Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �An Excellent Read through History � dramatised�
This is a script-based book of all the four Blackadder series', not including the newest Millennium edition. The presentation, layout, illustrations and 'the other bits' are very good, and also very funny. The book also links the four historical periods and tells us what happened to the main characters after each series ended. It has almost been turned into a...
Published on 29 July 2001 by Mr. James A. Church

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok.
Not really what I expected. It's just scripts from some episodes throughout all four series. I thought there would be at least some narrative & words from the cast in there somewhere. It's ok. Raises a smile.
Published 1 month ago by Mark Douglas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �An Excellent Read through History � dramatised�, 29 July 2001
By 
Mr. James A. Church (Berkshire, England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
This is a script-based book of all the four Blackadder series', not including the newest Millennium edition. The presentation, layout, illustrations and 'the other bits' are very good, and also very funny. The book also links the four historical periods and tells us what happened to the main characters after each series ended. It has almost been turned into a historically interesting novel, with the scripts woven in. There is also a cast list and synopsis for each series/play.
The appendix's, which can be found throughout the book, includes very funny accounts of instruments of torture, medieval medicines, the Mrs Miggins' Coffee House Tariff, Duties of... Clothes bills, Passage from Dr. Johnson's Dictionary, Baldrick's family tree, Baldrick's school, Index of Blackadder's finest insult etc...
For a Blackadder fan this surly is a must. It should be in every library and in every drama club! It's a lot of fun acting and there's so many to choose from - you'll never get bored! It's a jolly good read too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's what I called "Comedy" ! :), 26 April 2010
By 
Emre Adam (Istanbul, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
I've been watching the episodes through Internet and then started to look for the ways to buy the DVD's / CD's (i didnt know whether there are any exists) and the first thing i saw was this "dynasty" book and it took me just a few hours to read the whole scripts! :)

It was a great experience to read, feel and laugh the whole episodes and of course the lines of Edmund, Baldrick and Price Regent .

Just think... "To you, Baldrick, Renaissance was just something that happened to other people, wasn't it?"...

Gosh..what a funny line!! :)

I dont think that comedy world will meet anything/anyone like that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book - Laugh every time, 6 April 2003
By 
Thomas Edwards (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No matter which episode I read, or when I read it, I always find myself laughing out loud. People on the train give me strange looks when ever I start laughing to myself, until they see the front cover, then they smile.
It is, quite simply, the scripts. There isn't anything more to say about them other than it is a very good read. If you loved the programme you will not be disapointed if you bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless work, 28 May 2008
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
One of the best TV shows ever, with lines as funny as watching Celine Dion being tarred and feathered by music lovers. If you want to see how great comedy is scripted, or just want a laugh or an ideal toilet book, then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giving this the mental equivalent of a standing ovation!, 25 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
Throughout the annals of history one dynasty--a singular lineage of crossbred loons--has been at the fore of the British revival. This family bears the name of Blackadder, and they are doomed by heriditary curse to suffer being a git for all of eternity. We all know Edmund Blackadder and his loyalist village idiot Baldrick, as they clamber through the menacingly black Dark Ages, the silly fickleness of the Elizabethan times, surviving the insanity of being Regency peasantry, and finding themselves stuck in a squalid dug-out on the last platoon against an encroaching WWI German army, with nothing to protect themselves with but some unclean spoons and a dead homing pigeon. Some of Blackadder, as we all know, is so utterly hilarious that if it'd be any funnier, we might as well have our ribs removed. Chroniclers Richard Curtis, Ben Elton, Rowan Atkinson and John Lloyd have put together this plump alternative history to the days of yore: "Blackadder (1485-1917): The Whole Damn Dynasty." In it we see all 24 scripts in a superbly well-presented way, plus casting lists, scores of intricate illustrations and photographs, extensive introductions and prefaces, and heaps of extra bits, thingummies and wossnames. In it, you'll find what happened after "1066 and All That" in a satirically funny way, lampooning such works as Will Cuppy's "The Complete Fall and Decline of Practically Everybody". We see how medicinal condiments helped to heal medieval sicknesses (apply leeches, burn 'em off, saw the sore part off, etc.), and we even get a glance of one of the misappropriated pages of Dr Johnson's rare dictionary. Any Blackadder fan would be as happy as a Frenchman with a pair of self-removing trousers with this brilliant book which is as cunning as a fox who has just been made Professor of Cunning at Oxford University. All the proceeds go to the charity Comic Relief, and if it weren't enough by itself, there is an independent section featuring all of Blackadder's finest insults. After "The Black Adder", "Blackadder II", "Blackadder the Third" and "Blackadder Goes Forth", go and seek out the "Blackadder Back And Forth" video to complete your collection. And try and avoid fierce winds; faces with mile-wide smirks set in concrete look amusingly silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Cunning Book You Could Buy, 16 July 2000
By A Customer
His wit is sharper than a gothic spire, he's destined to spend the rest of his life surrounded by people with the intellects of particularly stupid mashed potato, and he's more cunning than an army of super-intelligent foxes with pHd's in cunning. He's Edmund Blackadder, and here, you can read the exploits of every Blackadder there ever was, for this is the Whole Damn Dynasty. O.k, so what do you need a collection of scripts for, when you can just rent/buy the video's? What about those bits of dialogue you could never understand because they were drowned out by laughter? This is especially annoying when it's a punchline. Now you can catch exactly what was said. Alternatively, you could do what my friend and I do - act out the scripts for fun, just for the sake of putting on those silly voices (Baaaah!). Well, it keeps us amused. Although the most recent episode Back And Forth is not contained here (the book came out first), it does contain other episodes you're less likely to find, like the hidden gem, The Cavalier Years. The final reason I can think of is that if you are inclined to collect Blackadder scripts, up until now, all that was available were fan's transcripts off the net - often full of mistakes, and omissions (they don't know what was being said under all that laughter either). So go forth and purchase the collected works of the Slimy Bastard Formerly Known As...The Black Vegetable. It's the most anticipated book since How To Know When You Need Glasses was published in extra-large print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical dynasty..., 9 Jan 2004
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
The authors Richard Curtis and Ben Elton are well known to BBC audiences for their comedic masterwork, having been severally and individually part of the Vicar of Dibley, Mr. Bean, The Young Ones, The Man from Auntie. Rowan Atkinson, the lead actor in this series, also collaborated as writer and actor in other features such as Mr. Bean and the Thin Blue Line. John Lloyd was the producer who helped bring this series to life.
The Blackadder series, begun in the 1980s, was a comedic masterpiece set forth by Rowan Atkinson and his comrades. From start to finish, the first series was a masterstroke of wit, irony and comedic styling that fits both the contemporary and medieval situations perfectly. The combination of slapstick and intellectual humour blended well, and the literary types will not miss the occasional credit of William Shakespeare as a collaborating writer on some episodes -- this might well be the kind of comedy Shakespeare would have produced today.
The first series was set in the pre-Tudor royal family, projecting that Richard III won at Bosworth Field, and Richard IV succeeded him, until after many adventures, the entire royal family was done in, and Henry Tudor reworte history thereafter. The first series starred Brian Blessed and Elspet Gray as the King and Queen, and Robert East as their eldest son, the Prince of Wales. Rowan Atkinson played the second son, who with companions Percy and Baldrick (Tim McInnerny and Tony Robinson) create most of the comic scenes. BlackAdder variously becomes the Archbishop of Canterbury, the betrothed of the Spanish Infanta, a witch on trial, and finally, however briefly, King of England.
The second series sees Percy and Baldrick following a descendent of Blackadder in Elizabethan times; as befits the period, the characters are more vibrant and saucy, particularly Blackadder, who still seeks his fortune as one of the Queen's suitors. Here he variously becomes the royal executioner, a sea-faring discoverer, a bankrupt noble, and finally a traitor to the crown, albeit not without a sense of humour. Miranda Richardson puts in a spectacular performance as Queen Elizabeth, with Stephen Fry and Patsy Byrne in attendance. Stephen Fry will recur throughout the series.
In the third series, Blackadder is still close to the crown, as the butler of the Prince Regent, a despised position to a despised person. Baldrick is still around, and the Prince is played by Hugh Laurie, who will recur in the final series. Done almost as a period comedy, the very titles and situations pay hommage to the day of the Scarlet Pimpernel, Dr. Johnson's dictionary, and the conflict with France. Through an interesting set of circumstances, butler and prince trade places, and the Blackadder finally becomes his intended goal, albeit in the name of someone else.
In the fourth and final series, Blackadder has fallen from a great height, and is an officer in the trenches of World War I. Baldrick is still there, and Percy and the Prince have transformed into fellow field officers, with Stephen Fry playing a bellicose general here as he did Wellington in the third series. The main device of this series is the effort by Blackadder to escape the trenches, by variously becoming an artist, a theatre producer, a chef, but to no avail finally, producing a sombre end to the dynasty.
The book is a fabulous companion piece to the series, as the BBC is known to do with television series of success. The six episodes of each of the four seasons is laid out in script-narrative form, with a generous collection of side offerings, such as the Blackadder family tree, the menu of Mrs. Miggins' pie shoppe, and other pieces of interest related to but not found in the actual series. The cast is included at the beginning of each series section. The book concludes with a partial collection of some of Blackadder's best insults.
This book was printed in aid of Comic Relief, who give a brief outline of their history of funding good causes in the last few pages.
This is a must-have for any Blackadder fan. Regretably, it does not contain the addition special features (such as the Victorian Christmas of Blackadder), but for any devotee of the series, this is a requirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - humour and history, 17 Feb 2004
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
The annals of Edmund Blackadder's life, along with his sidekick Baldrick, are collected in one volume in this collection. Disappointingly, none of the special episodes such as the excellent Blackadder Back and Forth are included, however, the scripts which are there are still well worth a look at.
In order to appreciate the book properly, I feel that a familiarity with the television version is required as it can, at times, take some effort to see the episodes translated into action. Similarly, a number of the jokes cannot be understood without seeing the brilliant acting of Rowan Atkinson, Tony Robinson, Tim McInnery etc.
The whole damn dynasty also has extras in it, and whilst these aren't as extensive as in some comedy series collections (especially Curtis' other effort in The Vicar of Dibley) but those which are included certainly add to the scripts.
The best part of the collection, other than the scripts themselves, is the introduction to each of the series, these are well written and fill in the blanks of Blackadder's history.
Recommende 100 per cent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
Not really what I expected. It's just scripts from some episodes throughout all four series. I thought there would be at least some narrative & words from the cast in there somewhere. It's ok. Raises a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 26 July 2013
By 
Patricia Burton "Tricia" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty (Paperback)
The book containing all scripts to Blackadder series? Couldn't imagine better present for my other half. He loved the idea of the gift and then giggled through the holiday reading it. Reading it out loud to each other was a great fun too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty
Blackadder: The Whole Damn Dynasty by Rowan Atkinson (Paperback - 4 Nov 1999)
14.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews