Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'addictive'
As a basketball player,this book was interesting. As a homosapien, this book was excellent. Not only does Jim Carroll have a talent for basketball but he also has a talent for writing. In the book, he describes everything he feels in such a way that would make you feel as though you were there with him. This book is funny, entertaining, and leaves you drawing up a...
Published on 4 Sep 2001

versus
1 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Little or nothing to do with basketball.
Hugely disappointing, barely believable, rather sad story about drug taking, out of control adolescents, who also happen to play basketball. Actually, the diaries have very little to do with basketball, so don't be fooled by the title. I stopped reading the book about three quarters of the way through and doubt I shall ever finish it, which probably says everything I...
Published on 8 April 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'addictive', 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
As a basketball player,this book was interesting. As a homosapien, this book was excellent. Not only does Jim Carroll have a talent for basketball but he also has a talent for writing. In the book, he describes everything he feels in such a way that would make you feel as though you were there with him. This book is funny, entertaining, and leaves you drawing up a perspective on life in the same way that Carroll does. I also reccomend the music of 'The Jim Caroll band' which has as much feeling as his words do. A great book for just about anybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A twisting cult book of true life dramas, 5 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
When I first read this book at the age of 15 (4-5 years ago now) I was so enthralled. Its one of those books that you can't put down, and want to read over and over again. Now, even after all this time, I am still re-reading it.
It dipicts a life so different from my own, yet despite this, I could and still can, relate perfectly to all the feelings and emotion bought upon Jim during those teenage years of drug addiction and violence.
This is most definitly a book for the open minded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you havent already, read it!, 15 Jan 2000
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
This book is an interesting insight into the life of Jim Carroll. If you have seen the film of the basketball diaries you must read the book in order to get the full picture. Carroll starts his book with notes from his school days and childhood and moves on through the next few years with suprising acuracy. Talking about his gradual decline into heroin addiction, he recalls many memories - some funny and some rather discusting. Excellent Read. Let me know what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BOOK EVER!!, 4 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
This is a really great book!! I got it for my birthday in 1998 and I've read it a million times since then. This truly is one of the best books ever published! If you think this book is going to be all about basketball , well it isn't. It's about Jim Carroll's life as a teenager. He was a really good basketball player and then he ruined it all by becoming a heroin addict. This book is very compelling , funny and at times sad. It does make a really excellent read, though it is very graphic and if your easily offended then I suggest you go and read Larry the Lamb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1970s New York youth - told with verve and authenticity., 12 Oct 2010
By 
Paul Harris (Llantrisant, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
Don't be put off by the dodgy Di Caprio vehicle from a few years back...This book has to be one of the finest debut novels around from the last 50 years or so. Heavily autobiographical, The Basketball Diaries is written with verve and authenticity. It's a rough story of growing up in early 70s New York City, told beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the book, 26 Jan 2009
By 
C. R. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
I have read this book around 6 times in the 12 years or so I have know about it, Carrolls passage of rites that ultimately leads him to heroin addiction is by turns funny,sad, bizarre and sexually graphic. This is classic American literature. A slim volume, easily read, forget the film of it, read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really very good indeed, 10 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
This book is quite hard to call good, it's not really relevant somehow. It is however something which will stay with you, it's conveyance of brilliance (read his poems) overcoming self destruction is very uplifting; despite the way it ends you know he's going up, like a cork under water. My only gripe is that it made the movie (which I saw first and enjoyed) look really rather shallow; that's not a proper one though so just ignore that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gritty honest and good read, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
A short book but pulls you in. Honest depiction of how easy it is for youngsters to get drawn into a drug culture and a wild crazy life style. Well written honest and moving. All round good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!!, 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
Excellent read, Jim describes everything with such detail and once you start reading you can't put it down! The film captures the book perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Basketball Diaries (Paperback)
I have been interested in purchasing this book for a long time, within the first two pages you are taken to a world of NYC cool and start wishing your teenage years were as interesting as Jim Carroll's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Basketball Diaries
The Basketball Diaries by Jim Carroll (Paperback - 30 Jan 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews