Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one who throws the gladioli.
Who is it who alleges that she is the one who advises the wife of the President of the USA on how to help her husband finish his sentences? Who is it who actually, within Buckingham Palace, recently welcomed to a worldwide audience of millions its incumbent for the past fifty years, Queen Elizabeth the Second, as "the Birthday Girl"? If you know that this famous...
Published on 27 Jan 2003 by John Austin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting
I haven't finished the book yet, but I enjoyed Barry Humphries' interviews on Desert Island Discs and recently saw his 'Eat, Pray, Love' tour...I'm a bit nosey so thought reading this would give an insight into the man. He is an incredibly articulate writer, definitely the antiquarian and I imagine he fitted well into the family of a classic poet. I love that he was a...
Published 9 months ago by Treaksgoespop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one who throws the gladioli., 27 Jan 2003
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Who is it who alleges that she is the one who advises the wife of the President of the USA on how to help her husband finish his sentences? Who is it who actually, within Buckingham Palace, recently welcomed to a worldwide audience of millions its incumbent for the past fifty years, Queen Elizabeth the Second, as "the Birthday Girl"? If you know that this famous megastar is Dame Edna Everage, you will welcome the news that Edna's creator, Barry Humphries, has recently produced a memoir. An earlier memoir, entitled "More Please" won prizes and general admiration in 1993. This one, entitled "My Life As Me", is in the word of the author "a parallel memoir". I also found parallels when I looked at the dust jacket cover. Barry Humphries looks remarkably like Dame Edna Everage who is looking over his shoulder.
As one who has frequently laughed endlessly at the jokes, squirmed at the effrontery and been staggered by the satire at one or other of his live shows, I should warn readers that they might experience a degree of discomfort while reading this memoir. The candor is sometimes more than daring. The author's failures are freely acknowledged and sometimes analyzed mercilessly. Unlike Dame Edna, however, he is surprisingly generous and charitable in his comments about other people.
Behind all the facades is someone everyone can recognize, someone with a life-long concern about how he was perceived and treated by his parents and someone with an on-going concern about his own sons and daughters.
Everything uttered and written by Barry Humphries is worth attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From stiffled suburbanite to surrealist superstar, 13 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. Adrian R. Fry "adrianfry" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Barry Humphries here combines his artists eye for telling detail with a gift for fastidiously witty prose to produce a book of memoirs several cuts above average. Many themes from his earlier autobiographical volume 'More Please' are revisited, particularly the stiffling suburban Melbourne of his boyhood and the heady decade of boozy theatrical adventures in the London of the 1960s. What makes Humphries so much more interesting than his fellow comedians is the contradiction between his private personality - he is an obsessive collector and wilfully obscurantist extoller of fin de siecle art and literature - and his public performances. From his Dada days to the Dame Edna shows of the present, there is always a whiff of sulphur about the work of Barry Humphries, as if he were somehow visiting vengence on the world in which he grew up. With its wealth of deftly told anecdotes, pithy pen portraits and faint undertow of melancholy, this is a book I would recommend to anyone with even a passing interest in Humphries or his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gently, funny, fascinating., 24 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Life as Me: A Memoir (Paperback)
A gentle memoir of this hugely intelligent star, whom most people will recognise as Dame Edna or maybe the more grotesque Sir Les Patterson! But if you don't know his other work, then you will find this book even more eye-opening.
Fascinating, eloquant and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Life as Me: A Memoir (Paperback)
I haven't finished the book yet, but I enjoyed Barry Humphries' interviews on Desert Island Discs and recently saw his 'Eat, Pray, Love' tour...I'm a bit nosey so thought reading this would give an insight into the man. He is an incredibly articulate writer, definitely the antiquarian and I imagine he fitted well into the family of a classic poet. I love that he was a bit of a snob as I child - I can identify with that completely. I look forward to completing the book. The world is a better place for having Barry Humphries in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Book to read and re-read, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: My Life as Me: A Memoir (Paperback)
Well worth reading and re-reading.
Cleverly written with lots of wit and a lot of names dropped.
At the same time quite touching ways of looking back over his life, an unsual mixture,right to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
By 
M. Richardson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reading this book. Barry Humphries is a very talented chap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Life as Me: A Memoir
My Life as Me: A Memoir by Barry Humphries (Paperback - 3 May 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews