Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all that glitters is not gold
This is a book that I would normally give a wide berth. I received this as a Christmas pressie and I have to say that I was for the most time, thoroughly absorbed in a candid text that sought to deconstruct the myth that was Jackie. Some chapters of the book offered little new - her early life and her craving for validation particularly from powerful men. The book...
Published on 3 July 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I still do not know anything about Mrs Kennedy Onassis.
I knew very little about Jacqueline Kennedy and this book has not increased my knowledge. I still have no idea as to why she stayed with a serially unfaithful husband was it for position, power and money or was there any love? Why the affair with her brother in law, Robert Kennedy? Onassis was a very wealthy man but after her breathy excitement of reburbishing the White...
Published 15 months ago by Historian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all that glitters is not gold, 3 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
This is a book that I would normally give a wide berth. I received this as a Christmas pressie and I have to say that I was for the most time, thoroughly absorbed in a candid text that sought to deconstruct the myth that was Jackie. Some chapters of the book offered little new - her early life and her craving for validation particularly from powerful men. The book confirmed some of my worst suspiscions about the lady herself, and the mass of contradiction that made up her character and influenced her life; Her fear of poverty ran counter to an almost insatiable desire to spend. Her emotional warmth, beguiling wit and intelligence were coupled with a scheming edginess and skittish treatment of people she would often mistakenly class as minions. I found the book intriuging; as it drew to a close I felt little envy towards the women who on several occasions appeared to have held the world in the palm of her hand. Rather I had sympathy and a sense of frustration towards the icon of American Dreams. Sarah Bradford has done her research well and the title of the book is a retrospective challenge to the sad and tortuous underbelly of Jackie O's life. I felt there could have been less attention to financial fripperies and more serious reflection on the psychology of someone such as Jackie who was driven in all aspects of her life. This was what I wanted to know more of. Nevertheless I felt that the writer managed to balance all elements of a fascinating life without descending in mawkish sentimentality. Incidentally I was impressed with her deft handling of the momentous political events taking place around Jackie, and her ability to demonstrate chameleon like qualities in such serious backdrops, uber-charming campaigning for JFK's Presidency in the aftermath of miscarriage and infidelity. If you enjoy a gutsy life story with plenty of razzamatazz, glamour, sexual intrigue and tears, as well as interior design (Jackie was obssessed with decorating and Bradford lets you know this) then I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading, 24 Aug. 2007
By 
M. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
Although not perhaps what could be called a 'scholarly' account of Jackie's life, Bradford's light and chatty prose makes for very easy yet satisfying reading - like the best kind of gossip, I was frequently agog to know what would happen next. Bradford succeeds brilliantly in conveying the glamour and allure of the White House years, as well as the horror and sorrow of November, 1963. Nor does the light-weight tone suggested by the bright pink cover mean that Bradford hasn't done her homework. She uses an incredibly wide variety of source material and seems to have identified and interviewed many of those who were closest to Jackie, JFK and Onassis during their life-times.

This chunky biography is one of the most beguiling and effective 'page turners' I've ever come across and I would unhesitatingly recommend it as a beach or pool-side companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Jun. 2003
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
I found this book to be very well written and really gave an insight to the life and personality of Jackie Kennedy. It did not take on the usual style of some biographies of literally being a linear account of someone's life. Having known practically nothing about Jackie Kennedy prior to reading this I thought it was a vivid portayal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lipstick Vogue, 23 Dec. 2012
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
Before the Obamas took over the White House, before the Clintons dazzled us all with their endless scandals and ineptitude, there was the Kennedys, another Democratic duo that promised so much but delivered very little: Jack and Jackie Kennedy. Even easier to say than Bill and Hillary Clinton (after Hillary changed her maiden name) or Barack and Michele Obama.

Though in the case of JFK's stay in the White House, his tenure was cut short by Lee Harvey Oswald. Thus Jack Kennedy had even less time to ruin the country than Bill Clinton managed in his eight years and Barack Obama is currently doing. The collapse of the dollar is not a matter of if, but when.

But this is a book mainly about Jackie, not Jack. Though given the fact of her marriage to him (and the explosive - literally - events which consumed them both), there is clearly a great deal about JFK, too. What would you expect?

This is the first book I have read about both Jackie O and the first Catholic president to be elected to the White House. Hence much of it is new to me. I like the author's style and her handling of the events is assured. The narrative is easy to follow, especially given all the Kennedys which consume much of the text.

But can you really call JFK a "Catholic"? It was just an external symbol; something he inherited from his Irish ancestors. I wonder if Cardinal Francis Spellman (the priest who conduced both his wedding to Jackie and Ted's wedding to Joan) reminded him of Pius XI's exhortations in "Casti Connubii": " "The blessing of matrimony... is the blessing of conjugal honour which consists of MUTUAL FIDELITY."

"Mutual fidelity?" JFK might have answered. "Do you squat when you urinate [a joke more crudely made by L.B. Johnson about another Democratic candidate referenced in the book] when you wear that dress, Francis."

I like this this author's work enough that I purchased another of her books on Elizabeth : A Biography Of Her Majesty The Queen, hence the four stars. I will have to read other books on the subject to decide whether the high praise remains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 stars please!, 31 Aug. 2012
By 
Chloe (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
Anyone who has ever watched a JFK documentary and seen little of Jackie Kennedy must read this book if they've ever wondered about her.
I'm 15 and having watched The Kennedys last year I instantly wanted to know more about America's Queen.
This book starts with her birth and ends with her funeral - not to mention everything in between.
This book has clearly been well researched. A good 600 pages long, it includes everything - her relationships with her parents, in laws and life after JFK.
Best book I've read this year - possibly best biography ever too.
Don't be put off by the size - it's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read, but with no new content., 26 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
For Jacqueline Lee Bouvier Kennedy Onassis, this volumptuous book covers no more than previous biographies...however, it does make for a read that still captures the famed Camelot era and beyond. The woman herself, has been a constant mystery in reality, with conflicting opinions from family, friends and "snubbed" friends alike...whatever the final synopsis of this woman may be, one can never doubt she held herself with utmost poise and glamour, with a shrewd perception of the public opinion.
Compared to the detailed writing on Jacqeline's early years, the lack of writing about Jacqueline in her final years is disappointing, however...in the end she guarded her family and personal life to strive for an existence outside of the public arena and in some ways, this book has respected her for that. Combined sympathetic and matter of fact writing, complimented by numerous photo's - this book is not a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An impartial biography, 21 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
.I have just read this book and am left with a mixture of thoughts about Jackie. She was obviously a very intelligent and perceptive woman. She had great style and elegance which has inspired women ever since. She seemed to be highly sensitive and on occasions individuals could be 'frozen out' if they said the 'wrong thing'! She was a very complex woman and I am sure there were unresolved areas in her emotional life that drove the extremely ambitious side of her nature and also gave her the intense desire for copious wealth. Having read about Jackie, warts and all, I still feel admiration for her. I still like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie O, 25 July 2011
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
An enormously detailed, interesting defining account of Jacqueline Kennedy, her early life, family politics and life after the White House. Sarah Bradford has succeeded in delving into the psyche of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis: her relational insecurity and lifelong financial acquisition. A very good read (if you can keep up with the detail).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 26 Jan. 2002
This review is from: America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book so much. It is well written, full of startling facts. My husband begged me to get my face out of this book! I finished the book wondering do i like Jackie O, admire her or just feel sad for all she and her family endured. The effort that must have gone into this book by the author is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I still do not know anything about Mrs Kennedy Onassis., 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew very little about Jacqueline Kennedy and this book has not increased my knowledge. I still have no idea as to why she stayed with a serially unfaithful husband was it for position, power and money or was there any love? Why the affair with her brother in law, Robert Kennedy? Onassis was a very wealthy man but after her breathy excitement of reburbishing the White House and entertaining all the talented people of the time, why marry a very ill educated, unattractive vulgar man? How did she cope with a menage a trois and the field day the press had. Mrs Kennedy Onassis must have had so little self esteem to be ill treated by these men. Very little is said about Templeman and why there was no marriage? A sad life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis
America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis by Sarah Bradford (Paperback - 27 Sept. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews