Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for those with a keen interest in China and its current development
This book comprises an extended and comprehensive overview of the ascendancy of the modern Chinese state and the impact that ascendancy will have for East Asia in particular, and the rest of the world in general - including the West. The discussion focuses attention on eight central themes. First, China is characteristically a civilisation-state rather than a...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Stuart E. Hopkins

versus
42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Again and Again
Martin Jacques was one of the great editors. He guided the affairs of the magazine Marxism Today, despite its outmoded name and having no money, and made it enormously influential. He would get prestigious commentators to write for him for next to nothing, and then argue their copy with them line by line, getting them to justify it to him.

This very long book...
Published on 30 Oct 2012 by Astolpho


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good !, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book is brilliant and exceptionally good insight in to what the future holds based on history, culture, economics and desire. I've not finished it yet so can't give 5 stars, in case the second half is rubbish, but to be fair it won't be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Cultural Stone Left Unturned!, 1 April 2010
By 
R. McCarthy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a very thorough cultural analysis of the potential effects of the rise of China's economic power and influence in the world. It was only after finishing the book that I realised how uninformed I had been about China and it's culture, despite having read numerous historical texts on the subject.

The book covers all the many facets that go to make China what it is today. The author strongest message is that China is not a nation state in the sense that we in the West understand that term, and he goes on to explain all it's potential ramifications. This point in particular makes for a fascinating read and hugely relevant, assuming the author is correct.

This book doesn't set out to be an investigation of the economics behind China's success but quite naturally and unavoidably touches on the subject regularly. I thought that the economic conclusions and predictions lacked the thoroughness of the author's general cultural analysis but this did not detract from the overall message.

Many of the other reviews mention that the book is very well written. I honestly didn't feel that way but that would not put me off recommending it as a very worthwhile read. On the subject of reviews; CW Bradbury's review of the book on the 9th September 2009 is well worth a read. He/she doesn't really review the book but expresses some brilliant views on this subject and writes them well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must: eye opening, mind broadening, 27 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book explains why China's modernisation will not mean westernisation, and prepare us for a time, already upon us in many ways, when the West will no longer be able to impose its values as universal.Thouroughly reserched and documented. TOP MARK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, easy to read and digest, 22 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Other reviewers have praised Martin Jacques research and thoughts, all I will add is I found the found the book fascinating, well researched but also very accessible to an ordinary reader like myself. I visit China every month and this book has opened my eyes to the how and the why of modern/traditional Chinese thinking.
I have just re-read the book and I'm even more impressed by the breath of coverage and insights, it will be a classic I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly boring, 1 May 2010
Confucianism still matters in China. The book takes 500 pages to tell you this over and over again. I am sorry I spent money on this book. While the message is correct, reading a short book on Confucianism tells you all you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to Know, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When China Rules The World: The End of the Western World and the Birth of a New Global Order (Paperback)
haven't had time to read this book yet but I heard Martin Jacques speaking on the radio and he is clearly very knowledgeable about China. In the current world economic climate we cannot ignore what is going on - even if it is on the other side of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 26 Nov 2009
This book is an excellent read and so well written,one just flies through it.
Great read and a good book to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars product as described but delivered slow, 12 Sep 2009
no problem on product at all but delivered much later than expected, although within the stated period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When China Rules The World: The End of the Western World and the Birth of a New Global Order
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews