Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for those with a keen interest in China and its current development
This book comprises an extended and comprehensive overview of the ascendancy of the modern Chinese state and the impact that ascendancy will have for East Asia in particular, and the rest of the world in general - including the West. The discussion focuses attention on eight central themes. First, China is characteristically a civilisation-state rather than a...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Stuart E. Hopkins

versus
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Again and Again
Martin Jacques was one of the great editors. He guided the affairs of the magazine Marxism Today, despite its outmoded name and having no money, and made it enormously influential. He would get prestigious commentators to write for him for next to nothing, and then argue their copy with them line by line, getting them to justify it to him.

This very long book...
Published 17 months ago by Astolpho


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Time to start learning Mandarin, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Davidicus (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A detailed, authoritative and persuasive account of the economics of emerging China. Having just visited the country for the first time I thought this was a "must read", and didn't regret it. It is a long book requiring commitment but, starting with the rise of is called "modernity" in the second half of the 18th century, it is an enlightening and rewarding read. I would recommend it to anyone with a serious interest in international current affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 8 Nov 2012
By 
MLAbrahams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fascinating - and clearly written too. I get the feeling from time to time that Mr.Jacques is not exactly fitting the facts to his theories but that facts which might lead to querying of his views are played down or glossed over. But that is just a reader trying to retain his critical faculty while devouring a completely new (to him) subject. There is nonetheless much to value in the book and the knowledge it imparts - and I'm only a quarter of the way through what is an epic read! Do try it yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When China Rules The World, 9 Sep 2009
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is my belief that future generations will look back on the 20'th Century wars in Europe the way we today look back on the Peloponnesian War fought by the ancient Greeks. An Homeric tragedy played out on an epic scale; amidst which Western civilization destroyed itself, in a series of bitter civil wars lasting some seventy years. Even today, millions exult in the Phyrric victories over Germany, and the later Cold War 'victory' over Soviet Russia; whilst remaining blissfully unaware of the phenomenal rise in the population and industrial power of China, the course and possible effects of which, this prophetic book attempts to chart.

Napoleon was the first western leader to realize the potential of China, whilst in the 1930's Adolf Hitler gave strident warning of the 'Asiatic threat to European civilization'. Regarding himself as the chosen saviour of "a world on the brink of disaster!" he laid out a drastic programme, which if acted upon then; might have enabled Europe not only to maintain her world domination, but to establish "the Aryan millennium".

History has made her judgement on that issue, and it now seems inevitable that "the Asiatic millennium" will have begun by 2030. By then China's billion strong workforce and surging economy, with India, Japan and the Asian Tigers close behind; will have wrested economic world mastery from America's ailing hands. With an ageing, dwindling population, riven by divisions of class, race and religion; there appears little the declining power of the West can now do to prevent this momentous event, but what will the effects of this New World Order be???

Unhampered by democracy; will China's Leaders want to follow the West's example? Will China use her increasing economic base to expand her military muscle and dominate the world? Will China's increasing buying power on the World Markets reduce the rest of us to impoverished unemployment and starvation? Anyone under fifty should live to see these, and many other questions answered by the reality, so you don't need to buy or read this book; but I strongly recommend that you do. When China Rules the World: The Rise of the Middle Kingdom and the End of the Western World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 300 pages of content in over 600, 15 Jan 2013
This review is from: When China Rules The World: The End of the Western World and the Birth of a New Global Order (Paperback)
This books needs some serious editing - it repeats and repeast and repeats and repeats and repeats and repeats and...

Shame as there is some good content.

It gets 1 star because it destroys this good content through some of the worst writing I've come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superficial, 2 Nov 2010
There are a couple of good chapters at the beginning, including a good marxist influenced comparison of China and the West's comparative development.

The remaining 350 pages is pretty slight, with references drawn from a narrow selection of secondary literature to provide slender support to the author's assertion that the 21st century belongs to China. There is an awful lot of repitition and little convincing data.

There is very little discussion of factors favouring the West's continued dominance, which the author, in marxist tradition, seems to reduce to the relative abundance of coal and timber in 19th century Europe and America, eschewing any broader social, political, cultural or intellectual factors. There is no weight given to the West's intellectual capital and other achievements.

As is depressingly frequent in politically correct western literature on China, there is an excessive guilt about the perceived wrongs of Eurpoean colonialism, and a rosy tinted view of the implications of China's rise. The sole exception is a chapter on Chinese racism (the author's wife died after being abused and mistreated in a Hong Kong hospital). There is much commentary lauding China's supposedly subtle cultivation of its East Asian neighbours, which now seems serioously questionable in the light of the Senkaku / Diaoyu and Cheohan incidents.

Its not worth 500 pages - James Kynge's "Hungry Nation" is a far better book, and much better value for the time and money invested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When China Rules The World by Martin Jaques, 18 Dec 2012
By 
C. Brooks (horncastle, lincs,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When China Rules The World: The End of the Western World and the Birth of a New Global Order (Paperback)
Martin Jaques has written a very thought provoking account of China's position in the future world of political and social change. He has a vast knowledge of Chinese history and development. A very interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good !, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book is brilliant and exceptionally good insight in to what the future holds based on history, culture, economics and desire. I've not finished it yet so can't give 5 stars, in case the second half is rubbish, but to be fair it won't be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Cultural Stone Left Unturned!, 1 April 2010
By 
R. McCarthy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a very thorough cultural analysis of the potential effects of the rise of China's economic power and influence in the world. It was only after finishing the book that I realised how uninformed I had been about China and it's culture, despite having read numerous historical texts on the subject.

The book covers all the many facets that go to make China what it is today. The author strongest message is that China is not a nation state in the sense that we in the West understand that term, and he goes on to explain all it's potential ramifications. This point in particular makes for a fascinating read and hugely relevant, assuming the author is correct.

This book doesn't set out to be an investigation of the economics behind China's success but quite naturally and unavoidably touches on the subject regularly. I thought that the economic conclusions and predictions lacked the thoroughness of the author's general cultural analysis but this did not detract from the overall message.

Many of the other reviews mention that the book is very well written. I honestly didn't feel that way but that would not put me off recommending it as a very worthwhile read. On the subject of reviews; CW Bradbury's review of the book on the 9th September 2009 is well worth a read. He/she doesn't really review the book but expresses some brilliant views on this subject and writes them well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must: eye opening, mind broadening, 27 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book explains why China's modernisation will not mean westernisation, and prepare us for a time, already upon us in many ways, when the West will no longer be able to impose its values as universal.Thouroughly reserched and documented. TOP MARK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, easy to read and digest, 22 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Other reviewers have praised Martin Jacques research and thoughts, all I will add is I found the found the book fascinating, well researched but also very accessible to an ordinary reader like myself. I visit China every month and this book has opened my eyes to the how and the why of modern/traditional Chinese thinking.
I have just re-read the book and I'm even more impressed by the breath of coverage and insights, it will be a classic I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews