Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superbly detailed, if slightly dry
I found this book rather heavy going, but that is partly because a lot of the more distant history stuff is of little interest to me. I did, however, also find the writing style a little dull.

To be fair, it is very ambitious in scope and provides a breadth of coverage, not just in terms of timescale, but also subjects e.g. linguistics, economics, anthropology...
Published on 14 Oct. 2002 by Overseas Reviewer

versus
4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very imformative
Good book, but very very detailed and very hard to wade through. Still have not finished it over a year later. Will one day!
Published on 15 Feb. 2004 by lukemv


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superbly detailed, if slightly dry, 14 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
I found this book rather heavy going, but that is partly because a lot of the more distant history stuff is of little interest to me. I did, however, also find the writing style a little dull.

To be fair, it is very ambitious in scope and provides a breadth of coverage, not just in terms of timescale, but also subjects e.g. linguistics, economics, anthropology etc that is not available in any other texts that I've seen. It is also extensively referenced. For these reasons, I've given 4 stars, despite having not particularly enjoyed reading it.

I am primarily interested in more recent history and, fortunately for me, this is delivered to near perfection in the fantastic 'State of Africa' by Martin Meredith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 21 Jan. 2005
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
For a very thick book I read this in a week and a half. Very well written and easy to read but researched in such a way to add serious credibility. The environmental, historical and anthropological detail that Reader employs is very effective. It helps banish to history the stereotypes and false impressions about Africa that have prevailed for centuries.

Some of the information about African languages, the migration from Africa to the rest of the world, the development of iron and why the established western understanding of the development of civilisations and ancient cities just doesn't apply to Africa are really fascinating.

This should be read by everybody who has lived, travelled or worked in Africa. Brilliant Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant: a rivetting and educational read, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
I bought this book to please a friend of mine who recommended it. Knowing little about Africa and having little interest in the place, I had no expectations of enjoying the book. However, it turned out to be one of the most memorable books I have ever read and I would recommend it to anyone who has any care for or interest in mankind.
The book is brilliantly researched and could almost be described as an encyclopaedia in terms of the huge range of subjects that it covers. This is not just a history of the African continent, but a history of mankind from primeval times to the present, through various stages and periods of civilization. The book describes the exodus of early man from the African continent 100,000 years ago and the disastrous effects of his eventual return over the last 1000 years. Most poignant perhaps is Mr Reader's descriptions of slave trading, European colonization and later decolonization, and he argues strongly how these disastrous events are still responsible for ongoing suffering amongst the inhabitants of the continent.
I would strongly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in human history - and not least to anyone like myself who knew little about the subject before reading Mr Reader's wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History in Broad Strokes, 22 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
They aren't kidding when they say 'Biography'! The book literally starts with the birth of the continents and ends with recent history. In between those two points the development of Africa is explained using geology, climate, evolutionary changes, and Western influences. It is clearly and interestingly written. If you want to know why the situation in Africa is what it is today this is an excellent one-stop resource. (If you want information about a specific country or area I wouldn't recommmend this book. Although it goes into a bit more detail on some subjects, it mainly consists of broad information.)
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the author quotes quite a lot of statistics, which aren't always strictly necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely well written book, 19 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
I enjoyed the clear, flowing style, packed with facts that are well referenced. If you have an interest in geology, anthropology, history, politics, evolution, in fact anything....... its all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
John Reader's magisterial, sympathetic survey of this most misunderstood continent is listed as a history, but it's so much more than that. In its hefty, densley packed 678 page span it covers geology, biology, anthropology, zoology and sociology among dozens of other topics. We don't even get introduced to the first recognizable civilization (the nile valley civilizations) until about 150 pages. It is a testament to Reader's immense skills as a writer of popular history that you don't care at all. As it's title suggests, this isn't a book just about Africans; it's a book about Africa, in its multitudinous vibrancy. If there is one problem, it's that its ever so slightly eurocentric. For example, when discussing de Gama's voyage around the cape, we are abruptly introduced to Arab traders on the Swahili coast. How did they get there, and what societies did they form? How did they interact with native populations? We are not told. As soon as Europe appears on the scene, it is African history through European eyes. This is to a degree understandable; European influence on Africa is colossal, destructive, and crucial in understanding how the continent came to be what it is today. But there is plenty of material on the slave trade, and the imperial scramble, and colonialism. It would have been nice to have got into some of the less well known corners of Africa's history. The same can be said for reader's glossing over of indigineous kingdoms. The songhay emprie gets a single mention (perhaps reflective of the book's emphasis on sub-saharan Africa - but then again, the saharan states were hardly continuous with Arabic north africa), the Ife none at all, and Ethiopia is dealt with occasionally but hardly enough to be reflective of its pre-eminent position as sub-saharan Africa's mightiest civic society.

Despite this, it's by far the best general introduction to Africa I've read. Reader is a masterful, sympthatic storyteller offering up an immensely readable treasure horde of fascinating natural and human history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's Africa Baby, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. N. Foale "electronic word" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
Lives up to its title. It starts in geological time and then shifts up through the gears. We get evolution and man's emergence uniquely here. We see slavery established well before first Arabian and then European opportunists move into trafficking humans from Africa.

Africa is a continent the study of which builds our universal consciousness. The author unsentimentally contrasts romantic ideas of Africa against the vast, ancient continent itself. As Europeans we need to understand the turmoil caused by our 19th Century race to grab African land, and the post World War Two decolonisation that followed.

I read this while travelling in Africa and passed it on to companions, who were soon hooked. Such is this book. It is a feast.

P.S. Thoroughly sets the scene for these Africa classics: Congo Journey, Heart of Darkness, The Tree Where Man Was Born, The Shadow of the Sun: My African Life, Exterminate All the Brutes, Cry of the Kalahari
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers the history of Africa in 600 pages., 26 April 2001
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
This is an excellent book that covers the history of Africa in one book. Although most of it is probably at a rather superficial level this keeps the books progress over time moving along and this maintains the interest. References are given for more detailed books on particular aspects. It is even better because of Readers personal involvement with the continent and this makes it more than just a dry research subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for one who wants to know the detail of Africa, 25 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
If you have lived or worked in Africa and you need to be confident of what you are talking about when you are in discussions about this amazing and beautiful continent - then you need to have read this book. It is not light reading, but it is absorbing and absolutely crammed with factual, well-researched detail. The Bibliography alone is 43 pages. A real book of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa: A Biography of the Continent, 21 April 2009
By 
C. L. Dixon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: A Biography of the Continent (Paperback)
I just thought I'd provide the book's actual synopsis because I think it's more helpful than the product description up there ^

"The roots of our ancestry lie in Africa. John Reader's brilliant, panoramic survey traces the development of this huge continent from its earliest geological formation and the beginnings of life, through to the civil wars and genocide that mark it today. He explores the complex, widely differing societies from the great inland estuaries of the Niger and the Okavango, to the rain forests of the Equator and the deserts of the North, the devastating impact of European exploitation on those societies and the recent emergence of independent nations. Challenging many widely held misconceptions, his illuminating account will change the way many people think about Africa."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Africa: A Biography of the Continent
Africa: A Biography of the Continent by John Reader (Paperback - 5 Nov. 1998)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews