Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
Peter Mayle has done it again ! - a beautifully written novel with realistic characters and an enthralling plot with several twists.
Published on 29 Jan. 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vin Ordinaire
It is a bit difficult to find decent English books where I live - imports are usually the kind of John Grisham/Tom Clancy novels which I do not like - so, at times, I find myself reading material I would normally never touch.

This was the case with this cynical pretend story in which Peter Mayle trots out his usual French anecdotes in an attempt to entertain...
Published on 28 May 2012 by John Fitzpatrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
Peter Mayle has done it again ! - a beautifully written novel with realistic characters and an enthralling plot with several twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sooooo good!, 3 April 2012
By 
Lucy Wilson (Granada, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
I've just finished this book and was hooked. The characters were fantastic, I learnt a lot about the art world and I laughed out loud many a time. If you feel like a fantastically written, fun, light read I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Mayle, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
So easy to read. Light hearted fun and an enjoyable plot.
Recommended for all Francophiles with a love of France and the French. I felt I was there with the characters such is the quality of his description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another mayle masterpiece, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
As always, colourful characters involved in a hilarious romp with an intriguing plot. I am never disappointed in anything written by Peter Mayle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vin Ordinaire, 28 May 2012
By 
John Fitzpatrick (São Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
It is a bit difficult to find decent English books where I live - imports are usually the kind of John Grisham/Tom Clancy novels which I do not like - so, at times, I find myself reading material I would normally never touch.

This was the case with this cynical pretend story in which Peter Mayle trots out his usual French anecdotes in an attempt to entertain those English readers who think there is something innately funny about their infuriating shoulder-shrugging, "ooh la la" neighbors across the Channel with their comic language and ways.

The plot and characters are so thin - something to do with a faked Cezanne painting, a bitchy glitzy magazine editor, a photographer, an unscrupulous art dealer - that Mayle does not even try to do more than spin his material out as far as it can go. The ending is so sudden and lame that he obviously just ran out of clichés, decided to stop what he was doing and write "Fin"

Only an example can give you an idea of how excruciating and cliché ridden Mayle's prose is: "Franzen lowered his menu to look at Lucy. 'If I could give make a suggestion. There is one dish here that you cannot find anywhere else in France, or perhaps the world: the Canard Apicius. The recipe dates back to the Romans, 2,000 years ago.' He paused to drink some champagne. 'It is a duck, but a duck like no other, a duck roasted in honey and spices, a duck in ecstasy. You will remember this duck for the rest of your life.' He raised a hand to his lips, made a bouquet of his fingertips, and kissed them loudly. 'You will tell your grandchildren about this duck.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing Cezanne, 29 Jan. 2012
Very much enjoyed the book - different style to the previous titles by this author but enjoyable nonetheless. Bought other titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment for those who appreciate the author's wit., 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
Fast paced, entertaining and as usual very descriptive of that lovely French way of life which Peter does so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peter's Provence Gives Art a Good Impression!, 15 May 2012
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
It seems no one knows--or enjoys--Provence more than Peter Mayle. In "Chasing Cézanne," Mayle gives us even more humor, sometimes solid satire, as he once again
scores with the local color, painting the area as well as Cézanne did. Well, almost.It evolves into a part travelogue and part art mystery caper, and a humorous read it is too.

Andre Kelly, on photo assignment for a prestigious magazine to Cap Ferrat when he sees a Cézanne being loaded onto a truck near the home of a collector, who just happens to be away at the time. (Cézanne, remember, did to Province what Grandma Moses did to the American farm!). "Follow that truck," he must have thought as he pursues this objet d'art, for real. Not to be confused with the Marx Brothers' pursuits, still, Mayle is able to offer us "the great escape" in which we find all sorts of folks--art dealers, prominent collectors, forgers, greedy Americans, and "the parade of remarkable chefs whose mouthwatering culinary masterpieces periodically soothe the hero and tantalize the reader," says Amazon. And we mustn't forget the romance (it's France, after all!)-- Lucy, his agent and soon-to-be love interest.

"Chasing Cezanne" is a whodunit of good manners and impeccable taste. It takes its characters--graduates of all the best schools, of course--to some of the world's most posh locales. The plot device is high end, too: a purloined painting worth a cool $30 million. And there's lots of travel, lots of opulence, lots of opportunities for Mayle to describe Paris and Provence, and all the delectables you'll find in both places. Ooh la, la!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Hardcover)
really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Cezanne (Paperback)
enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chasing Cezanne
Chasing Cezanne by Peter Mayle (Paperback - 4 Jun. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews