Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh hooray for Jane Grigson
It is so good that Jane Grigson remains in print. Supremely unfussy, fabulously unpretentious, her books are invaluable. last night I decided to bone and stuff a chicken for roasting and sifted through piles of more contemporary cookbooks looking for an interesting stuffing recipe. They were few and far between - then I remembered the Sainted Jane and hooray a whole...
Published on 1 Nov. 2004 by Booksthatmatter

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, don't like the Penguin edition, folks
"English Food" is one of the classics, and anyone interested in regional and historic recipes will want a copy. Packed with ideas, rich in detail both ancient and modern, a treasure-house of good things, reading this book is like having a fascinating, amusing friend come and stay with you for a weekend. Not all the recipes are traditional; some are modern, coming from...
Published on 7 Feb. 2011 by Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, don't like the Penguin edition, folks, 7 Feb. 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
"English Food" is one of the classics, and anyone interested in regional and historic recipes will want a copy. Packed with ideas, rich in detail both ancient and modern, a treasure-house of good things, reading this book is like having a fascinating, amusing friend come and stay with you for a weekend. Not all the recipes are traditional; some are modern, coming from restauranteurs well known at the time Grigson was writing. The background notes are chatty and anecdotal rather than coherent and thorough; the recipes vary in quality, some making ones eyebrows shoot rapidly upwards in surprise. The reason why, dear lady, parsnips and courgettes have not previously been used together in English cooking is that the first are in season from October to March, and the second from May to September. Yes, we can buy them flown in from abroad, but is this what we want to do?

HOWEVER, delightful as Grigson's text is, the Penguin edition is infuriating. Not only is the print tiny and hard to read on very poor-quality paper, but there are other irritations; a pointless mixture of fonts, capital letters printed in white on black squares, useful footnotes condemned to EVEN SMALLER PRINT, production values that mean any attempt to get the book to lie flat results in pages detaching themselves - this I can do without. After owning the book for several years, I found I hadn't actually used it once, and realised it was because of these problems. I'll be trading it in for a vintage hardback.

To pay a relatively large sum for a book so poorly produced is galling. It didn't use to be the case. I still use another Penguin cookbook, Elizabeth Ayrton's The Cookery of England, which I bought in 1977; the pages are now shaded tan with age and there are plenty of gravy stains, but it remains easily readable and lies flat. I can strongly recommend it as a companion volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh hooray for Jane Grigson, 1 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
It is so good that Jane Grigson remains in print. Supremely unfussy, fabulously unpretentious, her books are invaluable. last night I decided to bone and stuff a chicken for roasting and sifted through piles of more contemporary cookbooks looking for an interesting stuffing recipe. They were few and far between - then I remembered the Sainted Jane and hooray a whole chapter of stuffing recipes. I plumped for a hazelnut stuffing and it was fabulous. Now she's been dusted off, I'm going to be using her a lot more again - perfect for the winter months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, with an honest, back to basics outlook., 14 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
An excellent book, full of the author's own opinion regarding food preparation and ingredient suggestions. Having tried several of the recipees, they all have had excellent results; however, there is plenty of value added through the author's own "editorial" sections, which are available at the introduction of new chapters and often as a prelude to the recipees themselves.
A must for any kitchen/cooking lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A successful blend of culinary history and recipes the Jane Grigson way., 30 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
From the author of Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery, 1967.

'In this classic work, Jane Grigson reveals the richness and surprising diversity of England's culinary heritage.
From modest dishes such as 'Gloucestershire Cheese and Ale', and 'Toad-in-the-Hole', to grander ones using roast game, local fish and fresh vegetables, as well as traditional puddings, teatime cakes and preserves, this joyful celebration of our national cuisine is a pleasure to cook from and a delight to read.'

Penguin Cookery Library format - paperback covers with 384 average quality pages, split over main chapters:-

* Soups
* Cheese and egg dishes
* Vegetables
* Fish
* Meat, poultry and game
* Puddings
* Teatime: - bread, cake, griddle cakes and pancakes, biscuits
* Stuffings, sauces and preserves

sandwiched between a foreword, from daughter Sophie plus an introduction and an 11 page index.

Interspersed with just a few black and white line drawings, this chunky paperback is serious reading material, which includes acknowledgements and references, along with recipes from other great cooks and cookery writers including Hannah Glasse and Elizabeth David.

Each chapter opens with general information and observations, as does each recipe, e.g.:-

'Soused Herrings:-
Herring cooked this way makes a good cold dish, so long as you don't overdo the vinegar. I recommend you follow the Scandinavian practice of serving them with a bowl of cream, beaten with lemon juice, salt and pepper, and flavoured with chives.'

The informative 'Meat, Poultry and Game' chapter, which runs from page 127 to 244, includes instructions for:-

* How to Cure Meat in Brine
* How to Cook Salt Pork and Hams
* Smoking Meat

Each recipe is clearly laid out with a bold capitalised title at the top, the number of servings, the list/s of ingredients and the method. Ideas for accompaniments, serving suggestions and helpful hints are also included, where applicable.

A small taste of the other recipes contained within:-

* Curry Powder
* Roast Rack of Lamb with Laverbread
* Isle of Man Herring Pie
* Venison Sausages
* Cornish Pasty
* Chilled Mange Tout Creams
* Chicken with Leek Pie from Wales
* Braised Wild Duck with Apricot Stuffing
* Cumbrian Tatie Pot
* Bloater and Potato Salad
* Jellied Stock
* Pork Pie Filling
* Hindle Wakes
* English Game Pie
* Raspberry Pie
* John Farley's Fine Cheesecake
* Chocolate Pie
* Queen of Puddings
* Bakewell Pudding
* Baked Semolina Pudding
* Richard Boston's Guinness Christmas Pudding
* Quick Foolproof Puff or Flaky Pastry
* Mussel and Leek Roly Poly
* Salmon in Pastry with a Herb Sauce
* Sedgemoor Eel Stew
* Mushrooms in Snuffboxes
* Anchovy Matchsticks
* Liver and Bacon Salad
* Little Cheese Soufflé
* Rice Bread
* Hot Cross Buns
* Wiltshire Lardy Cake
* Christmas Cake
* Elizabeth David's Crumpets
* Crempog Las
* Cinnamon Toast
* Oyster Sauce
* Hazelnut Stuffing for Poultry or Lamb
* Melted Butter
* Mayonnaise
* Cumberland Sauce
* Banana Chutney
* Vanilla Sugar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just lovely, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
L. Stewart (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
This is a wonderful little book. I am a huge fan of Nigella Lawson and she referred to it on one of her TV programs. It has a nice introduction at the beginning of each chapter and lots of wonderful, classic recipes to try. This book really appeals to be as I'm Australian and I'm always interested in English foods and their history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cookery wisdom, 4 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
I am still enjoying reading this book and have been surprised at what I have learnt from Jane Grigson. I don't see this just a cookery book , but a way of learning more about the cooking of my own country and cookery in general. A first class read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars even better than the first edition, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
Having lost our old copy we bought the new edition. utterly indispensible with some favourite receipts for eg jugged hare ( the old copy was blood-spattered! also the Hole in the Wall salmon. when we met my wife and I shared the wonderful description of JG seeing guinea fowl for the first time. Also highly recommend daughter Sophie's Meat book
M&B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Cook Book, 5 May 2011
By 
T. C. Daw (Devizes, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
The one cook book you need - my son recently had a kitchen fire and this was the only cook book he managed to save to his relief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why can't I give it 6 stars?, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
More wonderful Jane Grigson - a compendium of her books would be my Desert Island choice.

I have had a copy of this for many years and it's so well used that it is falling apart hence this purchase. This new copy will go into my kitchen and the heavily sellotaped old copy will join my pile of books for bed time reading!

Like all her books it is well researched and the recipes are reliable. There is interesting historical background on many of the recipes and the notes regarding ingredients and where Mrs Grigson found the recipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden read, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Grigson's English Food (Paperback)
If you love reading about food and the preparation of, by people who spent a lifetime in love with what they ate, then you've just struck the mother load. This is far and away the most satisfying food reading I've done for as long as I can remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Grigson's English Food
Jane Grigson's English Food by Jane Grigson (Paperback - 25 Jun. 1998)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews