Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest amusing account of life as a school inspector.
Being a teacher and having survived the dreaded OFSTED, I was drawn to read about the life of a school inspector in the hope that it would make them seem more human! Gervase Phinn writes with honesty and warmth abouth his experiences whilst working as an inspector in North Yorkshire.
At times I was laughing out loud at his tales. Phinn describes in detail the sort...
Published on 6 Jan. 2002 by svic@btinternet.com

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure
This is the second book in the Dales series (It goes 'The Other Side of the Dale', 'Over Hill and Dale', 'Head Over Heels in the Dale', 'Up and Down in the Dales' and 'The Heart of the Dales'). They tell the story of Gervase Phinn's school inspector days. This book is about his second year.

The book made me chuckle to myself but it wasn't quite as good as the...
Published on 23 July 2011 by The Little Bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful story from beginning to end. Gervase Phinn is a great writer, full of funny & witty tales. I cried with laughter at some of the anecdotes. Fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super read, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another super read -i am hooked will not be happy til read whole series.Gervais brings some life to characters particularly the childre in schools,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over Hill and Dale, 25 Sept. 2013
All books by Gervase Phinn are great reads. All parents and teachers will find this very amusing, poignant and true to life. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yorkshire story telling at its best, 8 May 2001
This was enjoyed by our entire family (8-40) years. Its beautiful portrayal of Yorkshire ways of life were truly lovely, funny and explicit! My children enjoyed listening to it to and from school. We are off to the Dales for our Holidays even if there is foot and mouth....we'll be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Yorkshire Humour, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again another cracking read from the maestro of the Yorkshire dialect and earthy humour. Wonderfully descriptive and engaging.A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over Hill and Dale, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Audio CD)
Another good read. Read these books a while ago and enjoyed them. Now purchased on Kindle for my husband who absolutely loves them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smile maker., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book full of laughs and characters. Also plenty of touches about life, love and all things magical.
Enjoy...
I Hume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The school inspector., 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
This book was lots of fun to read, and Gervase has a wonderful command of the English language. A great introduction to school life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Audio CD)
Bought this as I have enjoyed previous books by gervase phinn. I find his books really funny and would reccomend them to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very childishly written., 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't get past the first 2 chapters,didn't enjoy it at all!! My husband is reading it and likes it so perhaps it was just me ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over Hill and Dale
Over Hill and Dale by Gervase Phinn (Paperback - 24 Sept. 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews