Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely twist to a great book
Everyone thinks they know about Alice in Wonderland - my own 'knowledge' comes from years of obsessive viewing of the superlative Disney feature as a child - but this terrific little book will prove you wrong. There are enough notes in here to keep even the most apathetic reader pacified; and the book is designed in such a way that the notes aid the reader, rather than...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Particular Press

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, dreadful production
I bought this as a replacement for a copy which, like so many others, got lent to a friend and never got returned. I was very disappointed when it arrived. My old copy was about 3 cm thick. This version was half that thickness. I soon found why. The text of "Alice" was very small, the print of the annotations in the margins, which is the reason for buying the book in the...
Published on 26 Jun 2010 by Will


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely twist to a great book, 1 April 2003
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
Everyone thinks they know about Alice in Wonderland - my own 'knowledge' comes from years of obsessive viewing of the superlative Disney feature as a child - but this terrific little book will prove you wrong. There are enough notes in here to keep even the most apathetic reader pacified; and the book is designed in such a way that the notes aid the reader, rather than becoming a constant pain. Presented alongside the text (reproduced with original Tenniel drawings of the characters) the notes are immediate and gripping, and whether you are studying this book or merely reading it for pleasure, i can thoroughly reccommend this edition. Well worth your money and your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice: wealth of academic wit revealed., 29 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This is Martin Gardner's classic edition of Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland and Alice through the Looking-Glass, annotated to explain, for the modern reader, the wealth of hidden references in the books: mathematics, chess, logic, Victorian politics, the original poems Carroll parodied, and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource, 28 Aug 2009
By 
J. Fraser (UK North East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
This text is extremely useful. I bought it to aid my teaching of A Level Language and Literature spec B, ELLB2. Whilst the annotations are not strictly relevant to the course objectives they will certainly help to broaden students understanding of Carroll, his influences, his intended audience and the social context of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reveals that the Alice stories are not just meandering surreal tales..., 14 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
The only problem with this book is that the footnotes (which are placed in the margins of the book) are in very small print, which makes them hard to read. Everything else about the book is great - Carroll's Alice stories are as entertaining and readable now as they must have been over a hundred years ago. The notes help to reveal the complexity and subtlety underlying what on the surface appears to simply be a surreal meandering tale. I very much enjoyed revisiting a story that I appreciated as a child, to discover that it was extremely clever and well-constructed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, dreadful production, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
I bought this as a replacement for a copy which, like so many others, got lent to a friend and never got returned. I was very disappointed when it arrived. My old copy was about 3 cm thick. This version was half that thickness. I soon found why. The text of "Alice" was very small, the print of the annotations in the margins, which is the reason for buying the book in the first place, is so tiny I find difficulty in reading it, even with my brand new glasses from Specsavers. This, far from being "the definitive edition" as is claimed on the cover, is a cheaply produced version whose only merit is that it saves a tree at the expense of becoming virtually useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Annotated Alice - Definitive, 17 July 2011
By 
Robert Bannister "RobB" (Perth, WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book: the whole of Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, plus omitted parts and lots of wide-ranging notes - in fact, so wide-ranging, that sometimes you wonder whether Mr Gardner hasn't lost the plot entirely. The one, but rather major fault in notes on English novels, is that he does not seem to have much clue about British English or customs. For example, he thinks Guy Fawkes Day is a holiday, and he frequently tells me that an expression "was used" in Victorian Britain when it is still in common use today, or contrariwise that another expression is still used in England today, when it is only used in a few, limited regions.

I would still recommend this edition, but don't take it for gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 27 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
If you like Lewis Carroll, then you will absolutely adore "The Annotated Alice". Nearly everything - poem, nuance, riddle, illustration - is explained in detail, and the only possible disappointment that could be highlighted is that it does not contain a rendering of the original manuscript and illustrations used by Carroll for the original private edition "Alice's Adventures Underground". Yet that query only came about after having noticed that the Penguin Classics edition contained it, and that does not stop me from saying that THIS is the edition of "Alice in Wonderland" to get. Whether you are a student, an academic or an amateur enthusiast, I am certain that you will find a great deal of interest within "The Annotated Alice".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, Of Course, 20 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
I believe any comment on the stories themselves to be superfluous (they are world classics, childhood distilled and caught in amber forever) and it goes without saying that Martin Gardner's footnotes only enhance the pleasure to be found here. The product description and the other reviews here say it all... I only wished to note that for the completist who really wishes to know Carroll's work inside out (are we fanatics? Perhaps, perhaps) then the Penguin Classics centenary edition prepared by Hugh Haughton (with lengthy introduction and even more extensive annotations then found here) is an absolute must and complements this edition perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Annotated Alice: The Definitive Edition [Alexander Stevenson], 17 Jan 2013
By 
Alexander Stevenson (Kassel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Paperback)
This edition may answer all the questions you may have had about the "Alice" books as well as providing answers to questions you didn't even know you had. Martin Gardner's extremely detailed footnoting informs the reader about the background to the humor of the time in which Lewis Carroll lived and wrote. In addition, Gardner sheds light on the various controversies surrounding the books as well as Carroll's relationship with the young girl who was the real-life inspiration for the "Alice" figure- Carroll's muse, so to speak. Oddly, one would think that all the foot-notes would make reading this edition a rather plodding or cumbersome affair. My experience was just the opposite. Exactly the foot-notes make the reader want to read further, if only to discover the next secret revealed. One doesn't just enjoy this book as a modern reader, one comes as close as I think one can in experiencing the joy of the first readers of the books from the time of Lewis Carroll. You won't be disappointed. Alexander Stevenson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only the foreground material, but also a full background, 16 July 2000
Not only the Lewis Carroll work (with original Tenniel illustrations), but also an entertaining and erudite set of background notes to add to the enjoyment. Recommended for anyone who wishes to know more about things they'd never even have dreamed of (except, of course, in Wonderland or on the other side of the Looking Glass).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews