Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One I would not part with.
This was the first biography of Hitler which I have read to date , my knowledge of the man having previously been gathered from the thoughts and considerations of other historians who encountered the "great man" through his part played in various military situations between 1938-45.

This book reads very well and covers a mass of complex issues and...
Published on 8 Aug. 2010 by R. Stewart

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring Read.
compared to David Irving "Hitler's war" the book is quite poor..........
Published 2 months ago by Eira j powell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One I would not part with., 8 Aug. 2010
By 
R. Stewart (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) (Paperback)
This was the first biography of Hitler which I have read to date , my knowledge of the man having previously been gathered from the thoughts and considerations of other historians who encountered the "great man" through his part played in various military situations between 1938-45.

This book reads very well and covers a mass of complex issues and interrelationships between Hitler and his party officials in a meaningful and telling manner.
Hitler had his abilities and his inabilities Kershaw addresses all with clarity and balance.

That Hitler came to power was not just down to one man and force of his will and what does come out is Hitler's underlying personality traits when you read between the line s it is obvious that Hitler would today be regarded as a personality disorder , for he was far from stable even when he was at his peak.
As has been mentioned by others the criminal nature of his regime is well documented as is his part in it and central is the nature of his leadership and how others filled in the gaps to "work towards the Fuhrer" , this is told against the decline of the structures of society and the safeguards for the German people who became his first victims.

In terms of understanding who Hitler was , what he cost , how he achieved what he did , his cost to Germany and his legacy this is an important work.

Kershaw's "The Hitler Myth" also worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kershaw has produced a gem, 17 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) (Paperback)
Ian Kershaw's follow-up to the peerless 'Hubris' matches and even surpasses the achievements of the first half of this splendid biography. Whereas Hubris addressed Hitler's upbringing and rise to power, Nemesis concerns Hitler's central role during the second world war and with it the final demise and collapse of the third reich. Kershaw's prose is accessible for laymen, whilst remaining packed full of detailed analysis for academics. The author considers both the structuralist and intentional approaches to the third reich, and also whether Nazi policy was determined by economic necessity, or ideological goals.
Nemesis also provides a fabulous insight into the mind and world of the centuries most infamous and destructive figure. It also highlights and ponders the role of those around Hitler and their relationship to him. The author also attempts to understand the reasons for Hitler's murderous determination to implement policies of genocide and dogged continuance of the war even when he knew it was lost.
The two works together represent an excellent study in the workings of the Nazi government and the mind of a dictator. These two works follow the already excellent work on the Nazis and seek to examine how and why these ideologues came to power in a rational and highly educated civlised state. Hopefully works of this quality will help aid us from preventing it from happening again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exemplary account of the Nazi war years, 8 May 2001
By A Customer
Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis, Ian Kershaw's superb account of Hitler's final years, manages to fuse biographical insight into the life and mind of the Dictator, together with a detailed overview of the system (or lack of it) within the Nazi state structure.
We are offered comprehensive analyses of Hitler's pre-war belligerance, the lack of will in British and French government circles to prevent his imperial ambition, his early military triumphs and, ultimately, the final descent into Holocaust, defeat, and death.
Kerhaw's excellent account acts as a constant reminder of how Hitler could have been prevented at every turn but for the absence of committed opposition within the German military establishment. It is a lucid and sober lesson in the victory of bluff and outrageous chance over conventional politics and diplomacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part two of the definitive Hitler biography, 18 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Having read volume one, I was lookng forward to reading this and must say that it has lived up to all my expectations. What sets this book apart is that Ian Kershaw does not set out to demonise Hitler or the Nazi regime, but to explain why the second world war and the events leading up to it occured (and were allowed to occur) in a modern European country. An amazing read for all interested in the subject; a great eye opener for the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the most infamous character of the 20th Century, 13 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) (Paperback)
A must read for those interested in the Third Reich & world war 2 and the higher echelons of the Nazi leadership. I would recommend reading the first volume Hitler, 1889-1936: Hubrisfirst, as this 2nd volume follows from that. Concentrating on 1936-1945, the book is detailed and informative, giving the reader a brief history of the course of the war and also the machinations of the Nazi leadership as they "worked towards the Fuhrer". I would recommend this book to anyone interested in World war 2 and also those interested in politics.
For me the 2 volumes are the definitive biography of Adolf Hitler, look no further than these 2 volumes, a true masterpiece of biographical & historical writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Biography On Hitler, 4 Nov. 2002
By 
Mr. J. Walmsley "The Finch" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) (Paperback)
Having read both books I found this to be the more engaging but that is no reflection on the quality of the first. Rather I found as I assume most people would Hitler is at his most interesting and puzzling during the period 1936 - 1945. Together they form a superb and comprehensive biography on Hitler but they are also fine as stand alones.
This is not a book about WWII but the events of WWII in relation to Hitler so people expecting a comprehensive summary of the war will be dissapointed. Some of the most significant events are covered in only a few pages i.e. the fall of France and the Ardennes offensive. However this is probably my only criticism and one which I have no right to make given that this is a biography of Hitler and not a history of the war. However it gives an superb 800 page insight into the man and the world he was surrounded by. Kershaws writing style is engaging and the level of research he has undertaken makes this a credible document. I would certainly recommend it as being the ultimate biography of a man who has his fair share of them.
The world can be thankful that Mr Kershaw had no need for a third book on Hitler (1946 - ????) although its absence is a loss to readers of fine historical writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece of historical research, 21 Feb. 2001
By 
This is quite simply one of the best books ever written about the Nazi regime. It perfectly captures the chain of events that enabled Hitler to control the Third Reich with absolute authority. It also brilliantly highlights the weakness of his opponents particularly those in the Wermacht who delayed too long in attempting to depose him. A stunning indictment not only of Hitler but also the entire ruling class of Germany in the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book with enough details and pages to keep all happy, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
Lukasz Piwko - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) (Paperback)
Brilliant second part to a good quality and well researched piece of history. Even though the author states in the foreword that he tries to show Hitler's deeds as wrongful you don't feel like reading someone's personal opinion about him. Good read thus I would recommend it everyone who is interested in WWII history. This is not a biography per se.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler 1936-45 Nemesis by Ian kershaw, 2 May 2014
By 
Mr. James E. Parrott (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) (Paperback)
Ian Kershaw is one of my favourite WW2 authors, and I have enjoyed all of his books immensely. But this book is in my opinion is his very best piece of work, also it is my favourite WW2 book by any author, and I have read scores of them. The book showed not only the dark side of Hitler and the influence that dark side had upon the world. But it offered an insight into the why's and how's of his thinking. Not only did it focus on Hitler, but also on those around him, the pressures he put them under, the rewards he offered and punishment for failure. It describes his mentality and showed how that mentality effected politics,everyday lives, battles and military thinking.
This book I cannot recommend enough, if there was a ten star rating that would perhaps be enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Drama is Unremitting to the End, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) (Paperback)
What I found most interesting in this second volume was how as a military leader, Hitler's instincts were nearly always wrong, once the tide began to turn against him as it did at Stalingrad.

He was incapable of surrender and fundamentally believed, so he said, that the cause, in success or failure, was more important than saving lives, or any survival of the Reich based on any form of compromise.

With the possible exception of Goebbels, nearly all his followers wanted to try and strike a deal before the Reich sank into the marshes, but Hitler would not budge an inch, and didn't totally give up hope of a change of fortune until hours before his bunker suicide, with Russian shells dropping in the garden above.

The character of his main lieutenants, notably Goring, Goebbels, Bormann and Speer emerge clearly from this volume.

As I said in my review of the first volume, this is not a history of the Third Reich but a biography of Hitler and as such many details of the war are absent.

Kershaw's style is a little heavyhanded. He refers to his sources only by numbers of notes at the rear, so in a literary sense everything is presented without much evidence. The evidence is there of course, I am not doubting his scholarship, but it isn't the most engaging read.

This is compensated for however by the drama of the story he has to tell. There is plenty to say about the plight of the German people and their gradually changing mood and attitude to Hitler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History)
Hitler 1936-1945: Nemesis (Allen Lane History) by Ian Kershaw (Paperback - 25 Oct. 2001)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews