition please!, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
I'm giving this 5 stars despite it being already slightly out of date.
(I appreciate it's hard to stay on top of things when it comes to constantly changing cities, so won't let this affect my judgement)

Fantastic, lightweight slim comprehensive book of maps of Manhattan- it covers a few other places in Brooklyn and the Bronx but not much. More maps of the the other boroughs would be great but then where to stop in order to keep it so lightweight?

Loved the maps, the little comments and author's notes- just enough info about the main attractions to help you decide whether they're worth visiting.

I also love the fact that this author has mapped the major cities of the world and St Albans- his hometown!

It's like having a friend show you round.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST, 13 Nov 2010
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
Am now on my third copy of this essential guide to Manhattan - the first just plain wore out and I donated my second copy to whomsoever got into the cab after me at Union Square!

This Mapguide combines concise but most informative useful visitor information with an excellent Street Guide showing many places of historic, entertainment, culinary, cultural, accommodation and leisure interest, which converts getting about this initially frenetic and bewildering island, into a fairly simple and rewarding experience.

Sure there are other guides that give far more detail on all of the attractions than does this guide but at the cost of bulk and weight which is not the most conducive to the ease of exploring the delights of the greatest city on earth. Walt Whitman is credited with saying that New York is perhaps the world's great thoroughfare. The Mapguide is ideal to 'steer' you around this most wonderful, fascinating and rumbustious megalopolis.

Get two guides and leave the bigger one in your accommodation for reference purposes, using The New York Mapguide to take with you out onto the streets of Manhattan, stuffed in a pocket or bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going to New York? You HAVE to buy this guide, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan (Paperback)
No doubt about this, you have to buy this guide.

Forget the fold out maps with no detail on them - this is like a A-to-Z map book you have for your home town, only better!
No more standing on street corners holding onto a massive map, this book is A5 sized with all the details you will ever need. Every single street appears as does virtually every place of interest, hotel, metro stops etc etc.

I can't sing high enough praises for this guide...BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan
The New York Mapguide: The Essential Guide to Manhattan by Michael Middleditch (Paperback - 25 May 2000)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews