Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all that glitters is not gold
This is a book that I would normally give a wide berth. I received this as a Christmas pressie and I have to say that I was for the most time, thoroughly absorbed in a candid text that sought to deconstruct the myth that was Jackie. Some chapters of the book offered little new - her early life and her craving for validation particularly from powerful men. The book...
Published on 3 July 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I still do not know anything about Mrs Kennedy Onassis.
I knew very little about Jacqueline Kennedy and this book has not increased my knowledge. I still have no idea as to why she stayed with a serially unfaithful husband was it for position, power and money or was there any love? Why the affair with her brother in law, Robert Kennedy? Onassis was a very wealthy man but after her breathy excitement of reburbishing the White...
Published 15 months ago by Historian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Woman with Brains, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
Sarah Bradford really did her homework before writing this book. It was one I could not put down, mind you anything on the Kennedy Family gets my attention. Although after reading this book you see a different side to what you have read before on Jacqueline Kennedy, she certainly did her best I think. She had JFK's many affairs to contend with, but I do wish she hadn't married Onassis, but she was obviously looking after her children's lives and also her own and let's face it, all of us should not be blinded by so called "love". By the time she met Onassis she was in a different place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
Book pages were very yellow & smelt of cigarette smoke , very disappointed . I know it was a used book but to smell !
Not nice , when you are a non smoker .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought on the book, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
I bought this for my husband and he was happy with the book and said he enjoyed it. I can't add any more info as they are not the sort of books I would read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie o, 26 Sept. 2013
excellent .from start to finish. tells all about her life.from the beginning .and tells all that was happening in her life .the good and the bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
Read this book rather quickly, learnt a lot about the former first lady, I enjoyed it. If your a fan of Jacqueline I suggest reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first lady, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
jacquline beautiful lady been through so much good heart will love to reading it america loost her queen when she died
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant insight, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
I bought this book for my wife and she can't put it down! Anyone interested in the Kennedy story will enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Continues to perpetuate the myth, this empty vessel lived, 23 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
I never understood why this woman was such an icon. In some ways this book continues to keep the answers a mystery. She was a very young, wealthy First Lady during a time of great glamour. And?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as described, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
as this book was used I knew it wasn't going to be perfect, however as it was described as in very good condition and I found that not to be the case, it was grubby inside and out and the spine was also very worn, will only buy new in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Read, 5 Dec. 2011
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
Excellent read gets right to the heart of the relationships this lady had and also her pride in being the first lady.Great read and very revealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis
America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis by Sarah Bradford (Paperback - 27 Sept. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews