Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration the Storytelling Tradition
A book only deserves 5 starts if there is truly something special and unique about it. When the writer has dared to venture beyond the normality and boundaries of the expected structure, topics or style of present literature; and in doing so not only creates a gripping, expressive work, but also introduces a challenging new concept.
Emma Dounoghue's Kissing The...
Published on 29 April 2005 by Mew Blackburn

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forgive me
Forgive me, but I truly do not understand all the excitement about this book. It was poorly and unimaginatively written, and Donoghue's takes on traditional fairy tales were uninspiring. She really only came up with one reinterpretation - that women can and do have power over their lives - and then played this theme out over and over again. After reading the first...
Published on 17 Dec 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration the Storytelling Tradition, 29 April 2005
By 
Mew Blackburn "Moll" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Paperback)
A book only deserves 5 starts if there is truly something special and unique about it. When the writer has dared to venture beyond the normality and boundaries of the expected structure, topics or style of present literature; and in doing so not only creates a gripping, expressive work, but also introduces a challenging new concept.
Emma Dounoghue's Kissing The Witch has succeeded. There is no other work like this, it's not a novel, and yet it is so more than just a collection of short stories.
To simply describe the book it is a re working of classic fairytales, retold from a distinctly feminine and at times feminist view point, each one intimately connected to the next. As one character ends her tale she asks the central character in her life, almost always a woman, sometimes a mother, a lover, a servant, or friend, to reveal her past. Each tale we hear sheds light on the motives and actions of the woman in the previous one, and through these revelations we begin to understand the impact one person can have not only on the lives of those they touch directly, but others who they will never meet.
The reader will find a comfort and security in the familiarity of the foundations of the fairytale each story weaves its self about. But never for a moment are we allowed to relax. Subtle variations plot twists, and new insights into the motives and feelings of the characters bring dazzling new life into dusty old tales. Donoghue brings back the spontaneous joy that these tales should and would have had when told on a cold winters night from the memories of countless generations, each adding their own subtle mark and character to the plot. In a modern age of correctness where everyone has access to a "standard" version of the tale we have forgotten the passion of the imagination, the true essence of storytelling. In this collection Donoghue has rekindled dying flames, the reader is immersed in her fairytale land built on the love, joy, power, sadness, and longing of women, it is an inspired version, and a tale she hands over to the reader on the final page to continue the tradition she has reawaken.

Truly and inspiring work, very easy to read, and thoroughly enjoyable, I would recommend this book as one of my all time favourites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars modern day classics, 3 Oct 2007
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Paperback)
An impressive book on the whole. It is comprised of several short stories but each one is linked so that one story leads to the next. It is made even more unique by the use of characters of classic childrens stories to give them a new meaning/view/ even ending. If you don't know the stories you'll probably miss the relation as it can be subtle at times but I think it's a brilliant touch.

Worth a read if you're just looking for something out of the box or short but interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration the Storytelling Tradition, 29 April 2005
By 
Mew Blackburn "Moll" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Hardcover)
A book only deserves 5 starts if there is truly something special and unique about it. When the writer has dared to venture beyond the normality and boundaries of the expected structure, topics or style of present literature; and in doing so not only creates a gripping, expressive work, but also introduces a challenging new concept.
Emma Dounoghue's Kissing The Witch has succeeded. There is no other work like this, it's not a novel, and yet it is so more than just a collection of short stories.
To simply describe the book it is a re working of classic fairytales, retold from a distinctly feminine and at times feminist view point, each one intimately connected to the next. As one character ends her tale she asks the central character in her life, almost always a woman, sometimes a mother, a lover, a servant, or friend, to reveal her past. Each tale we hear sheds light on the motives and actions of the woman in the previous one, and through these revelations we begin to understand the impact one person can have not only on the lives of those they touch directly, but others who they will never meet.
The reader will find a comfort and security in the familiarity of the foundations of the fairytale each story weaves its self about. But never for a moment are we allowed to relax. Subtle variations plot twists, and new insights into the motives and feelings of the characters bring dazzling new life into dusty old tales. Donoghue brings back the spontaneous joy that these tales should and would have had when told on a cold winters night from the memories of countless generations, each adding their own subtle mark and character to the plot. In a modern age of correctness where everyone has access to a "standard" version of the tale we have forgotten the passion of the imagination, the true essence of storytelling. In this collection Donoghue has rekindled dying flames, the reader is immersed in her fairytale land built on the love, joy, power, sadness, and longing of women, it is an inspired version, and a tale she hands over to the reader on the final page to continue the tradition she has reawaken.

Truly and inspiring work, very easy to read, and thoroughly enjoyable, I would recommend this book as one of my all time favourites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, pick up any time, magical read., 21 Mar 2008
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Paperback)
I read this book from cover to cover years ago and gave it away as a present and have regretted it ever since. There is just something about this book, must be the fairy in it, an essence of it never leaves you. I agree with all the other reviews, tecnically, metaphorically, etc. but there is just an extra something that sinks into your unconscious never to be forgotten, the voice or sound of our sisters in the past and future. A subtle simple evocative book that touches some chord within. Definitely one to possess and keep on the shelf. mmmmmm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh approach to fairy tales, 23 Mar 2000
By 
A. Steffe "haraniya" (Derby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Hardcover)
This book is so inspiring it makes you twitch! It weaves fairy tale narration with beautiful prose and sweet humour. The way each story links to the next is intriguing and makes it so easy to read! You can finish it in a ten minute coffee break.
This is one of my favourite books because of the approach to timeless stories and the seductive vulnerbility if each of the female characters. Each tale has a twist, which makes it thoroughly enjoyable to read.
I can't believe I found it in a tiny back street sea-side book shop for little under three quid! Bargain! And a treasure...
wups, no I got it from here and it was a bargain and a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written escapism, 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Hardcover)
Donoghue paints an ethereal, dreamlike fantasy which soothes the spirit through her gentle use of language and rhythm in this collection of fairy tales. Using traditional tales such as Cinderella and Snow White, Donoghue adds an intensely personal and soul-searching edge to them, along with unusual and refreshing endings. I read this collection originally as university course material and initally without any great expectations, but I was compelled by both style and content and have returned to them many times and subsequently to her other works which are of an equally high quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really really good, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Kindle Edition)
this book is really really good. I couldn't leave it down. Give you a different view on people and the different lives they live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful re-imaginings of the great Fairy Tales!, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Kindle Edition)
How wonderful that this lovely collection of re-imaginings of the great Fairy Tales is again available. Each tale leads on to the next and takes the reader back through the stories of childhood, with Donoghue giving each a deliciously subversive twist. A book to make you smile .... and so beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kissing the Witch was worth it., 18 Aug 2011
By 
L. Heffer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Paperback)
A very clever new 'take' on fairy tales, which I read in two and a half bedtimes! The stories, clearly recognisable in their new guise, are linked to one another in an ingenious way, and the language used is delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 13 beautifully told, warm stories linked by one word: LOVE, 8 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Kissing the Witch (Paperback)
All emotions of life can be found in this book. Donoghue uses old fairy tales and makes them, in her own special way, ready for the 20th century. Beautiful metaphores make you feel you are the princes in the tower or the witch in the cave. A book all women will love, lesbian or straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kissing the Witch
Kissing the Witch by Emma Donoghue (Paperback - 26 Mar 1998)
Used & New from: £11.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews