Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to sociolinguistics, 15 Dec 2002
By 
Kelly P. Vincent (State College, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to a fascinating and budding field. Sociolinguistics is basically the study of how language interacts with society, and how it varies within and between societies. It is perhaps the more modern version of dialectology, though dialectology is still around, and Trudgill has written several other books in that field. But he fully understands the differences, and his dual expertise makes some sections of the book more interesting.
This book is one of the most readable academic books that you could pick up, especially in linguistics. Trudgill introduces sociolinguistics in ten chapters which each focus on the way language is related to certain other generally social factors. These include social class, ethnic group, sex, context, nation and five others. Trudgill is British, and therefore many of his examples have to do with Britain: the variation of English and the Celtic languages. He does not neglect looking at other Englishes, however, and this will be a definite advantage for the reader in Britain. However, other readers will not suffer, as his examples are clearly explained. Besides English and the Celtic languages of the British Isles, he also discusses countless other languages, raising interesting points and illustrating them with nice examples.
If you read this book, you will soon become an expert in basic sociolinguistics. You will find yourself using many of these examples in conversation, almost feeling that they were your own. It's a great way to get started learning about the field, and it is accessible to those already in linguistics as well as the casual reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society (Paperback)
Very concise and covered literally everything that I needed to reference for my degree in English Language. An essential purchase and I would recommend it to anyone studying in the field of Sociolinguistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society (Paperback)
I'm a linguistics students and I wanted to know more about sociolinguistics as I don't have it in my courses. The book is very explanatory and easy to read. You don't need background knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Introductory text, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society (Paperback)
This book was an excellent introduction to the study of sociolinguistics and helped me on the way to a 1st in my university module. I would definatly suggest this book to others as it gives a broad spectrum of the sections covered. Arrived promptly and in great condition. Very happy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction To Sociolinguistics., 7 Sep 2000
By 
Wang, Chao-Hong (Hualien Taiwan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very good intro to this broad field of study. Trudgill makes the topic interesting, as he uses a wide range of examples to illustrate some of the main areas of Sociolinguistics.
Language and its usage effects the lives of everyone. If you want to see through the typical nonsence that people talk on the subject, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars University Book List so necessary to read for degree, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society (Paperback)
University Book List so necessary to read for degree. A necessary read for all students wishing to complete a BA in English Language Teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society (Paperback)
This is a value for money product.
Delivered on time and fit for purpose.
Thanks for keeping your words.

Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society
Sociolinguistics: An Introduction to Language and Society by Peter Trudgill (Paperback - 3 Aug 2000)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews