Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be read with an open mind - reviewers think on!
I have to confess to being slightly alarmed and very disappointed by some of the Amazon reviews of this book. There is no doubt that Armitage has a great way with both poetry and prose - I have taught his poems at GCSE for several years and have heard him give readings which never fail to amuse and make me chuckle wryly at the vagaries of life. The reason I am concerned...
Published on 20 Feb 2008 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bards diary
I like Simon Armitage and this is a good book of events in his life over a period of time. Its amusing in parts but quite a scattergun of stories. Worth a read .
Published 13 months ago by King Eric


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be read with an open mind - reviewers think on!, 20 Feb 2008
This review is from: All Points North (Hardcover)
I have to confess to being slightly alarmed and very disappointed by some of the Amazon reviews of this book. There is no doubt that Armitage has a great way with both poetry and prose - I have taught his poems at GCSE for several years and have heard him give readings which never fail to amuse and make me chuckle wryly at the vagaries of life. The reason I am concerned is the way that people have depicted life in The North of England - I grew up in Sussex and only moved to Sheffield in 1996 - after over a decade here I can honestly say that I would never move back down South. I encountered far more 'parochialism' as a 'Southerner' and a Grammar school education in Tunbridge Wells left me in no doubt as to the inherent ignorance and small-mindedness of many in the 'Home Counties'.
Armitage depicts the kind of daftness, naivety and sheer buffoonery that is encountered from John O' Groats to Land's End - but he does it through the eyes of an intelligent individual who is utterly at ease with himself and his upbringing. One of the best parts is Simon's recounting of an amateur dramatics staging of 'Camelot' and the all-male cast's sheer enjoyment and unfettered enthusiasm from start to finish. It does help that I know many of the places mentioned - I have family in Marsden too - but even without this I can recommend 'All points North' as a great read and perhaps even an eye-opener for anyone who claims knowledge of life beyond Birmingham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Not So Grim Up North, 20 Jan 2000
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
In this brilliantly timed and executed departure from poetry Simon Armitage has opened up his private world like a wound for all to examine. The result is one of the most precise and poignantly written declarations of Northerness since Lancashire last won the County Championship. In a series of short but descriptive chapters Armitage conjures up a world far removed from the cloth cap and whippet image of Northern England and instead gives us an insight into recording for the BBC, watching Huddersfield Town and commuting across the tops into deepest Oldham. This is a book with a decidedly local humour with plenty of "in" jokes which will soar 747 like over the heads of anyone not born within a 50 mile radius of Marsden. It will infuriate the cognosenti of Camden and Hampstead and I love this book all the more for that fact alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compassion and humour combine in this unique Yorkshire tour, 23 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
Simon Armitage has already made a name for himself as a poet. Well-known as presenter of Radio 4's Stanza, and to devotees of Mark Radcliffe's former Radio 1 evening show, his first collection of prose shows himself to be a master of that medium as well.
Taking as his point of reference his home town of Marsden in West Yorkshire, Armitage takes us on an engaging tour of the geography, people and places of his area, and offers us an insight into what it means to be a Yorkshireman. But this is no dusty travelogue. Dusty travelogues of Yorkshire, after all, tend not to include accounts of day-trips to Iceland from Leeds Airport, or of amateur dramatic productions. Let alone meeting John Peel and Teenage Fanclub. And it's a strange travelogue indeed that would describe Richard Whiteley as 'the I Claudius of broadcasting'.
While it contains some fiction ('Jerusalem', you suspect, is influenced as much by The League of Gentlemen as by Alan Bennett), the bulk of this collection is autobiographical, from tales of literary cricket matches to intruding on film sets. It's carried off with humour, and yet compassion. Armitage doesn't point and laugh at his subjects - he just observes. One of the great strengths of this book is that it's up to the reader to decide whether the situations described are amusing, tragic, pitiful, or a mixture of all three. This makes for an extremely engaging read.
So it's difficult to know who wouldn't appreciate 'All Points North'. And if Simon Armitage continues to write collections of prose, poetry, or indeed anything, chances are they'll be every bit as good as this one.
Let's hope he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's funny for Southerners too !, 18 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
I had never had heard of this poet/author either, but since my wife is from Huddersfield and I love it up there I had to buy it. It's a wonderful book and I don't think you have to be from the North to appreciate it because I'm not and I loved it. Simon Armitage writes simply - not a criticism - and he engages you in his subject and his love for where he is from. He comes across as a very likeable, self-effacing man. This book would be a great Christmas present ! Buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Points North., 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed All Points North,my sense of humour, a true portrait of life without all the glitz and glamour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hills of the North, 16 Oct 2011
By 
K.E.C (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
Simon Armitage makes you laugh and philosophise at the same time. His visions of the moors, beside his equally incisive observation of people and occasions, portray the obvious, mixed with the underlying subtle. Many situations show the ludicrous juxtaposed with tragic, which is real life. Anyone who has worked with any organisation that employs "facilitators" for "ice-breaking sessions" will revel, as Armitage reveals his all too real professional experiences. It's poetry in plain clothes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight - very original, 20 Feb 2005
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
This book is a collection of prose, poems and snatches of news reports capturing the essence of all things northern, more specifically all things Yorkshire.
This is quite a rare kind of book because it includes so many different styles of writing. Also unlike say, Bill Bryson's Notes from a Small Island or Theroux's 'The Kingdom by the Sea'it is written by a native and allows the reader to make their own interpretation of the text. He does not appear arrogant or aloof, but becomes part of the landscape he describes.
Armitage is a wonderful writer. He writes about a variety of issues from Saturday Night out in Leeds (this chapter is quite superb)to discarded tractor tyres in the moors. He can make even the dull things in life have a kind resonance.
Some things I will always remember with a smile. His sports report when he likens 80's football shorts to 'skin-tight satin knickers'. When he was told there is no need to go outside and watch the total eclipse because 'it is on Channel 66'. Or the man who spent 26 days up a tree to set a new world record when he realised the record was 26 years- 'I did feel a bit of a prat when I heard'.
He can be funny/serious and strikes the right balance. He deals with a lot of issues here, including the homeless and Politics.
There are also pieces on the art of writing as Armitage alludes to his influences. These pieces are really inspiring and anything that encourages poets in this day and age is a good thing.
Armitage comes across as a sound bloke with a wonderful everyman talent. The North? Well, it will always remain a mystery to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. L. G. Rice "riceylad" (in a chair, shefield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Points North (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read funny and poignant and all that. Lots of short sharp observations of many subjects in and around the nortg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Bards diary, 31 July 2013
By 
King Eric (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
I like Simon Armitage and this is a good book of events in his life over a period of time. Its amusing in parts but quite a scattergun of stories. Worth a read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit southern for me, 26 Dec 2003
This review is from: All Points North (Paperback)
As a hardened northerner from County Durham, to hear West Yorkshire described as anything other than south was a great surprise to me. Joking apart, the book is absolutely wonderful in places. Not only does it embody a true northern community spirit wonderfully, and recount village stories in a lively and amusing way; but some of the social observation is put in language that almost made me cry it was so beautiful. Often it is little comments such as the section regarding the cricket County Championship and TV coverage of football that is the best. However, by the end of the book it becomes too much a trail following Armitage's life and not enough of the observation on a community it was at the start. This does not stop it having some incredibly funny moments, though - particularly good is his encounter with the shop assistant when trying to photocopy his own work. Overall, a very good book, well worth buying - even goes someway to explaining why Yorkshiremen are so contrary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Points North
All Points North by Simon Armitage (Paperback - 6 May 1999)
7.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews