Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a cookery book-an insight into the pleasure of food
"Elizabeth David discovered her taste for good food and wine when she lived with a French family while studying history and literature at the Sorbonne.
A few years after her return to England she made up her mind to learn to cook so that she could reproduce for herself and for her friends some of the food that she had come to appreciate in France.
Subsequently...
Published on 10 Nov. 2004 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Did not find that many recipes that I fancied to cook.
Published 27 days ago by jane milestone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a cookery book-an insight into the pleasure of food, 10 Nov. 2004
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
"Elizabeth David discovered her taste for good food and wine when she lived with a French family while studying history and literature at the Sorbonne.
A few years after her return to England she made up her mind to learn to cook so that she could reproduce for herself and for her friends some of the food that she had come to appreciate in France.
Subsequently Mrs David lived and kept house in France, Italy, Greece, Egypt and India, as well as in England.
She found not only the practical side but also the literature of cookery to be of absorbing interest and studied it throughout her life."

This, her first book, appeared in 1950:-

'With this selection of Mediterranean dishes, I hope to give some idea of the lovely cookery of those regions to people who do not already know them, and to stir the memories of those who have eaten this food on its native shores, and who would like sometimes to bring the flavour of those blessed lands of sun and sea and olive trees into their English kitchen' E.D. London 1950.

Interspersed with charming black and white illustrations, the ED notes make this a hard book to put down, as it is such a delight to read. It is so easy to get absorbed into the life of this fascinating woman.
This is not just a 'cookery book', but an insight into the pleasure to be found in food.
Definitely worthy of a place on the kitchen bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the greatest recipe books, surpassed only by a couple of her own, ie French Provencale cookery, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
There is little point , in me writing another revue of Elizabeth David. She puts down the most amazing and totally workable recipes, and accompanoies this with the eloquence of a sophisticated and intelloigent author. She is in short the first laady of cookery books and I doubt will evr be surpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 April 2013
By 
Juliana (Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Fantastic book, extraordinary writer, very well written. It explains a lot of things, very good recipes, very well documented, I would definetely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A look back in contemporary history., 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
A step back in time. A relaxing interesting read, with interesting recipes. It made me feel my age and brought back many memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth David's - Book of Mediterranean Food, 17 Aug. 2012
By 
L. Law - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Rick Stein recommends Elizabeth David as I am sure most discerning chefs and gastronauts would do. These books set the context of the receipes which somehow allows the reader to gain a greater insight and appreciation of all the delicious receipes on offer. Great food does not date, likewise great writing - this book has both in equal measure - defo worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For real cooks only - a fabulous classic but don't ..., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
For real cooks only - a fabulous classic but don't expect step by step instructions. She assumes that you basically know your way round a kitchen, you know fresh ingredients and what to do with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the person who I gave the book really enjoyed it. I had never heard of the author ..., 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
The book was for a Christmas present, the person who I gave the book really enjoyed it. I had never heard of the author before. I would rather have my cook book with coloured pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
some really good recipes in here.Cant wait to try some out.Bang goes the diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Great book bought for a friend. I have a copy of my own which I use regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better to read than cook from, 17 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
This is the book that apparently lifted the spirits of all the 1950s foodies fed up with rationing. It is more interesting to read in its context than useful as a recipe book, many of the quantities are very sketchy for a start.
Very much worth reading though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library)
A Book of Mediterranean Food (Penguin Cookery Library) by Elizabeth David (Paperback - 28 May 1998)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews