Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most satisfactory sir...
Was there ever an author who created such a stunning array of characters as P.G Wodehouse. In this one of Betram Wooster's finest outings, not only do we have Bertie and Jeeves. We also have Gussie Fink Nottle, Aunt Dahlia, Tuppy Glossop and of course Madeline Bassett. It's a shame that Bingo Little couldn't make it, but you can't have it all.
Ah what's that, I'm...
Published on 31 July 2002 by Mr. Robert Kelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, sloppy edition
Can't fault the book, but this is a pretty sloppy edition: quite a number of words mysteriously abbreviated, some sentences I suspect incomplete. In most cases you can guess what should be there.

For some, these flaws might be worth the extremely low price; aficionados and sticklers for accuracy should probably shell out bit extra for better edition.
Published 2 months ago by troup


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most satisfactory sir..., 31 July 2002
By 
Mr. Robert Kelly "robert_kelly" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Right Ho, Jeeves (Paperback)
Was there ever an author who created such a stunning array of characters as P.G Wodehouse. In this one of Betram Wooster's finest outings, not only do we have Bertie and Jeeves. We also have Gussie Fink Nottle, Aunt Dahlia, Tuppy Glossop and of course Madeline Bassett. It's a shame that Bingo Little couldn't make it, but you can't have it all.
Ah what's that, I'm straying from the plot...thank you Jeeves, I'll attend to that immediately. The story revolves around Gussie Fink Nottles attempts to woo Madeline. They appear to made for each other. Gussie is an old school friend of Bertie's who now spends his time raising newts in his substantial country pile. Madeline is possibly the world's biggest drip who believes that the stars are God's daisy chain. The book revolves around Bertie, with Jeeves's help machinations to bring the two love birds together. This is complicated by Madeline's belief that is in fact Bertie who loves her.
A hilarious romp from beginning to end, this is one of Wodehouse's finest and remains a joy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Side-Splitting, 22 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Right Ho, Jeeves (Paperback)
Wodehouse delivers his usual cocktail of fun and frolics in this, the cream of the Wooster collection. Jeeves takes an instant dislike to a rather natty jacket, leaving the atmos. not a little chilly, with Bertie deciding to solve his own - and others - problems. However, as always, it is up to Jeeves to extrapolate Bertie from his self-inflicted mess. Features Madeline the-stars-are-gods-daisy-chain Basset, and Gussie Fink-Nottle in a pretty frightful pair of scarlet tights. A scream from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master at work, 23 July 2012
So off we go to Brinkley Court for more high japes and adventures. Along the way hearts will be sundered, friendships forged in childhood will be momentarily broken and mentally negligible young men will make complete fools out of themselves. If you're already aware of the books but can't quite determine which one this is (after all, they do share very similar plots), then this is the episode with Gussie Fink-Nottle dressed as the devil and Bertie making an eighteen mile round trip on an old bicycle to rescue a key which was in Jeeves's pocket all along.

The interesting thing with these stories is how Wodehouse gets around the Superman problem. Of course the main flaw with any Superman story is that he is so much more powerful than anyone else; so invulnerable to attack, that every villain on the planet has to get access to kryptonite to make a dent on him. (Now, one would think that was a rare substance, but no, it seems to be as freely available to the criminal classes as lock-picks.) Wodehouse faces a same issue. Given how smart and assured Jeeves is, given that the man never makes a mistake - how does one eke out a novel worth of material with a central protagonist who can just step in and save the day in an instant? Well the answer is of course young Bertie Wooster. By creating tension between the young master and his valet, by letting Bertie get the idea that Jeeves has somehow lost it, we are treated to over two hundred pages of hilarious thrills and spills as Wooster's advice causes calamity and disaster at every turn. (It would be like a missing Conan Doyle novel, where Watson tells Holmes he's gone off his chump and starts to investigate the murders himself). Of course Jeeves will inevitably step in and save everything at the end, but even when all is resolved it's clearly just at pause until the next set of incredible and hilarious confusions begins.

Comic writing at its absolute best. The Master strikes again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wodehouse, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the very best Jeeves and Wooster books. I prefer the full, one-story books to the story-a-chapter books, and this one excels. Bertie decides to take over from Jeeves in resolving his friend's love issues, and only succeeds in causing mayhem everywhere, including getting everyone engaged to the wrong people! As always it falls to Jeeves to sort everything right and restore harmony, but on the way to doing so there is so much brilliant writing that you really do not want the book to end. Classic Wodehouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection., 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite Wodehouse books, everything about it is just about perfect. I first read this book 30 odd years ago and just howled with laughter, since then I've lost count of the number of times I've read it and it's never failed to cheer me up. It's not just that it is hilariously funny in places but it's also beautifully written. Buy this book! At 49p it would a crime not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, sloppy edition, 1 Jan. 2015
Can't fault the book, but this is a pretty sloppy edition: quite a number of words mysteriously abbreviated, some sentences I suspect incomplete. In most cases you can guess what should be there.

For some, these flaws might be worth the extremely low price; aficionados and sticklers for accuracy should probably shell out bit extra for better edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, what ho!, 3 Aug. 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Right Ho, Jeeves (Paperback)
If there's one thing Bertie Wooster should never do, it's make elaborate plans to bring estranged lovebirds back together.

And he demonstrates just why in the second full-length Jeeves novel, a screwball disaster saga that sees Bertie confidently trying to fix people's lives. Of course, things go horribly wrong, and Wodehouse's arch, nutty look at what happens next is an absolute gem.

When Aunt Dahlia summons him to Brinkley Court for a prizegiving, Bertie sends his newt-fancying friend Gussie instead -- especially since Gussie is enamoured of a girl staying there, the soppy Madeleine Bassett. But when Bertie hears that his cousin Angela has broken off her engagement to Tuppy Glossop -- and his aunt is in need of money -- he rushes down to assist all his relatives and pals by advising them to feign such sorrow that they're unable to eat.

Unfortunately his plan falls through, and they manages to enrage the cook Anatole to the point where he storms out. Even worse, the prize-giving is a disaster and the wrong people end up engaged -- and pursued by homicidally angry exes. Only Jeeves' formidable brain can somehow save the day -- and Bertie's behind.

P.G. Wodehouse made a pretty good living off of spoofing the upper crust of England, and the subtlely intlligent servants who bail them out. "Right Ho Jeeves" is a prime example of his writing -- some small mistakes rapidly balloon out into a crazy tangled mess, which only an intelligent manservant can rescue Bertie from.

Much of the book's charm comes from its complex plot and series of disasters (such as Tuppy's homicidal rampage). And as usual, poor Bertie finds himself the object of young ladies' affections -- in this case, the appallingly goofy Madeleine thinks he's madly in love with her, when she's not rambling about fairies and bunnies. If there's a flaw, it's that Jeeves' final solution is a bit limp.

But Wodehouse's writing is what really makes the book timeless. It's arch and wry, whether he's describing basic actions ("He leaped like a lamb in springtime"), or goofy dialogue ("But if you were a male newt, Madeline Bassett wouldn't look at you. Not with the eye of love, I mean").

Jeeves and Bertie are the perfect comic team -- Bertie is proud, goofy, and not terribly bright, while the quiet Jeeves is a towering intellect with wry wit. And they're backed by a colourful, small cast of nutty aristocrats, schoolboys, sharp-tongued aunts and cousins, newt-fancying fish-faced men, and a girl who talks about how "every time a fairy sheds a tear, a wee bitty star is born." Yech.

"Right Ho Jeeves" is a hilarious, tangled farce of love, money, jealousy, dinner jackets and the mating rituals of newts. Absolutely priceless, from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
Cole Davis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I started this and heard Wooster and Jeeves bickering about an item of clothing (in this case a jacket), I thought that this would prove to be rather formulaic. And indeed there were the usual love tanglements, disentanglements and misunderstandings. But the quality of the language and humour was laugh-out-loud cracking and there was innovation here. Wooster spends his time through most of the book being consultant problem-solver, Jeeves seemingly off-form. This leads to some hilarious effects, including the world-weary diplomacy of Jeeves' responses and the eventual return of the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Ho, Jeeves, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Les (Oost-Souburg, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Avid fan as I am, and as far as I know owner of all the P.G. Wodehouse books, on surfing amazon, I saw they now have audio CDs/DVDs of Jeeves. You might think, it ridiculous to want an audio copy too. But I hasten to say .... Richard Briers is the personification of Bertram Wooster !!! So I splurged a little :-))))- and bought 3 so far. I think Richard Briers would be a hard act to follow, a lovely, lovely gentleman. Followed much of his work on TV, so I'm a real fan of Richard too.
Just the right note, wonderful humour, great purchase !! I hope to find more !!
kind regards L.B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Anatole's cooking, 13 Sept. 2011
Bertie is drawn down to Brinkley Court to help Aunt Dahlia secure £500 from Uncle Tom to keep her lady's magazine afloat, as well as to assist Gussie Fink-Nottle woo Madeleine Bassett, and to heal the rift between Tuppy Glossop and Angela Travers. Of course, Bertie's schemes prove to be a disaster and, with Anatole the cook handing in his notice, only Jeeves can save the day. Containing some of the funniest Jeeves & Wooster stories, "Right Ho, Jeeves" is a gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Right Ho, Jeeves
Right Ho, Jeeves by P. G. Wodehouse (Paperback - 27 May 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews