Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent recipie book which I often use.
Claudia Roden's book is an excellent guide to cooking in the mediterranean. I have had it for over eight years and still use it regularly. There are a huge selection of recipies. It is really good for looking up recipies for dishes first tried on holiday. Most of the recipies use ingredients that are redily available in this country and they always seem to work...
Published on 14 Aug 1999

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean coking
I have seen better books on Mediterranean cooking and nicer coffee table books. At the moment there are much better books to choose from
Published 16 months ago by Mrs GEL Jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent recipie book which I often use., 14 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (BBC Books) (Paperback)
Claudia Roden's book is an excellent guide to cooking in the mediterranean. I have had it for over eight years and still use it regularly. There are a huge selection of recipies. It is really good for looking up recipies for dishes first tried on holiday. Most of the recipies use ingredients that are redily available in this country and they always seem to work. Many of the recipies were collected from people in their homes, so they are not over complex and elaborate. An excellent cookery book and introduction to the food of the Med.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean Cookery, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (Paperback)
This book is a complete bible of everything that is good with Med food. Covers everything. Thumbing through and getting hungry, I was about to head for my local supermarket, for ingredients and ended up in my favourite Turkish restaurant in Manchester.

Excited and cannot wait to start cooking, Italy, Greece, France, Egypt, Morocco, Turkey and more.

Claudia covers everything, with history and this lady has an insight into countries which make the book exellent reading.

If I never owned the book and there was one left in a book shop, I would fight for it!! Excellent.

Xman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One great book on Mediterranean cooking and culture, 21 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (BBC Books) (Paperback)
Wow, that is a one great book. Claudia Roden goes beyond the usual and creates a book of a little history and language training. One will find some very recipes native to the Mediterranean. They have been gathered through the author`s travels and talks with housewives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (Hardcover)
Rather outdated but I knew that when I ordered it. Not enough pictures in it for me but I suppose that means more recipes.
Claudia's books are always full of interesting facts about the places she's covering so well worth it just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (Hardcover)
Another great book from a lovely lady which is full of lovely recipes which are easy to follow and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Claudia Roden, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Duncan Bush - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (Hardcover)
Claudia Roden is a superlative cookery writer, and the antithesis of the tv celebrity chefs with their pretentious menus, culinary gimmicks and largely spurious expertise. Her menus are as simple as Elizabeth David's, and as simply written, and they work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean Cookery - Claudia Roden, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (BBC Books) (Paperback)
Mostly middle eastern recipes, easy to follow, although a few of the ingedients are not readily available in most supermarkets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reminders of hoidays., 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (Hardcover)
I enjoyed trying out new, and favourite recipes and even bought a second volume to give as an Xmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the one and only, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (Hardcover)
I have cooked and travelled with this book, and when I want to travel and can't, I read this book. I actually bought this copy for my son who is just finding the passion of cooking and wanted him to get the enjoyment out of it that I have over the years. God bless Ms Roden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean coking, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Cookery (Hardcover)
I have seen better books on Mediterranean cooking and nicer coffee table books. At the moment there are much better books to choose from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mediterranean Cookery (BBC Books)
Mediterranean Cookery (BBC Books) by Claudia Roden (Paperback - 25 Jun 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews