Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of a book!!
Where to begin.... from the moment i picked up this book i was glued and could not put it back down!! Each page told a different story of the lives of these police officers, prepared to put their lives on the line to make our world a safer place. The risks involved in their jobs were paramount and this is clearly reflected in this book. The twists and turns in each...
Published on 8 Oct. 2004

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - But definitely not the greatest read ever...
This book was OK as it goes, the abstract implies that this will be a juicy story to get your teeth into, however, it's more a series of short stories alternating between the two SO10 officers that the book is following. They then meet on a case and things go horribly wrong. It's not until this point that you can really get stuck into the book, the first half of the...
Published on 17 Jan. 2003 by kazmira


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of a book!!, 8 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
Where to begin.... from the moment i picked up this book i was glued and could not put it back down!! Each page told a different story of the lives of these police officers, prepared to put their lives on the line to make our world a safer place. The risks involved in their jobs were paramount and this is clearly reflected in this book. The twists and turns in each individual chapter allow this book to come to a climax ending, where i was on the edge of my seat to see the fate of these two officers! An amazing book, i would recommend this read to anyone!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye opener in to the lifes of under covers, 11 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
I always searched for a book which I couldn't put down and this was definitely the one which I had in-vainly been searching for. The book concentrates on two under police officers and there in depth techniques for infiltrating what could be one of the most vicious precautions drug dealers in London to a very scared women with a ploy to kill her once loving husband. This is a real grit your teeth book and by no means filled with any Hollywood type antics. Its very much in your face and shows what can go wrong when you are stuck in the middle of police politics and a gang full of yardies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday Read, 30 July 2007
By 
R. Palmer "Papa-p" (UK & France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
I loved this book, just fast paced enough to keep you wanting more and just detailed enough to show that these guys really lived the stories that they're telling. I liked the way that the two threads slowly converged to the final climax and thought that Philip and Martin did a great job of entertaining and informing. Well done guys, for the book but mostly for the service that you gave to all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Infiltrators, 3 Nov. 2007
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
The first page in this book caught my attention immediately. It's written in a manner that takes you straight into the officers heads, and it's hard not to feel the stress, panic and excitement that they feel no matter what side of the thought track you lie on. If you're looking for an over-the-top cops and robbers shoot-em-up don't get this book. However if you want an insight into the realities of how undercover work happens then you have to get this. I loved the fact that some of the roads and locations in London are ones that I know or have heard of, and this is what makes it real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 29 May 2014
Make no mistake about it, undercover policing (UC) is the most dangerous police-work - anywhere. The men and women who undertake this perilous work inevitably find themselves in situations where they’re cut-off, completely on their own without any kind of communication and where there’s no back-up. Quite simply, they’re the bravest of the brave.

Two such officers - Philip and Martin - have their stories told in this very cleverly cobbled together book by Tony Thompson. Individual tales of UC are recounted and in so doing, criticism is quite properly levelled at the senior officers who make some incredibly stupid decisions - and bringing in Jamaican Yardies in the hope that they might infiltrate British gangs and pass on information to the police, when in fact they run amok and carry out their own appalling crimes - is just one of them.

But when the lives of Philip and Martin are well and truly put on the line during an operation involving a highly dangerous gang of drugs dealers in Birmingham, thanks to some ill-thought out decisions by some very ill-informed senior officers, it makes gripping reading. You may agree with me that the treatment meted out to them thereafter by the authorities was shabby, to say the very least.

I’ve always admired UC operatives; this book was given to me by a friend who told me he thoroughly enjoyed it. He was, by the way, one of the Yard's top UC men - his recommendation speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads like 'The Bill' anthology but more interesting, 16 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
As a clueless student nearing graduation, my kneejerk response when finishing this book was 'I want to be a police officer!'. following two officers, this book explores the much darker side of undercover police work. fortunately this book does not fall into the trap of being too voyeuristic but a balanced and thoughtful account of both the highs and lows such work entails. The book is thoroughly engaging and should not be picked up unless you have enough spare time to read it cover-to-cover there and then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true side of policing today, 7 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
If you have a genuine interest in policing then this is a book for you. A shocking and sometimes hard hitting view of the real hard side of fighting crime that we ask of the police today. If you have read Steve Collins books and enjoyied them then you should love this. These officers nearly ended up paying the ultimate price doing their job and we should all thank our lucky stars that we have people out there prepared to do this job - after reading it would you ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copper load of this, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
Hello Hello hello..this book is far from your dixon of dock green. Fast paced and exciting. I found it difficult to put down and almost turned to a prune finshing it in the bath. You get drawn into the guys lives and the job & what an ending. Don't want to give anything away so get yourself a copy. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing real life thriller, 15 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
From the first page i was hooked. It starts off with there training and then goes off to describe what ops they were on. You get an amazing picture of what happens in the underworld and myths are dispelled.They go into great detail about happens on each operation. Easily one of the best books i have read in a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 July 2012
This review is from: The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit (Paperback)
Very gripping from start to finish. Great insight into a world of an undercover police officer. Felt it was an honest account which at times was not always as glamorous as it may seem!

The book is contains a number of different tales of the authors experiences.
Would highly recommend... A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Infiltrators: The First Inside Account of Life Deep Undercover with Scotland Yard's Most Secret Unit
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews