Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Hole
This is the book that started it all, the meeting of Bertie and Jeeves and I for one can't be thankful enough that it happened. These characters enrich my life like no one else can. Brilliantly funny and life affirming. Hooray!
Published on 31 Dec. 2000 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The language is sometimes amusing but I quickly became bored.
A series of short stories, each of which has an almost identical starting point, development and outcome. The language is sometimes amusing but I quickly became bored.
Published 1 month ago by David Dalton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Hole, 31 Dec. 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carry on, Jeeves (Paperback)
This is the book that started it all, the meeting of Bertie and Jeeves and I for one can't be thankful enough that it happened. These characters enrich my life like no one else can. Brilliantly funny and life affirming. Hooray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious. . . . ., 4 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Carry on, Jeeves (Paperback)
If you haven't read a Jeeves & Wooster book before, this is the perfect place to begin. Jeeves enters Bertie's life and immediately turns it around. Wodehouse is the greatest master of prose in the English language and he uses metaphors and similies to superb comic effect. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest writer ever to wield a pen., 16 Feb. 2012
By 
Clady Lad (Home Counties) - See all my reviews
There have been many excellent comic writers throughout the ages, but surely there has never been one as good as P G Wodehouse. With a canon of work stretching back now over 100 years he is almost unrivalled in his output, and has produced some of the funniest passages of prose ever committed to paper.

If you like your humour edgy, gritty and hard-hitting then you've come to the wrong place. There's not so much as one thing in any of his books that you wouldn't be happy to trot out in front of your most straight-laced maiden aunt. He never once relies on the slightest hint of crudeness, but instead revels in the richness of the English language to get his laughs and there's never so much as one word in his prose that's surplus to requirement, or indeed a passage approaching anything less than perfect in its pace or construction. It's as if his work was edited by some sort of super human deity. There is nothing jarring or awkward; just fabulous comic writing page after page, time and time again.

His command of the perfect sentence is second to none and his light touch is just peerless. He can deliver the most barbed comment and make it sound like the most pleasant of compliments. Wodehouse's work is nothing short of true genius; if I may use that most horrible of overused expressions.

I first read this particular book 35+ years ago as a mere stripling myself, and have read and reread it over and over so may times since. I don't think that in all of those encounters I have ever read it and not found some new additional little gem between its pages that I had somehow managed to miss on previous readings.

Wodehouse is pure farce in its most distilled form, and even if you're feeling like everything's become too much and the prospect of leaping off a cliff beckons as a viable way forward, then just start reading this and you'll banish all such thoughts within the first two pages. There are some truly brilliant short stories here, without even the hint of a dud anywhere to be found; one of particular note, where unusually the narrator is Jeeves and not Wooster, is 'Bertie Changes His Mind'. It is simply wonderful in its execution and the section where Bertie has to address the school assembly of young ladies is, for me, priceless. I can't think of a funnier three pages in any book anywhere.

If you haven't read Wodehouse before then do yourself a favour; start here and work your way through Jeeves and Wooster. But then don't just stop after that, read the Blandings saga, Psmith, Mr Mulliner and his hilarious golf stories too. Then there are the standalone one-offs to explore. I believe there are almost 100 books one way or the other and I have never found a turkey in among them. I think I've read practically everything he's written in book form, and with a bit of luck and a following wind I certainly intend to do so again and often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What ho!, 5 Nov. 2009
By 
J. Sutton (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I used to love Fry and Laurie in ITV's series Jeeves and Wooster but had never read any of the books before. I'm not usually a fan of short stories and I didn't realise that rather than being one story, it was going to be a series of adventures which aren't really linked, although there are references to other adventures in some of them, but that didn't matter a jot! It's rather formulaic writing ... but that didn't matter a jot!

Of course, having loved the TV series I was unable to read this without picturing Fry and Laurie but... you've guessed it... that didn't matter a jot either, and the stories made me laugh out loud in places.

There are 10 mini-adventures in total in this book. Number 10 was unique in this collection in that it is told from Jeeves' perspective instead of Bertie's which came as a nice surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cove of rare intelligence, 5 May 2011
By 
Gs-trentham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The "cove of rare intelligence" is, of course, the eponymous Jeeves. In the last of the stories in this collection he takes over from Bertie Wooster as narrator, permitting himself to observe that his personal motto is "Tact and Resource." If not before, the reader will have discovered just how resourceful Jeeves can be.

The stories are formulaic, often featuring some frightful dilemma that has befallen one of Bertie's friends, and frequently overshadowed by a battle axe of an aunt or an uncle about to cut off the money supply. While restraining the worst excesses of his employer's taste in suits and ties, this epitome of a gentleman's gentleman can always contrive a solution.

Coincidence plays a recurring part but what matter? The joy of Wodehouse is that in Bertie and his manservant he has created two characters who will live long in the English language. Carry On, Jeeves, after all, was first published nearly ninety years ago. Superficially, the stories may appear no more than amusing trifles but the world the author creates so apparently effortlessly is real enough within the conventions of its creator. The pleasure, the unfailing pleasure of revisiting this world again and again, is ours.

Hopefully, there are generations out there who come to these stories unsuspecting the joy that lies ahead. Old hands will return with gratitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't we all need a Jeeves?, 5 Sept. 2006
Or those of us who are constantly tumbling into tricky situations and who therefore require repeated extraction from a variety of snaggles, by our own faithful, gentle and uncritical expert, need a Jeeves. Bertie Wooster is a lucky lucky man and it's little wonder that his friends, rivals and other 'low blighters' sometimes try to steal Jeeves away. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's man - it says so in the rules somewhere, doesn't it? In fairness to Wooster, he doesn't keep his treasure all to himself, but allows his predicament-prone friends to benefit from the problem solving genius of his man. He's such a decent chap. Listen to Martin Jarvis reading these 7 sprightly adventures of Jeeves and Wooster and you'll see what I mean. The 7 stories are:

1) "Jeeves Takes Charge", where Jeeves first enters Bertie's employ and makes himself indispensable almost immediately.

2) "Jeeves & the Unbidden Guest", where Bertie is constrained to accommodate the peculiar son of a friend of his bossy aunt Agatha, in his New York apartment.

3) "The Artistic Career of Corky", where Bertie, still happily exiled in New York, tries to help an artist friend to avoid being sucked into his uncle's jute business.

4) "The Aunt and the Sluggard", where (still yet in New York) Bertie's idle poet friend from Long Island has to be rescued from an energetic aunt.

5) "Clustering Round Young Bingo", where Bertie's aunt Dahlia and friend Bingo swap domestic staff by means of complicated, underhand jiggery-pokery.

6) "Jeeves & the Hard-boiled Egg", where (in New York again) one of Bertie's chum's is under pressure from his uncle and benefactor, the Duke of Chiswick.

7) "The Rummy Affair of Old Biffy", where poor old Biffy has carelessly lost the love of his life because he can't remember either her name or the name of her hotel.

Jeeves is the quiet and unassuming hero who saves Bertie and his pals from calamity every time. It's a box of gems. Martin Jarvis reads them better than well. There are 4 discs in the CD case and the reading time is about 5 hours. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good Jeeves, 20 Nov. 2008
By 
Chai (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
You can't go wrong with a good bit of Jeeves. I rarely laugh out loud at books, but P.G. Wodehouse has never failed me and Carry On, Jeeves is no exception.

This book is an excellent introduction to the Jeeves genre, since it features several short stories about the gentleman's personal gentleman, including the story in which he first appears on Bertram Wooster's doorstep. Jeeves quickly makes himself indispensible to the fun-loving man-about-town and the stories which follow see him extricate Bertie and his friends from numerous sticky situations.

The real joy of any Wodehouse book is the language: the dialogue zips along at a wonderful pace, scattering fantastic images and outrageous '20s slang as it goes. This comes to a halt, however, in the final story, which is narrated by Jeeves rather than Bertie. The story and the characters are as perfectly-formed as ever, but as I polished off the last few pages in the book I found myself missing Bertie's garrulous companionship. Far from ruining the book for me, though, the unexpected end simply whetted my appetite for more in this wonderful series. If there is still anyone out there who has yet to sample the delights of P.G. Wodehouse they should read this book immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So very, very funny, 28 Dec. 2011
By 
H. Fisher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my very first 'go' at a PG Wodehouse. Read the whole thing in one sitting (housework be damned!) and am now shopping for more. Absolutely loved it, so very, very funny but gentle in it's humour. Poking fun with a polite and small stick, rather than finding humour in humiliation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PG at his best, 21 April 2011
By 
Elizabeth-Anne (Mid Glamorgan S. Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Johnathan Cecil is a perfect reader for the Jeeves stories; this audio book comprises of 6 CDs the stories being
Jeeves Takes Charge where we and Bertie Wooster are first introduced to the almost super-human Jeeves
The Artistic Career of Corky; Jeeves and the Unbidden Guest; Jeeves and the Hard-Boiled Egg; The Aunt and the Sluggard; The Rummy Affair of Old Biffy; Without the Option; Fixing it for Freddie; Clustering Round Young Bingo and Bertie Changes His Mind.

I own all the Jeeves stories in book form, and would love to get them on audio CD; unfortunately this seems to be the only compilation obtainable on Amazon that is read by Cecil, who is excellent and captures the mood of the time exactly. I've noted that the other Jeeves stories are in the form of plays, starring Richard Briers as Bertie. I HATE Richard Briers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeeves takes charge..., 3 May 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't read any Wodehouse before, this is the perfect place to start. Bertie Wooster, a self-confessed chump, is an amiable but well-meaning fool who manages to get himself into the most absurd situations, whether it's stealing his fiancee's father's 'unspeakable' memoirs, or helping a pal to set up a chicken farm in New york (!). Only Jeeves, enigmatic, ever resourceful, and with impeccable taste in gentleman's clothes, is able - every time - to come up with the solution.

This is the first book of Bertie Wooster and Jeeves short stories and includes Jeeves' arrival into hapless Bertie's life. It has to be the ultimate feel-good read, outrageously funny and impeccably written. Packed full of characters like Florence with the wonderful profile, and Edwin the boyscout, not to mention Bertie's own hapless pals ever at the mercy of formidable aunts and rich uncles, this is gentle social satire and a very British type of humour. Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carry on, Jeeves
Carry on, Jeeves by P. G. Wodehouse (Paperback - 27 May 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews